We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Hotel La Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Meridiana
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
PERTH WESTERN AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed January 10, 2008

Location is a little far from the main city centre but not of great concern.The rooms are spacious,beds very comfortable,pillows galore,big bathroom,cleanliness is amazing.There is also room adjusted airconditioning which keeps you fresh all day and night, a mini bar fridge filled with beverages,even a kettle in your room with assorted tea/coffee.The TV displays a personal welcome message to you once you settle into your room and great programmes to choose from to keep you entertained.

The restaurant downstairs has delicious fresh food,waiters very helpful and the chef caters for your special needs.

Only downfall is that the Reception Staff are very arrogant and not so friendly,making one feel somewhat anxious.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Reception
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank VIOLETTA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    442
    191
    52
    30
See reviews for
177
465
21
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chester, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

We stayed for 5 nights at this great value hotel. The rooms were modern and clean. The location was fine since it was close to Perugia and the main road but not too close for it to bother you. The road to the hotel as other people have said is very potholed and through a small residential zone.

Breakfast which was included in our rate was fine.Just one problem a couple mornings the breakfast staff appeared not to know what to do so the buffet wasn't replaced and tables not cleared. But this was resolved when the supervisor returned on the next few days.

Having a pool was also a bonus but a few extra and more comfortable loungers wouldnt go amiss.

Overall great value.

Go to corciano to see a very pretty village. We ate at a restaurant there on a couple of nights.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alanfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

I agree with most of the previous reviewers - this is certainly one of the best hotels I have encountered in this price range. It is clean, modern and has plenty of facilities, including a pool. We booked direct with the hotel as we needed to arrange a family room an got an excelllent rate (60 euros for a family of 4 including breakfast in August!), but good rates were also available on line.

The room was a bit smaller than expected and felt quite cramped with the added bunk beds. Howvere it was modern and spotlessly clean with everything you could need. The reception area and bar were friendly and internet access was available. The pool was an added bonus - small but great for the kids to play in and for adults to cool down.

The only downside was the restaurant. Although it was busy in hotel they seemed to not be prepared for this in the restaurant. Breakfast was always running out and the staff didn't seem to care. Nothing got refilled quickly and you had to keep asking for plates, cups, bowls etc as well as food. This was true in the evenings too - they always seemed stretched when a coach party arrived. I assume they knew they were coming? Otherwise I would have given it 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesFamilyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
258 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 814 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

Having stayed at far over 100 Holiday Inn properties I can easily say that the Perugia Holiday Inn is certainly among 10 best. I was expecting a lot when reading the good reviews here before traveling, but the hotel not only fulfilled all of my high expectations, it even exceeded many of them. The property is only 3 or 4 years old and in excellent shape, it is located slightly west of Perugia downtown, right off the Perugia-A1 motorway exit. It is in an up-scale residence area on a hill with magnificent views of old town Perugia. The hotel has two wings of rooms in different levels as it is on a hillside, the pool area is excellently located on the backside of the hotel, away from the entrance, the street and the parking lot. The premises have been tastefully incorporated into the local vegetation, including the old olive trees. There is plenty of parking and they even feature a "Priority Club Members" parking, although just one spot. The staff is friendly and efficient. Rooms are very nice and unbelieveably clean. I was trying to find a stain or a finger print on ceramic tiles in the bathroom under the light, but couldn't. It seems the room is literally sterilized with every houskeeping visit. The housekeeping is excellent as they dont' forget to replenish any of the room complimentary items or toiletries, they really do their job very thoroughly. Breakfast room in the lower level is also very nice and spacious, the breakfast attendants very friendly and attentive. There were groups of American travel agencies all the time, but the girls at breakfast kept bringing new food items, so I didn't experience any shortage of them even if the breakfast room was full. There are 2 things that weren't perfect with my stay though. First is the weak air-conditioning, it was typically August hot for the time of my 4-night stay and the air conditioning wasn't very efficient in cooling down the room enough. The other thing, also previously mentioned in the reviews, is the awful condition of the street that you need to take to get to the hotel. It has huge potholes, and when I say potholes I really mean potholes! I haven't experienced such road damage even on Alaska highway. I found that very strange as the neighborhood seemed rather wealthy and probably influential people live there. So it is of surprise that the hotel management and the local community don't get together and demand the street to be repaired. Well, typical Italian negligence :-). All in all this Holiday Inn is great and I highly recommend it.


Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Slo-Lju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2007

Yes, you'll need a car, and yes, the approach road is terrible, but what a find! Modern, spotlessly clean and comfortable, and with a pool with a fabulous view of Perugia. You don't notice the motorway next door. Special commendation to the staff who were friendly and unfailingly helpful. We couldn't fault their restaurant recommendations: Il Cascinale and Balestruccio for nearby eats (esp pizza and pasta) and Settimo Sigillo in the centre. Only complaints: when breakfast is crowded there is little attempt to keep food supply topped up, and you have to put up with CNN as only English news service!!

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — tv
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
189 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2007

3 nights at about 45 euros a night, this was a very good deal in such modern place.
As it was tucked away, somewhere between a hidden residency area and the main ROMA-FIRENZE highway, one must have his own car to fully appreciate this quiet and new hotel.

The room was small or the bed was big, anyway 2 persons moving around at the same time had a high probability to bump into each other frequently.

All amenities were there and no need to say that the room was serviced and the self coffee side refilled, daily.

We experienced very good service at this place, from the font dest to the restaurant.

During our stay, we met plenty of big groups, and all of them took advantage of the nice pool.

So good place, good deal but don't forget your car

  • Liked — superb value, great service and nice room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEEPfromPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

trusting the other Tripadvisor reviewers on this hotel I decided to give the Holiday Inn Perugia a try. I wasn't at all disappointed. The hotel is very clean, helpful and friendly staff and good breakfast. My family and I wanted to find an italian restaurant for lunch so the front desk took the time to call around and find a place serving pizza for lunch. They directed us to a small family owned Pizzeria just off the round which is a short distance from the hotel. The little family owned pizza was excellent so be sure to ask the receptionist how to find it. The rooms are relatively spacious and exceptionally clean. The pool was also a delight with wonderful views of the surrounding countryside. The hotel is also very well situated in relationship to the charming hillside towns of Umbria such as Assisi. Highly recommended

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rjsniteflyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perugia hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Quattrotorri Perugia
2.3 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Colle della Trinita - BlueBay Perugia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ilgo Hotel
Ilgo Hotel
#19 of 66 in Perugia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Centova
Hotel Centova
#12 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Tevere
Hotel Tevere
#1 of 4 in Ponte San Giovanni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Meridiana

Property: Hotel La Meridiana
Address: Via del Discobolo 42 | Quartiere Ferro di Cavallo, 06132, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Meridiana 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lodgings, only minutes away from historical Perugia. Situated on the lower part of the hillside containing the city, amidst the lush scenery of Lacugnano Park, its privileged position offers enchanting sights of the city skyline.La Meridiana offers the ideal lodgings and services either for lovely leisure holidays or business and institutional meetings. 96 stylish rooms including satellite TV, Free Wi Fi internet connection, Air conditioned, Minibar, Direct Phone, Shower or bath, Tea/coffeemaker corner, and digital safes large enough for notebooks.5 different types to suit every need: comfort, classic, superior, executive and family. Each offering distinctive sensible characteristics. “Il Vespertino” restaurant is a lovely meeting point for a family reunion dinner, business lunches or more special and important events. Excellent services offering the best of the Umbrian traditional cuisine.Biological local quality products and the expertise of the chef accomplishing outstanding outcome.Ideal elegant settings for meetings and special events. LA MERIDIANA HOTEL offers a modular composition of conference rooms to suit from 10 to 160 business people. Efficient and qualified conference and event ticketing services.The Lacugnano Park and the Perugian valley provide beautiful lush green scenery for the swimming pool. A relaxation corner with sunbed solarium services.Bicycles and 125 Vespa motorcycles hiring services. The possibility of a ride into the enchanting corners of surrounding areas. Architectural and natural beauties to enjoy in the open air.On request, transfer services back and forth the airport, the train station or the historical Perugia downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Perugia
Perugia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing