We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touring Umbria”
Review of Wine Link Italy

Wine Link Italy
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Touring Umbria”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Barbara D'Agapiti arrived at our hotel in Bevagna with a cute little white van and an itinerary for our day; a visit Decimi- a small family run olive oil production facility and several wineries. The wineries were interesting as we tasted the produce of the Sagrantino grape, but the olive oil tasting was a highlight. Barbara's local knowledge, her connections to the local producers, her recommendations on other things to do were excellent, and gave a sense of the real 'terroir' of Umbria. We had a great day with her. highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Four fantastic days with Barbara and WineLinkItaly”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We've just returned home after celebrating our anniversary by going on the Pasta e Vino tour put together by Barbara of WineLinkItaly in collaboration with the B&B Alla Madonna del Piatto near Assisi. Barbara arranged a wonderful week where we visited winerys, olive oil producers, and ate at wonderful local restaurants all around Umbria. We felt completely taken care of as each day was well planned and full of new tastes and experiences. We were there during the olive harvest and learned all about olive oil production and got to taste and therefore understand why high quality new olive oil is so special. We'd been to Umbria before, but on our prior trips we never achieved the understanding of the people and the culture as we did this time.

We were comfortable with Barbara from the moment we met her. It was as though an old friend was showing us around. A friend that is extremely knowledgeable about wine and food, and knows just exactly how to plan a day! Our visits to all these places were very personal and because of that we got a deeper understanding of Umbria and its culture of food and wine than we could ever have gotten on our own.

We've returned home with wonderful memories, new friendships, and two cases of wine and olive oil! We highly recommend Barbara as a guide whether in Umbria, or any other wine region of Italy. We intend to return to have her introduce us to the wines of the Piedmont region.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KatyElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful day!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent an incredible full day with Barbara in Umbria and could not have asked for anything more! She picked us up at our hotel and started us at a tiny artisanal olive oil producer followed by three wineries in the area. In the middle we had an incredible lunch at an awesome trattoria in Bevagna where we were able to get to know her and enjoy wonderful food and wine following her recommendations. She is smart, knowledgeable, and a pleasure to spend time with. We hope to see her again on our next trip to Italy!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great way to visit wineries in Tuscany”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent day out with Barbara visiting wineries in Tuscany. Following exchanges of emails before our trip she created a customized itinerary which, as requested, focused on wine. We love wine and have traveled quite a bit in Tuscany and Umbria in the past but had always found winery visits to be rather difficult to arrange by ourselves – the wineries here are certainly not set up in the way you see in Napa or the Hunter Valley!

Barbara solved that problem for us, arranging visits to four small but varied wineries – two near Montepulciano, home of the well-know Vino Nobile, and two near Cortona, where the much less well known to Italy Syrah grape is cultivated. Barbara had arranged personalized tours of each winery – in one case with the owner himself – and each included a walk through of the wine making process, discussion of the various techniques used and, of course, a sampling of the products. Each of the wineries was fascinating to see, and the passion of those working there shone through clearly to us.

Pace of the day was leisurely and we never felt hurried, but somehow Barbara managed to ensure that we kept to schedule. At the halfway point we stopped for lunch at a delightful trattoria where we enjoyed a simple tasty lunch at a very reasonable price.

All in all a very enjoyable and memorable day. We would certainly use Barbara again if we come back to Umbria or Tuscany in the future.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
1 review
“You cannot go wrong with Barbara and WinelinkItaly”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This past August (2013) we had the great fortune to be in the Umbrian Region and spent a full day touring with Barbara of winelinkitaly. The great thing about her itineraries are that they can be customized to your taste and style. If you do not want to worry about where and what to do, leave it to her discretion. If you have specific desires and dreams about what your tour should include, she will accommodate. You will see the real flavor of the region through a local's eye. Barbara is a sommelier and very knowledgable about not only the wines of the Region, but Wine in general. She is energetic, organized and keeps things moving. If you are visiting a very touristy spot its for a very good reason...it needs to be seen. We only spent 1 day with Winelinkitaly but had 2 great meals,several wine tastings, experienced a local festival, had a lot of laughs and learned so much about the region, it's culture and the warmth of the umbrian people. You travel in a very comfortable van that is stocked with a cooler of water. Prices are very reasonable for what you get. I would highly recommend booking time with her on your trip to the region. Her knowledge of Italy, wines and culture are not limited to the Umbrian Region. She was extremely helpful in answering any questions we had regarding any aspect of our trip to the country. There is nothing more helpful than a local recommending areas that are great to stay and visit as well as places that should be avoided or not worth your time. Umbria is a beautiful region rich with culture and ancient treasures. If you are planning a visit and let Barbara of winelinkitaly help create memories that will long linger on your mind and palette.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PDKtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Link Italy also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Tordandrea, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Wine Link Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing