We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great way to visit wineries in Tuscany” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wine Link Italy

Wine Link Italy
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great way to visit wineries in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent day out with Barbara visiting wineries in Tuscany. Following exchanges of emails before our trip she created a customized itinerary which, as requested, focused on wine. We love wine and have traveled quite a bit in Tuscany and Umbria in the past but had always found winery visits to be rather difficult to arrange by ourselves – the wineries here are certainly not set up in the way you see in Napa or the Hunter Valley!

Barbara solved that problem for us, arranging visits to four small but varied wineries – two near Montepulciano, home of the well-know Vino Nobile, and two near Cortona, where the much less well known to Italy Syrah grape is cultivated. Barbara had arranged personalized tours of each winery – in one case with the owner himself – and each included a walk through of the wine making process, discussion of the various techniques used and, of course, a sampling of the products. Each of the wineries was fascinating to see, and the passion of those working there shone through clearly to us.

Pace of the day was leisurely and we never felt hurried, but somehow Barbara managed to ensure that we kept to schedule. At the halfway point we stopped for lunch at a delightful trattoria where we enjoyed a simple tasty lunch at a very reasonable price.

All in all a very enjoyable and memorable day. We would certainly use Barbara again if we come back to Umbria or Tuscany in the future.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
1 review
“You cannot go wrong with Barbara and WinelinkItaly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This past August (2013) we had the great fortune to be in the Umbrian Region and spent a full day touring with Barbara of winelinkitaly. The great thing about her itineraries are that they can be customized to your taste and style. If you do not want to worry about where and what to do, leave it to her discretion. If you have specific desires and dreams about what your tour should include, she will accommodate. You will see the real flavor of the region through a local's eye. Barbara is a sommelier and very knowledgable about not only the wines of the Region, but Wine in general. She is energetic, organized and keeps things moving. If you are visiting a very touristy spot its for a very good reason...it needs to be seen. We only spent 1 day with Winelinkitaly but had 2 great meals,several wine tastings, experienced a local festival, had a lot of laughs and learned so much about the region, it's culture and the warmth of the umbrian people. You travel in a very comfortable van that is stocked with a cooler of water. Prices are very reasonable for what you get. I would highly recommend booking time with her on your trip to the region. Her knowledge of Italy, wines and culture are not limited to the Umbrian Region. She was extremely helpful in answering any questions we had regarding any aspect of our trip to the country. There is nothing more helpful than a local recommending areas that are great to stay and visit as well as places that should be avoided or not worth your time. Umbria is a beautiful region rich with culture and ancient treasures. If you are planning a visit and let Barbara of winelinkitaly help create memories that will long linger on your mind and palette.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PDKtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Tuscan expererience with WineLinkItaly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently traveled to Italy and hired Barbara D’Agapiti, owner of WineLinkItaly. We originally hired Barbara for 2 day trips in Tuscany but we enjoyed her so much we were fortunately able to book a third day in Tuscany with her. What a great find! Barbara is amazing!
We were picked up at our hotel in Rome and were traveling to our Agriturismo in Tuscany. Barbara was very professional and extremely friendly. We were a group of four and all fit very comfortably in her van, which was spotless and she had a cooler with snacks and water. She took us to Civita di Bagnoregio where the views were amazing. We then traveled to Orvieto where she arranged a wonderful lunch at a local restaurant and then traveled to Palazzone Winery where she arranged a great wine tasting overlooking amazing scenery. Barbara accompanied us, asking relevant questions and handling all the logistics-all we had to do was sit back and relax!!
The second day was a trip to Florence and traveled on to Chianti to the Vignamaggio Winery , a beautiful location with spectacular views and a nice wine tasting. From there we traveled to Montisi were we had an impromptu dinner at a local restaurant with Barbara that was amazing!! We all felt at home and had a great evening with lots of laughs and great food! Her recommendations were all perfect.
The third day was a trip from Tuscany to Venice. Barbara took us to Bologna and we visited the Tenuta Bonzara Winery. This was another great location. The best part was the restaurant at this winery. The food was all local Bologna dishes. It was outstanding! Barbara joined us and explained all the dishes and wines. From there she drove us to our final destination-Venice. She had arranged to meet our transportation and stayed with us until we were picked up.
Barbara’s planning of our itineraries and her judgement in choosing locations was perfect. She acted as our driver, guide and sommelier. She did a lot of planning before our trip asking about our interests and made sure that our trips included what we were looking for. She is very personable- She really made us feel like one of the family! When we travel back to Tuscany we will definitely be calling Barbara again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kma1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Fabulous Day at the Antinori Winery & Orvieto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and were planning our first trip to Italy and were told by a friend of ours that we must contact Barbara D'Agapiti for a wine tour. We are so glad we did as this was one of the memorable highlights of our trip. Barbara picked us up at our hotel in Florence in a very comfortable mini van and drove us to Bargino to visit the brand new Antinori Winery. Barbara is charming and friendly and made us feel welcome in her country, which she enthusiastically tells us about along the beautiful drive through the country. After our semi private tour and wine tasting at the Antinori Winery (which is an amazing new architectural delight), Barbara drove us to the beautiful village of Orvieto for lunch. Barbara helped us order as she knew just what was in season - the truffles were absolutely amazing and everything was just fantastic. After walking through this beautiful village and stopping into many of the hand made ceramics stores, Barbara drove us on to our next stop in Rome. This was a great way to see more of Italy on our first trip and to personally learn from Barbara about the culture and landscape of this special country. We would highly recommend Barbara and Winelinkitaly for anyone planning to visit Italy. She is friendly, fun and knowledgable and very accommodating.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Umbrian experience with Winelinkitaly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My friend and I recently came back from a trip to Umbria and the Etruscan coast this summer. We had a great time. One of the highlights of our trip, was a day spent with Barbara D'Agapiti from Winelinkitaly. We visited Civita di Bagnoregio, Orvieto (the lunch there was out of this world!!) Caprai Winery, Paulo Bea Winery and to top it off, were able to attend a local festival in Montefalco with all local foods at the end of the night; truly a superbly memorable day. Barbara has a great attitude. She's friendly, enthusiastic and knowledgable about wines, olive oil and Umbrian culture. The moment you meet her, you feel as though you've known her for years. I would definitely do another trip with her, but I would make it longer than a day next time!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank catsmeow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Link Italy also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Wine Link Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing