We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“amazing, relaxing, away from everything ...”
Casa San Gabriel
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa San Gabriel
Stunning view from the swimming pool La Cantina
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
190 reviews
Casa San Gabriel
Stunning view from the swimming pool
La Cantina
La Cantina Terrace
View from La Cantina Terrace
La Stalla
La Stalla with a cot
La Stalla Terrace
Il Fienile
Fienile Bunk Room
Il Fienile
Large Swimming Pool
Garden
Cooking in the pizza oven
Playground
Stunning at night
Child friendly Alpaca
Tom the Alpaca
The Lang Family with dogs Bessie and Cuba
Fienile
Fienile
Fienile
Fienile
Fienile Bunk Beds
Fienile
Fienile
Fienile Bathroom
Stalla
Stalla kitchen
Stalla
Stalla
Cantina
Cantina
Cantina Bedroom
Cantina Bedroom
Cantina
Cantina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Perugia, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 190 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danish first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
RoxanneVD...
1 review
“amazing, relaxing, away from everything ...”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed at Casa San Gabriel for 2 weeks and it was truly amazing. The setting of the farmhouses in the valley and the view from the great pool is even more beautiful than on picture. We stayed in both Il Fienile and La Stalla, which are very nicely restored. Both have a private terrace, but La Stalla has the one with a cool view. We really felt like „away from everything” because of the silence and the setting in the countryside…so relaxing. We came by car and then it is easy to visit plenty of beautiful Umbrian towns, so there's enough activity to do (there are also some walks possible in the valley). We also spent a lot of time in/at the pool to relax after such activities. We brought our dog with us as well, and he really enjoyed playing with Bessie and Cuba (definitely dog-friendly which was also important for us). And of course, a very warm welcome from David, Chrissy and the family, who are always available and did everything to make us have a comfortable stay. We definitely recommend this gem and are hoping to go back soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2017
Thank you so much for such a lovely review
xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R
1 review
“The warmest of welcomes and a beautiful place”
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Thank you to David, Chrissy and the whole team at Casa San Gabriel for a fantastic stay.

We stayed in Il Fienile. It is charming, the perfect size for four, with a lovely terrace.

Everywhere there are wonderful views of the valley and local vineyards, and the pool is amazing. Nearby Umbertide has everything you need for self-catering.

We had a great week, swimming in the pool, walking in the surrounding hills and drinking plenty of local wine from Chiesa del Carmine. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2017
thank you so much
xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quentin S
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My wife and I along with our 1 year old daughter stayed for 5 nights and were thoroughly impressed with everything! There is so much to see and do in Umbria however the challenge is actually leaving this incredible accommodation. Would highly recommend and will hopefully be back again soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D6503BWba...
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Rural Umbria at its best”
Reviewed June 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was the first time we stayed out of town and the location, scenery, amenities and hosts did not disappoint. During our seven night stay we visited Assisi (St Francis), Perugia (great art gallery), Cortona (under the Tuscan sun), Gubbio (lovely old town with panoramic views from Mount Ingino), Montepulciano ( Nobile wine tasting), Montalcino (Brunello wine tasting) Orvieto ( brilliant cathedral). All of these were within easy reach, and speaking of wine tasting our hosts arranged for wine tasting in the local valley. The local wine was truly surprising and excellent value. The location is idyllic, peaceful, wonderful scenery and relaxing. We had to leave much to be explored, and tasted, and we will be back.
I would definitely recommend this vacation rental. A car is essential.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2017
Thank you very much for your kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermione...
1 review
“Ah-mazing!!! Thank you Chrissie & David”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My husband, our 2yo son and I stayed in La Stalla for 2 nights. It was the perfect break between busy cities to relax and unwind and everything was made so easy, especially with a little one. From the quick correspondence, advice on how to get there, dinner reservations in a nearby restaurant, babysitter (!!!!) and the beautiful location/accomodation/pool - everything was perfect. David also cooked an amazing 4 course meal on the first night which was one of the best meals we've had in Italy. I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2017
thank you so much for your lovely review
xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeasleyYV...
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We originally planned to stay a Casa San Gabriel for 3 nights. We loved it so much we stayed for 4 more days. You'll find everything you need in the well appointed stone cottages. From the moment we arrived, greeted by Bessie the family dog, and shortly watched the llamas being sheered, we were hooked. David and Chrissie have converted the original farm outbuildings into cottages with unbelievable views from the patios and windows. The view from the pool cannot be beaten! The atmosphere is so relaxing and beautiful! You can choose from a number of short hikes around the farm for exercise if staying at the cottage for the day or visit any of the nearby villages. David and Chrissie have a great book in each cottage that will help you decide on what to do during your stay with them. Pizza night with the family and neighbors was excellent! We will definitely return again! Note - a car is definitely recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2017
thank you so much
we hope to see you again one day
xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garry_alp...
Rangeworthy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Five years in a row Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed May 14, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Every year we come to shear the alpacas and every year we are made very welcome by our hosts. We have sampled the delights of La Stalla and La Cantina, both of which are well appointed, tastefully decorated and impeccably clean. The views from Casa San Gabriel have to be seen to be believed, either from the patios of each property or the pool, which we have used on more than one occasion. David and Chrissie make themselves available to ensure everyone who stays with them have all that they need for the perfect getaway in the Umbrian countryside.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2017
thank you
xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing