We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply stunning”
Casa San Gabriel
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa San Gabriel
Stunning view from the swimming pool La Cantina
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
194 reviews
Casa San Gabriel
Stunning view from the swimming pool
La Cantina
La Cantina Terrace
View from La Cantina Terrace
La Stalla
La Stalla with a cot
La Stalla Terrace
Il Fienile
Fienile Bunk Room
Il Fienile
Large Swimming Pool
Garden
Cooking in the pizza oven
Playground
Stunning at night
Child friendly Alpaca
Tom the Alpaca
The Lang Family with dogs Bessie and Cuba
Fienile
Fienile
Fienile
Fienile
Fienile Bunk Beds
Fienile
Fienile
Fienile Bathroom
Stalla
Stalla kitchen
Stalla
Stalla
Cantina
Cantina
Cantina Bedroom
Cantina Bedroom
Cantina
Cantina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Perugia, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 194 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danish first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
McGsOnTou...
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had the most wonderful stay at Casa San Gabriel and cannot recommend it highly enough!! We have travelled from Australia to stay there four times over the last twelve years and each time it just gets more and more beautiful. Our family of 5 (children aged 10, 8 and 3) were very comfortably accommodated in Il Fienile. Chrissie, David and the girls are marvellous hosts and go out of their way to help you discover the best the area has to offer and assist with bookings etc. The furnishings in the accommodations are so tasteful and in keeping with the style of property and you have all the mod cons you could possibly wish for. Having spent time on previous trips venturing to various delightful nearby hilltop towns we contented ourselves on this occasion with some local walks and unwinding in the peaceful surrounds of Casa San Gabriel. This is a great place to stay for families with children who have so much to keep them entertained - from playing with the dogs Cuba and Bessie to the alpacas, the playground, swimming in the gorgeous horizon pool overlooking the valley there are hours of relaxing fun to be had soaking up hose sublime views over the valley before you even think about a venture to the many nearby attractions. We will keep coming back because we are yet to experience a more idyllic setting with such amazing hosts where we can so totally relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming hosts, the location, the facilities and the serenity.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2015
Thank you so much ]xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane C
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delightful, enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at Casa San Gabriel earlier this month with two other couples, each staying in one of the farmhouses. We could not have been more comfortable with the accommodations and our hosts. It was a great location for enjoying the hill towns and very relaxing when we were back at our temporary "home". We very happily enjoyed the walks through the vineyards and just sitting to enjoy a glass of their wine and their view. Very comfortable and beautiful place to visit. It was very, very nice having Chrissie and David's recommendations on where to go and where to eat in our very short time there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hmm, that's a tough question. The view? The hosts?
Liked least: It is helpful if you like steps (we do)
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverpeo...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful, relaxing and welcoming - couldn't be better”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

this was our second time back at casa san gabriel and it was just as good as - if not better than - our first visit.

its a beautiful spot in a tucked-away valley with lovely views from the house and especially from the pool. the house (il fienile) is really nicely converted from an old stone farm building into a chic, compact little two bedroom cottage which is perfect for a family, and with its own outside space to relax and eat.

the pool is lovely too - covered at night to keep it at a nice temperature, and kept clean and civilised

but the best aspect of staying there is the hospitality - david and chrissie are lovely, thoughtful hosts who really make sure you've got everything you need, give lots of advice and suggestions, help with anything needed, and host (with their daughters' help) a delicious pizza night in their ancient pizza oven

now firmly established as one of our favourite holiday spots in the world...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2015
Thank you so much
xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily7502...
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
“Great Stay in Umbria”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our stay with friends at Casa San Gabriel was really great! The restored farmhouses were very comfortable and our owner/hosts took care of anything we needed--directions, recommendations, local wine and rental car rescue. Would definitely recommend it!!

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2015
thank you so much
hope the rest of your trip went well
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Serene and relaxing with good food wine and walks”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The stone cottage and location on the side of hill top in rural Umbria has fantastic views. My daughter loved swimming in the pool and walking the dogs through the local vineyards. The tailored guidebook provided by Chrissy and David is so detailed that we never ran out of things to do when we wanted to get out and about. The accommodation is very comfortable with a great outside area for BBQs and good options for food if when we didn't want to cook or drive. I couldn't recommend it more for young families. We will be back at some point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2015
Thank you very much for you very kind review.
xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perryberr...
Ticknall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

It is so hard to find the words to sum up our stay at the stunning Casa San Gabriel and I genuinely can't recommend it highly enough.....from the warm welcome, the stunning surroundings, the pool and the superlative accommodation - we stayed in La Stalla which has the most gorgeous views through the hills towards Assisi and has been beautifully restored by Chrissie and David who have clearly put a LOT of thought in to their clients needs,,,,so many,many lovely touches.......just perfection!

Already booked to go back next year with friends who we know will just love it.

Thank you to Chrissie and David for being wonderful hosts xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2015
thank you so much
look forward to having you all to stay in June
xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
“An excellent place to relax with small children”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Casa San Gabriel is a wonderful place to stay. Its picturesque setting coupled with excellent facilities for children and the warm hospitality of Chrissie & David make it an excellent choice for families - especially with small children.

David's cooking is also worth highlighting, and should you go there you should definitely take advantage of the offer of a delicious 4 course meal.

We for certain, will be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2015
thank you so much xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing