We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect venue for our group”
Spacious family villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious family villa
Swimming pool and sunbeds Large dining room seating up to 14
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Spacious family villa
Swimming pool and sunbeds
Large dining room seating up to 14
Warm and spacious sitting room
Well equipped kitchen
Games room
Master bedroom
Double room
Twin bedroom
All ensuite large bathrooms
View of Antognolla Castle from Capanne Pool
Villa Capanne, stunning gardens and luxurious house
Kitchen Garden
Beautiful gardens
Garden terraces
The cottage Capannetta
Capannetta Terrace
Capannetta Kitchen
Capanetta kitchen and dining room
Capannetta sitting area
Capannetta living room
Double bedroom capannetta
Stunning pool at night
Garden tables
Night lights
Golf course and Villa Capanne
Pergola
Large Swimming pool with both deep and shallow end
View from Capannetta Terrace
Antognolla Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Perugia, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Charles K
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect venue for our group”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 2 weeks in August here, our third year at Villa Capanne. The house and cottage are in excellent repair and very well equipped. The pool and gardens are beautiful. David and Chrissie are first class managers; when we asked for the lawn to be mowed a bit shorter so we could play croquet it was done the next day. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for them. The housekeeper is also a gem, working hard to fix any problems. We ate out twice at the golf club on the estate, a very good menu and great staff even when working flat out on busy nights.
I heartily recommend Villa Capanne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Dear Charles

Thank you so much for your kind review.
We hope to see you again soon
xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teasleflo...
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Tranquil, Peaceful, beautiful and fun”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

David, the rental manager, was there to greet our party of 11, including four children on 25th July. Two adults from China & their two children, four adults from Taiwan plus two children and one from the UK. David showed us around and demonstrated how everything worked. The villa was an oasis of calm and relative cool (the temperatures were hitting 35/37 degrees C). As previous reviews have said the whole villa including Capannetta is beautifully furnished and the kitchen is well equipped. Basics such as butter, milk, croissants, tea & jam are provided - enough for your first breakfast.

The pool's cleaning system is salt rather than the innocuous chlorine and it stayed one of the highlights of our stay. Most of the guests had great fun playing in the pool and the youngest ones obtained more confidence in the water. A man comes early one morning to check it and clean leaves etc out once a week - he is entirely unobtrusive.

The gardens were well maintained with lovely old olive trees on the lawns at Capanetta. I was treated to seeing a couple of Hoopoes feeding on the lawn - if you are lucky enough to see them do not rush out onto the lawn keep a quiet watch within Capanetta! Antonio, the Gardener, came early in the morning each day to tend to the gardens. Again not at all obtrusive.

The view from the pool across the Antonagolla Golf course to the castle is impressive. We were treated on our first morning to the mist swirling this way and that over the valley. The walk down to the course is also lovely and even though it was late July we were still treated to pretty wild flowers.

Marga kindly took three of us on an early morning tour to Gubbio via Umbertide which was really interesting. Others of the group enjoyed a visit to Florence, Perugia and Assissi.

Chrissie and David recommended Maurizio Mazza who can be found on www.autonogleggimazza.it as our transfer driver from Rome to Orvieto to the Villa and then back to Rome. Maurizio was an absolute gentleman - he bought water for us all. Provided a child seat for the youngest. Gave us information about various towns that we pasted on the way and at no extra cost he took us to Civita di Bagnoregio when we transferred from Orvieto to the Villa. Again at no extra charge he had to take us to two separate airports in Rome. Thanks Maurizio.

All in all a delightful stay at the Villa. So thanks to David and Chrissie for facilitating the holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: All of it
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely and informative review
Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyWizz78
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning villa set IN the beautiful Antognola golf course”
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Unbelievably beautiful villa in unique private setting, perfect for family gatherings. A real home from home with all mod cons and lots of extras. Golf centre has a fantastic, friendly restaurant for all meals, great coffee! Chef to cook in was average, pool cleaning and gardening constant and too early.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2015
Thank you so much for the review.

I do apologise that the gardening was too early and you were not very impressed with the catering.

We would love to accommodate you again if you would like to come and we would be sure to confirm with the gardener the hours that would suit you and improve on the catering.

Have a wonderful summer and many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen K
1 review
“Extraordinary, delightful and comfortable stay in a superbly restored Italian country villa!”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

When trying to describe how wonderful this place is, I can only say, as some wise man or woman once penned long ago: "The bag of superlatives is quickly exhausted!" Our group of six adults (my siblings and I, along with our spouses) stayed for a week at Villa Capanne in May 2015, and enjoyed every second of it. The hardest part every day was deciding whether or not to leave the villa for day excursions to nearby medieval hill towns or for walks in the Umbrian countryside! The weather was warm and beautifully sunny, with the pool refreshingly cool but swimmable so early in the season. The owners have taken great care to restore and furnish the 600 year-old villa and cottage. The kitchen is very well stocked with all you need for fine dinners and parties for a large group. The grounds are impeccably landscaped with flowers, herbs, and ancient olive trees. And the peace and quiet was for us very welcome after 4 days spent in bustling Rome! Not to mention the fabulous views in every direction. We forgot that we were looking at a golf course below the villa since it spreads out before you like a painting of the Tuscan countryside and was very lightly used while we were there! Thanks to Chrissie (the property manager) for making the booking, payment, arrival and departure process so easy! We are already planning our return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: While being a
Liked least: Being in northern Umbria it is a bit far perhaps from some of the more desirable hilltop towns of Tuscany and Umbria, but that also makes it very private and special.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2015
Dear Stephen
Thank you so much, it was a pleasure to have you to stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future
Take Care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad E
Bali, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow....what a place to stay!”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at Villa Capanne in Umbria with three families, all with children aged from six to 14 and wow, what a place to stay!
To start with the hospitality from the caretakers is unbelievable and they make you feel at home from the moment you arrive. The attention to detail including the latest Yamaha Sound Docks, the fully equipped kitchen, the big red wine glasses (try the many varieties of Chianti and ensure you try the Ruffino!) , loads of firewood to keep you cozy in front of one of the largest fireplaces you could imagine and fast wifi that allows you to keep up with news, share pictures all while sitting sipping coffee looking over the private estate, centuries old castle and golf course. The gold club house is a site in itself and serves up traditional dishes for lunch and dinner, inexpensive wines all while sitting by the open fire. Try the Truffle egg fondue! Its the perfect place to enjoy a long lunch for the whole family.
Not only is the villa perfectly clean, it's also fitted with quality fixtures which keep the rooms dark for long sleep ins, but also make you feel like your staying in luxury. With all the little touches, the villa has an incredible homely feel.

Location- wow. it's amazing as it's secluded, however within 15 minutes you can reach great Umbrian towns which are a travelers paradise to explore history and experience some of the most fantastic food in Europe. make sure you take the train to Florence and enjoy the Food Markets which offer a great day of shopping. The produce, meats, seafood and of course Olive oils are amazing. try the Panini Porchetta or two at the market. Just look for the long line with people filling their phones and social media with images and excitement about the experience..
The prices around this area are a fraction of the prices you pay in major cities and there is a great, well stocked Coop supermarket within a ten minute drive in the town of Umbertide. You also get to mix with the locals, sip on espresso's and savor flaky fresh croissants. The weekend markets offers great local produce from very passionate farmers.
The Villa- many bedrooms and with three families there is an abundance of space, loads of linen and a highlight is the huge couch in front of the huge fireplace. The central heating is perfect as are the many home-wares, artwork and stylish fittings. Even though it was the middle of winter, we had outdoor BBQ's (the local market sells tasty Italian sausages) and the kids loved hide and seek throughout the extensive grounds. Nothing beats a platter of local cheese, truffles and cold meats prior to a BBQ overlooking a valley and the mountains while hanging out with friends!
The kitchen has everything a chef needs to cook up a feast and on one night we organized a team of chefs to come to the villa to cook. They not only cooked, they taught all the kids to make pasta in which they then served up for dinner.

The highlights: space, location, authenticity, attention to detail, fireplace and a true Italian Villa.

We would recommend Villa Capanne to families or friends wanting the perfect place to enjoy Umbria!

Tip- having stayed in other villas in Tuscany, this is everything and more and offers a more genuine experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, attention to detail, quality of the building and furnishings, kitchen, fireplace
Liked least: leaving!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the setting and comfortably of the villa
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing