We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2009

The hotel (Jazz section as its in two sections linked, Jazz and Wine) is of a good standard. Rooms are large with views towards either the city or countryside however there are roads running either side, the noise is minimal when windows closed. The rooms have a good size bathroom and ac with tv and jazz dvd in each room, my room also has a massage chair. Staff were friendly although they did not explain the hotel facilities. There is a roof top pool. Breakfast was included. There was an excellent range of items for breakfast although none hot other than toast. Good free parking and a supermarket near by for those left behind things. To get into town we used the car. Parking in town was easy. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horshamsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2009

Hotel Gio is certainly the most satisfactory city hotel I've been to, ever. Being a jazz enthusiast, it was just a tremendous experience to stay at a place where jazz has been made a theme throughout the whole hotel, from the entrance area to the room decorations, and everywhere in between. But not to forget: It is accomodation of a high standard, with really large rooms that should satisfy even US guests. In my room there was even a massage chair, and still there was plenty of rooms. Top bathroom, excellent beds, quiet and no noise during the night. Fine breakfast buffet, though, as usual in Italy, no fresh tomatoes or salad leaves. Sorely missed by us northern Europeans. Free parking. One single drawback: Not very centrally located in relation the historic city centre. During the jazz festival, which was the reason for my stay, there is a frequent and free shuttle bus, though.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lektor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Stayed only for 1 night having gone to attend a concert. (part of Umbria Jazz). The only real downside about this hotel was its location (a stiff 15 min climb on foot into the old city). This is easily offset by using the hourly courtesy bus.
We had a lovely large comfortanble room (almost a suite) in the wine building which had an ethnic African theme, and even had its own exercise bike in the sitting area.
The public areas of the buildings were most impressive and tasteful. It would have been easy to enjoy a several days stay, and had a large parking area.
Breakfast was a typical Italian buffet, not really to a UK taste, but it did is job and there was plenty to select, including lots of fruit.
The hotel had lots of parking, and free internet access. As we spent practically all our wakened hours away from the hotel we had little opportunity to experience its facilities, much of which went unresearched. Certainly this is a hotel we could recommend,
Umbria Jazz is clearly a magnificent event, we would like to return, and will probably for convenience try to book a hotel in the Old city, but would certainly consider the Gio is nothing is available in the city, as was the case when we made this reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil&Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

There is only one disadvantage about this hotel: its location. If you have a car and a GPS for arrival it's fine. Otherwise it is far (1,5 km uphill) from the railway station, not too close to the historic center (1 km steep uphill).
But inside the hotel everything was perfect. Wine, Jazz, Chocolate...
Some of its services are close to 5 star (breakfast buffet, slippers in room, jacuzzi bath tub in the room, quality and speed of laundry) and the price is close to a 3-star-hotel's.
Staff is super helpful polite and kind, decoration and setting very stylish and unique - but not obsentatious.

P.S. Do not panic (as I did) if at the address above (at the parking) you find Hotel Gio closed down. They use the other wing at the moment (entrance further up behind the petrol station, and there are no signs). :-)

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank member075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

I have stayed a couple of times previously in the Hotel Gio but in the older part which I had found to be OK. This time I discovered that I had been upgraded to the Jazz part and I was given a very nice new room. All in all my stay was very pleasant. They provide a good breakfast and there is a restaurant for other meals. Visitors should note however that you must pre-book in the restaurant. The food here is reasonable. You can’t just turn up or you will not be served as happened to me on one previous occasion. It took a lot of remonstrating to get them to budge! Perugia, as visitors will discover, is very hilly and the hotel is up the hill from the main station – best to take the bus. A convenience offered by the hotel is that the shuttle bus back to the airport makes a stop right outside the front door of the hotel and you can make a booking from the hotel reception. The fare only cost €3.50 in June when I stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ooDormouseoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

I only stayed for a very short time for business with this hotel. The staff were very friendly and there was a nice feel. Just a word of warning though, my room 120 looked out over the loading dock to the supermarket next door and I was woken at 5.30am by a lorry reversing and unloading goods on the dock , this lasted about 20 mins and of course another lorry arrived after that. Not so bad for me as I had to get up early but if you're there for holidays or for a good night's sleep avoid rooms ending 18-21 I would guess.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice_in_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

This hotel is divided into two areas: Wine and Jazz areas. I staied in the 'Jazz' part. I think that the latter was renewed (it was more expensive than 'Wine'). My room was very spacious, I had a CD-player, nice clean big bathroom and a comfortable massage chair. Mini bar and breakfast were ok. I had once dinner in the hotel restaurant: interesting menu with local specialties, nice service and reasonable price. It's very convenient arriving both by car (has a parking) or by train (not far from the train station, I took a taxi because the hotel is uphill, but it took me ~ 2 minutes by taxi). It's not in the city center, but Perugia is not a big city, one can easily walk from the hotel to the center.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.6 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 65 in Perugia
1,215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 65 in Perugia
1,516 reviews
1.0 mi away
Etruscan Chocohotel
Etruscan Chocohotel
#11 of 65 in Perugia
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Quattrotorri Perugia
1.2 mi away
Perugia Plaza Hotel
Perugia Plaza Hotel
#26 of 65 in Perugia
464 reviews
5.0 mi away
Relais San Clemente
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area

Address: Via Ruggero d'Andreotto 19, 06124, Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range: $78 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel giò wine e jazz area is a hotel divided into two theme areas, dedicated to jazz and wine. The hotel is in the city centre of perugia, 1 km far away from the railway station, and 200 mt from the minimetrò station. You reach the historic centre in 5 minutes by minimetrò.From hotel giò you can reach the historic centre in 5 minutes by car or in 20 minutes on foot. In the hotel jazz lovers will find a music store and an auditorium with jazz concerts in different dates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gio Hotel Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing