We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Rooms ending in 18-21”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2008

I only stayed for a very short time for business with this hotel. The staff were very friendly and there was a nice feel. Just a word of warning though, my room 120 looked out over the loading dock to the supermarket next door and I was woken at 5.30am by a lorry reversing and unloading goods on the dock , this lasted about 20 mins and of course another lorry arrived after that. Not so bad for me as I had to get up early but if you're there for holidays or for a good night's sleep avoid rooms ending 18-21 I would guess.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice_in_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2008

This hotel is divided into two areas: Wine and Jazz areas. I staied in the 'Jazz' part. I think that the latter was renewed (it was more expensive than 'Wine'). My room was very spacious, I had a CD-player, nice clean big bathroom and a comfortable massage chair. Mini bar and breakfast were ok. I had once dinner in the hotel restaurant: interesting menu with local specialties, nice service and reasonable price. It's very convenient arriving both by car (has a parking) or by train (not far from the train station, I took a taxi because the hotel is uphill, but it took me ~ 2 minutes by taxi). It's not in the city center, but Perugia is not a big city, one can easily walk from the hotel to the center.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights for a conference. It was pretty basic - nothing fancy but nothing to really complain about. The room could use a little updating, but it felt clean and was spacious. The hotel offers free internet access (and wi-fi) in its lobby, which was a nice perk. Daily breakfast (included) consisted of pastries, cereals, yogurts, etc. Perfect to get the day started. We had two lunches and one dinner at the hotel's restaurant, and would not recommend it. Very pricey and so-so (at best) food. Service at dinner was VERY slow. I understand there is a cultural difference in speed of meals in Europe vs. US but this was unreasonable. Location isn't 100% desirable as it is at the bottom of the steep hill which leads to the city center, but there's not much you can do about that. One thing about location, however: the map on the Hotel's website is VERY misleading as to its location ... it is a lot longer of a walk than indicated on their map!

All in all, not a bad place to stay. It was clean, which is most important to me, and reasonably comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lpool9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

This hotel was booked for me by a conference organizer and I wasn't sure what to expect. Here are some good points. An excellent cold buffet breakfast. If you have to start the day with a hot breakfast you will be disappointed, but if you're OK with cold they have just about everything you could want. Also , clean rooms. Good daily maid service. Mostly friendly, helpful staff. Not too far of a walk from the old city centre (maybe 1km). The bad points: The walk is up a very steep hill, however, you can't really avoid hills in Perugia. The hotel furnishings are very dated and the walls and floors are a bit thin (i.e., it's noisy, bring earplugs). The shower in my room was awful. It was like trying to bathe with a waterpik toothbrush. The evening restaurant is not that good and it doesn't open until 7:45. I realize late dinners are the custom in Perugia but hotels should cater to newly arrived international travellers who may want to eat on arrival.
The wireless internet is only available in the lobby. However, the lobby is reasonably comfortable and the hotel has several PCs available for those in need.
Final thing you may want to know, the hotel is only accessible by a one-way street. Make sure you have a map with the one-ways marked for the day you arrive.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Astrodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: La nostra camera superior era al Jazz con vasca idromassaggio, ottima
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giuseppe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manu545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank robr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perugia hotels
1.0 mi away
Etruscan Chocohotel
Etruscan Chocohotel
#11 of 65 in Perugia
1,432 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 65 in Perugia
1,476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 65 in Perugia
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Quattrotorri Perugia
3.0 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#4 of 65 in Perugia
728 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#18 of 65 in Perugia
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area

Address: Via Ruggero d'Andreotto 19, 06124, Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range: $79 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel giò wine e jazz area is a hotel divided into two theme areas, dedicated to jazz and wine. The hotel is in the city centre of perugia, 1 km far away from the railway station, and 200 mt from the minimetrò station. You reach the historic centre in 5 minutes by minimetrò.From hotel giò you can reach the historic centre in 5 minutes by car or in 20 minutes on foot. In the hotel jazz lovers will find a music store and an auditorium with jazz concerts in different dates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gio Hotel Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing