We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A short walk from the action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A short walk from the action”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I walked to the hotel from the train station and had some trouble seeing a sign for it. If I didn't have a digital map and an iPad I would never have found it. The hotel is modern, comfortable and had a decent wifi connection. It is outside the walled city so you must walk up the hill to get to the heart of Perugia. Not a big deal if you are somewhat healthy but not ideal for seniors or families with babies or infants. The staff were courteous and professional, however, they weren't exactly cheerful or talkative. That said, the price was right and it was comfortable - I would stay again.

Room Tip: Take a pass on their restaurant. There is a much better place to eat close by being the tavern just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    521
    166
    50
    12
See reviews for
154
537
35
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Gia Jazz Area for one night on our way back from Puglia. It is one of two hotels, the other being the Wine hotel next door and joined underground. The room was very large, well furnished and the bathroom equally so. Our room was at the back of the hotel as the front had a view of the petrol station next door. Breakfast was buffet with a good choice included in the room rate. There was a pool and sunbathing area on the roof with a brilliant view of the old town of Perugia on the hill. There was also private parking at the rear of both hotels.
The mini metro up to the old town was about a 10 min walk away but unfortunately the last train down left around 9pm. The old town was a bit of a surprise being far nicer than anticipated with stunning views of the surround countryside from the walls. Lots of restaurants and great expensive shops. Would certainly go back!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BucksJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

When I find such a nice hote, where beautiful modern art is shown wherever I would expect to have also a good service...this is not the case .
As a matter of fact, I have had a very nice room, but not well cleaned; neither in the bathroom and sleeping room. Instead of a wood made wardrobe there are two tents, desert style ? Dust all over the room !
Riccardo is a master in the restaurant but when other guests come for dinner, the poor service comes out in terms of lack of personall related to the guest' numbers and we had to wait long time between on course and the following one.
But the worst surprise came up at 6 o'clock in the morning; we where waken up by waiters one floor under that were preparino breakfast room tale and chairs that the previous evening had bene user for a parquet dinner with jazz alive orchestr. That's ubelivable...but truth !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARTATTACKSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HELLAS
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for two nights. I strongly believe that it provides the best quality at the lowest price ever payed during my trips in Europe. We stayed in room 4405 looking Perugia from the west. This economy double room has everything to make visitor's stay unforgetable. It is spacious, very clean, with a minibar, cd player large flat screan tv. I strongly recomend this hotel if you are visiting Umbria. Perugia city center is 10 min away, Assisi is only 30 min drive. You must pay a visit to these two cities. You must stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NIMA_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I was there because myhconference was held in it. The staff is friendly and helpful, the room and bathroom plain and a bit shabby, breakfast is ok A bit isolated with a tiring 20-30 minute uphill walk to town (hard when it is hot), or a 10-15 Euro taxi, or the mini train (which closes at 9 pm). Also a bus alternative which I didn't try. The room viewed the parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NNL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prata di Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

just got back from 2 nights in Perugia we spent there for the Umbria jazz Festival. We stayed at the Jazz part of the Gio. I was afraid, we'd get a tiny room since on the reservation it was stated as 'small'. However, very average size hotel room. Room was clean. What we missed was a balcony and a regular shower. We had a jacuzzi kind of bathtub, with a shower hose, but you had to sit down in order to shower or you'd have flooded the entire bathroom. No shower curtain either.
Breakfast was good with a lot of things to choose from, even the yummy Yomo brand yogurt. However, no bacon and eggs, unless you wanted to pay for it.
The hotel is quite far from the escalator that will take you to the historic part of town. For the Umbria Jazz Festival period this is not a problem because a shuttle will take you to the escalator and back in hourly intervals. Latest departure from center is 2:20 a.m.
A nice feature is the pool on the roof of the hotel. Just 8 lounge chairs but it was nice to cool off after a long motorcycle ride to Perugia. Pool was hardly big enough to swim in, though!

Room Tip: Next time I would ask for a room with balcony, available in the Wine part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at Gio with an Italian group that was celebrating a 40+year reunion. Despite the numbers the hotel handled the situation very well...with a meal for 100 on the main night and lunches as bookends. The hotel has two wings...one dedicated to jazz music and the other to wine.
Rooms we clean and well maintained. The decorations were unusual being all Jazz orientation. Wallpaper, fixed radio, curtains, and figurines are all reflective of jazz music and jazz musicians. Quite unusual to say the least...but it grows on you. We also learned that Hotel Gio is the home of the annual jazz festival held in the autumn...which then made sense.
A little out of the main part of the old town...so a strong walk...or taxi is required to visit the piazza etc....
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Not overpriced so good value.
Ps...one more item worth mentioning. Each room had it's own massage chair...having driven from Rome this was a great but very welcome surprise.

Room Tip: Both sides of hotel have busy roads....we were on the highway side...but the noise was not an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.7 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
2.1 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
1.0 mi away
Etruscan Chocohotel
Etruscan Chocohotel
#11 of 66 in Perugia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Quattrotorri Perugia
3.0 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#3 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#6 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area

Property: Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area
Address: Via Ruggero d'Andreotto 19, 06124, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel giò wine e jazz area is a hotel divided into two theme areas, dedicated to jazz and wine. The hotel is in the city centre of perugia, 1 km far away from the railway station, and 200 mt from the minimetrò station. You reach the historic centre in 5 minutes by minimetrò.From hotel giò you can reach the historic centre in 5 minutes by car or in 20 minutes on foot. In the hotel jazz lovers will find a music store and an auditorium with jazz concerts in different dates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gio Hotel Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing