We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for your money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

just got back from 2 nights in Perugia we spent there for the Umbria jazz Festival. We stayed at the Jazz part of the Gio. I was afraid, we'd get a tiny room since on the reservation it was stated as 'small'. However, very average size hotel room. Room was clean. What we missed was a balcony and a regular shower. We had a jacuzzi kind of bathtub, with a shower hose, but you had to sit down in order to shower or you'd have flooded the entire bathroom. No shower curtain either.
Breakfast was good with a lot of things to choose from, even the yummy Yomo brand yogurt. However, no bacon and eggs, unless you wanted to pay for it.
The hotel is quite far from the escalator that will take you to the historic part of town. For the Umbria Jazz Festival period this is not a problem because a shuttle will take you to the escalator and back in hourly intervals. Latest departure from center is 2:20 a.m.
A nice feature is the pool on the roof of the hotel. Just 8 lounge chairs but it was nice to cool off after a long motorcycle ride to Perugia. Pool was hardly big enough to swim in, though!

Room Tip: Next time I would ask for a room with balcony, available in the Wine part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at Gio with an Italian group that was celebrating a 40+year reunion. Despite the numbers the hotel handled the situation very well...with a meal for 100 on the main night and lunches as bookends. The hotel has two wings...one dedicated to jazz music and the other to wine.
Rooms we clean and well maintained. The decorations were unusual being all Jazz orientation. Wallpaper, fixed radio, curtains, and figurines are all reflective of jazz music and jazz musicians. Quite unusual to say the least...but it grows on you. We also learned that Hotel Gio is the home of the annual jazz festival held in the autumn...which then made sense.
A little out of the main part of the old town...so a strong walk...or taxi is required to visit the piazza etc....
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Not overpriced so good value.
Ps...one more item worth mentioning. Each room had it's own massage chair...having driven from Rome this was a great but very welcome surprise.

Room Tip: Both sides of hotel have busy roads....we were on the highway side...but the noise was not an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel is situated a bit far from the historical center of Perugia. Rooms are big but decoration is not very nice. Bedding is good but not great, choose rooms at the back of the hotel if you want to avoid the gaz station view in the front of the hotel. A Pool on the hotel roof is certainly nice but it was unfortunately closed in may... Fitness center with 2 bikes and running machine is available. Breakfast is poor without any choice. I'll not go back there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fguitteny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We spent 1 night here in April '12 in order to vist the sites of Perugia.

What we didn't realise is that this is almost 2 hotels - the Wine and the Jazz in different buildings connected by underground corridor.... We stayed in the Wine.

Reception were very helpfull, spoke brilliant English and the whole booking in experience was pleasant. The room was large, comfortable and decked out in a very tastefull"wine" theme - in fact the whole of this part of the Hotel is - a very in interesting (in a good way) decor.

Breakfast was very good - usual Itallian breakfast fayre ~ Cheeses, Hams, Serials, tarts, bread and the like. Large dining room, good service and plenty of choice.

Its a 20 min walk into the middle of the City - all uphill so not a quick saunter but certainly a possibiliy (But possibly not more than once.....). There is lots of car parking space at both the wine and the jazz.

The only 2 slight drawbacks...... we bought a bottle of local wine in town, brought it back but it was corked SO we asked for a corkscrew......in hotel "wine".... but they didn't have one ! More an ammusement than a real pain. However the internet is free but only with a ticketted code system. When the time elapsed by the next morning reception won't give the new code over the phone.... bit of an embuggerance trasing downstairs for a bit of paper.

But overall a very comfortable, pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Having read some less than enthusiastic reports about this hotel, I made my booking here with some trepidation. Contrary to expectations, the hotel was easy to find and adequately sign-posted. Sure it's on a hill, but what a pleasant stroll down or back, with so many interesting shops and builings along the way. And it's quirky layout adds to the charm, My room was comfortable by any standards, the bed firm, linen crisp and fresh, the staff pleasant. Bathrooms were comfortable and well appointed. Having forgotten to pack shampoo, I was forced to use (oh horrors) a hotel shampoo, and found it to be of great quality. At check-in, the male front office staffer was Italian charm personified, and a second reception taffer, a young lady this time, was professional, friendly and extremely informed about the city and the environs. I certainly wasnt aware of any intrusive traffic noises. Admittedly I was here on business, but even the conferencing facilities were top-notch, with bery attentive banquetting staff on stand-by. However, I've extended to do justice to the surroundings. I certainly have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone wanting to explore Umbria. It's a nice comfortable central base, and a very pleasant hotel to come home to after a day of exploring Umbria!

Room Tip: I stayed in the newer section, the Jazz section, and rate it very highly. The older section, the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mokum1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed here off-season, and enjoyed a sumptuous buffet breakfast (by European standards), and a nice room with small dining area and jetted bathtub. It is located about 1 mile up the hill from the train station, a healthy walk, but convenient to the bus lines, groceries and a nice neighboring cafe. The off-season rates were key to the great value we found. During or near the Jazz Festival in July, this hotel is buzzing and the rates are very high. However, it is close to Assisi, and located in the lower town. Makes for a nice 2-3 day sojourn.

Room Tip: Visit during late fall or early spring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dtlusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

- Very Noisy place, near high trafficked Roads.
- No good service : nobody tells you until when breakfast is served, don't be surprised if this is closed when you arrive.
- Beware what you're sold (swimming pool, wine service...) is not available all year. Hence High probability it will not be when you're here.
Bottom line : big fail if you have planned a romantic week end

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soapy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.6 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 65 in Perugia
1,215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 65 in Perugia
1,515 reviews
1.0 mi away
Etruscan Chocohotel
Etruscan Chocohotel
#11 of 65 in Perugia
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Quattrotorri Perugia
1.2 mi away
Perugia Plaza Hotel
Perugia Plaza Hotel
#26 of 65 in Perugia
464 reviews
5.0 mi away
Relais San Clemente
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area

Address: Via Ruggero d'Andreotto 19, 06124, Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range: $78 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel giò wine e jazz area is a hotel divided into two theme areas, dedicated to jazz and wine. The hotel is in the city centre of perugia, 1 km far away from the railway station, and 200 mt from the minimetrò station. You reach the historic centre in 5 minutes by minimetrò.From hotel giò you can reach the historic centre in 5 minutes by car or in 20 minutes on foot. In the hotel jazz lovers will find a music store and an auditorium with jazz concerts in different dates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gio Hotel Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing