We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Old Building”
Review of Hotel Fortuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fortuna
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful Old Building”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

As others have said it's a 13th century building with frescos on the ceilings - really gorgeous. Room is very basic and bathrooms need updating but it is also in a great position. There is a communal room upstairs for drinks etc and a rooftop garden. Breakfast is just OK - though a beautiful breakfast room. Free WiFi is terrible - only works 10% of the time. The smallest lift ever - lucky to fit two people with bags.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pphp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbergoFortuna, Direttore at Hotel Fortuna, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Sirs,
thanks for your sincerely words and to have enjoyed our terrace, many of our guests love to watch the sunset from our hotel!
You booked an Economy room with "basic" furniture but provided with all the services, we inform that we have also Standard rooms available with balcony or view on request and antique furnishings, maybe for the next time!
You are right, Wi-fi is free but we are surprised about you said, it is always available in all the rooms, the signal is generally powerful, the speed may depend on how many users are currently connected, in any case an Internet point is at disposal at the ground floor.
The size of the lift must respect the structure of the hotel and the regulations of the historic centers, we inform you, that at any time, our staff is available to assist you with your luggage.
Thanks to have appreciated our hotel.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    240
    64
    10
    11
See reviews for
70
231
31
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is a fine little hotel, in a great location, just off the main square. Friendly and helpful staff, with free Wi-Fi thrown in. Other reviewers have said that the Wi-Fi was sub-standard, but it's free, which is more than can be said for the big chain hotels. OK, breakfast was adequate, but considering the size of the hotel, what else does anyone expect. I'd recommend it.

Tip: Buy a bottle of wine (or two) from the shop across the street, and sit on the roof terrace with it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shug402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel is one block from the main historical area of Perugia, in a historical building. The hotel has seen better days, and the facilities have clearly not been updated in a long time. This includes what appears to be a non-functional but long-defunct heating system, which is still visible in the rooms and the hallways, and very dated furniture. The service is good, but the breakfast is terrible, composed almost exclusively of inexpensive packaged goods (nutella and jam in small packages, cereal, etc). The internet access through wi-fi, while free, is really sub-par, with frequent trouble connecting and, once connected, long gaps in loading webpages and reading/sending email. Disclaimer: this is the only hotel I've stayed in in Perugia, so this might be the norm in the old part of town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

A beautiful old building right in the centro storico yet in a very quiet medieval side street. Very good breakfast. bedroom very comfortable and spacious with a wonderful view, having paid a little more for a bigger room. Helpful and friendly staff , good dinner recommendations. Close to bus stops to station and escalator to main bus station

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the hills , worth paying a bit more for a bigger room and fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Spent one night in thus lovely little hotel. Lovely rooms. Ambience great! A easy walk to the whole historical center. Staff seemed sincerely friendly. Breakfast satisfactory. Wifi throughout. Really worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannelie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbergoFortuna, Direttore at Hotel Fortuna, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Sirs,
we are glad to receive your sincerely words.
We hope you could spend more days maybe next time, if you stay longer there are several offers-discounts available during the year and we will be at your disposal to choose the best room for you!
Thank you again. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

A remarkable 13th century building located in Perugia's historical district.Beautifully appointed guest rooms, arched stone roofs, frecos, beautiful wood floors, stunning breakfast room, fantastic library and roof top terrace. Every room that I visited was extremely clean. Reception staff is very friendly and helpful; breakfast staff not so much. This was by far the best hotel that we stayed in during our 2014 italy trip; and the least expensive by over $100/night.

Room Tip: Our friends had a 5th floor room with a terrace. Our room was to the front of the hotel along the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranunculalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbergoFortuna, Direttore at Hotel Fortuna, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear kind guests,

in a very few words you describe perfectly our building and its peculiarities, this hotel has a great history and we are very keen to recall it.
Also cleaning and hospitality are at the basis of our work , we try everyday to do the best, we thank you to have point it out.
We are extremely happy to have been your best hotel in Italy!
All the staff thank you and we hope to see you soon here in Perugia.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was a first trip to Perugia, so figuring out which hotel to book was a small challenge. With a central location as a primary factor, we chose Hotel Fortuna. The hotel is located just steps off the main street, Corso Vannuci and was a perfect location. The staff was very friendly and very helpful when it came to booking a tour of the Perugina Chocolate Factory. The room was spacious and clean and the bed comfortable. We had a room that faced the street and while you could hear people sometime, the noise was not a problem.Breakfast was your standard fare. The roof deck on the 5th floor was a wonderful place to sit and soak up the sun and the sights on a sunny day. Sunset from the roof deck was also quite impressive. Definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EL_BOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbergoFortuna, Direttore at Hotel Fortuna, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear kind guests from Boston,
we are so glad for your beautiful words...we hope that your stay at the Hotel Fortuna was pleasant and relaxing, we always try to make our guests feel "as at home".
We hope to welcome you again here, maybe in summertime!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.1 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosalba
Hotel Rosalba
#4 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosetta
Hotel La Rosetta
#32 of 66 in Perugia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Morlacchi
Albergo Morlacchi
#13 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortuna

Property: Hotel Fortuna
Address: Via Luigi Bonazzi 19, 06123, Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Perugia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortuna Hotel Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing