We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting hotel in good location”
Review of Hotel Fortuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fortuna
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
155 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Interesting hotel in good location”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hotel Fortuna contains some amazing medieval style furniture including a reading room. There is a computer for guest use, with wifi. We stayed here one night, a group of 5, in 3 separate rooms. All the rooms were amazing with paintings, furnishings (we had an antique writing desk), fridge, and a nice touch was the bowl of complimentary olives.
A short walk (past a great Irish pub) is the historic centre.
The breakfast room is well laid out with the usual continental choices as well as boiled eggs.
There is no carparking here, the hotel is on a narrow street that is blocked to traffic and we had the choice of parking our 3 vespas in their garaging for a fee or parking back along the road 500m. We chose to do this and they were fine overnight.

Room Tip: One of our party - single - had a room on an upper level that the lift did not go all the way up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nix51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    241
    65
    11
    11
See reviews for
70
235
32
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were 3 nights in Fortuna in March. Very much enjoyed our rooftop room (501) with glorious rooftop views.

Perfect location, close to regular bus stops (Piazza Italia) to and from the train station. Also right in the center of town with all shops, walks, and evening options.

We got a great walking map from the tourist office with 5 or 6 self-guided tours. Great, but you need good shoes for the steep streets.

Room Tip: Room 501 on the top floor is fantastic; Lift only goes to 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel Fortuna is situated in the historical centre of Perugia, just a few minutes walk away from the main historical sights and within easy reach of the escalators to the lower part of town and the mini metro. It is itself a historic building dating back to the Renaissance period and still having some historic features, although the accommodation itself has been modernised and is comfortable and more than adequate. There is a rooftop terrace with fine views over the city. Only breakfast is provided as a buffet with plenty of choice (though not a cooked English one, of course), but there are plenty of interesting and relatively inexpensive restaurants nearby. The staff are friendly and very helpful. As the roads are very narrow there is limited vehicular access, though our taxi was able to drop us and our luggage off OK.

Room Tip: The better views are obtained from the higher floors (there is a lift), but prices vary according to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Small but friendly and accommodations were wonderful when we were there. Location was great.
Walked to everything and nearby our favorite restaurant, La Taverna!!!! A must to eat at.
Staff was very helpful and went out of their way for us. We would definitely make every effort to stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms were wonderful. Small but sufficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loisgeisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I can only begin by saying that we were here for one night and I have no idea what all their other rooms are like, I can only speak as we found.
I'll not count against the Hotel Fortuna, the difficulty we had in finding it, it is after all, in the centre of a medieval city, just as we wanted, but please be warned it is not easy! Lovely to look at on a cold wet night in January with discreet lighting and creeper up the walls, one enters what can only be described as an 'intimate' reception area. The niceties, over we called the lift and were presented with our first wiff of disappointment. The lift, when it finally arrived, is straight out of the 1970's, finished, top to toe in brushed golden aluminium and with 'characterful' clanking doors and with room enough only for two with a hand bag.
Our room, what can I say, it was tired; tired wall paper, tired curtains, tired carpet. And all in a drab yellowish/dun colour scheme. And then the bathroom, ok it was clean, just. But everything was from the 1970's again and with glued on water barriers on the bath...
Perugia is a must. A stunning and romantic city, the Hotel Fortuna is living in the past and resting on laurel leaves that have long since withered.
Not to mention that it was by far the most expensive night of our month away.
If the management want some pointers as to how to cope with an ancient building in an historic city centre, may I suggest they visit the HOTEL BOLOGNA in PISA!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbergoFortuna, Direttore at Hotel Fortuna, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Sirs,
We are very sorry for your disappointment, we inform you that the hotel offers 52 rooms, all of them are very different from each other.
The building which houses the hotel dates back to the thirteenth century, therefore I hope you will understand all the technical and bureaucratic difficulties in building a lift larger than a standard one. Regarding the furniture the property is always looking for antiques, I understand not everyone likes the classic taste.
We invite to stay in our hotel in the next future, our staff is at your complete disposal for choosing a room that best suits your expectations. Thank you for your review, your opinion is very important.
Yours Sincerely. The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is one of the most romantic places we have had the pleasure of staying in in Italy.

We had a top story room with an amazing view from our little balcony looking over the hand made terracotta tiled rooftops. The room was quite roomy and very comfortable with a fully equipped ensuite. There is a restaurant downstairs with frescos still on the ceiling and the quaintest little lift only big enough for one person and a suitcase at a time. It is within walking distance to many great walks around the village. Just around the corner from the hotel is a sweet little cafe that specialises in hand made chocolates, even the boxes are chocolate and they make the best hot chocolate.

The hotel served us a wonderful afternoon tea on the rooftop balcony, this consisted of teas, coffees and a great selection of Italian pastries.

Room Tip: top story at the rear with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank womby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was my second visit to Hotel Fortuna, my first being 6 years ago. The rooms here are a good size, with plenty of space to put bags, and spread yourself out. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms large and very clean, and the furnishings quite nice. The rooms at the front of the hotel can be noisy due to pedestrians below, and Perugia being a student town, means there are a lot of people out very late. There are a couple of bars within 30 meters of the hotel so it can get quite crowded on the weekends. I wasn't so bothered with the windows closed... and ear plugs.

The sitting room on the third floor is beautiful and a great quiet to meet up with people, or read a book. Both times I've been at Fortuna, there hasn't been anyone other than my group using the room.

Breakfast is good, quite a few choices of breads, pastries and the usual Italian carb breakfast fare. There are also boiled eggs, cheese, cold meats, a few types of cereal and juices. The coffee is better than average for a hotel, and after the second day the follow that works in the breakfast room knew exactly how I wanted it.

This is a good comfortable hotel which is well run. My only complaint is we often felt like we were disturbing the staff at the front desk. They were not rude, just distant. I would certainly use this hotel again though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photo_gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 66 in Perugia
1,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#6 of 66 in Perugia
1,140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosalba
Hotel Rosalba
#5 of 66 in Perugia
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosetta
Hotel La Rosetta
#32 of 66 in Perugia
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Morlacchi
Albergo Morlacchi
#14 of 66 in Perugia
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Locanda della Posta - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortuna

Property: Hotel Fortuna
Address: Via Luigi Bonazzi 19, 06123, Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Perugia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortuna Hotel Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing