We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We started our Italian vacation with a three day stay in Perugia and the Sangallo was the perfect choice! Vicinity to historic center was perfect. We enjoyed returning toour balcony each night that overlooked the church of San Domenico. The room and hotel was very clean. Our stay at the hotel and in Perugia was greatly enhanced by the level of service and personal touch offered by Umberto and Concietta at the San Gallo. They were very kind and offered great suggestions that made our stay a truly great experience! We fully recommend this hotel and the beautiful city of Perugia!

Room Tip: A room with a balcony facing the main churches is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    517
    146
    32
    10
See reviews for
274
627
69
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Huge room with separate little sitting room, excellent bathroom, spotless room with huge comfy bed. Lovely views over countryside. Good location for buses to Siena and to railway station. A short walk and a ride up through the escalator system takes you to the historical centre of Perugia. Decent breakfast, free wi fi and sky tv in room. Indoor pool which I didn't use but looked clean and inviting. If eating in the hotel restaurant I recommend the vegetable. Soup and the tagliatelle with duck ragout.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at this lovely hotel for the 2013 Umbria Jazz Festival 10-12 July, as did my family and members of our high school jazz band. The location was excellent, a short walk to both the main stage and the escalators to upper Perugia. The room was very nice, clean, comfortable, quiet, and the breakfast was filling. I was most impressed, however, with the staff. They were accommodating and friendly. Concetta helped me with directions and transportation. She was so nice, I felt like I had known her a long time and trusted her advice. I would come back to this hotel and highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and the staff will accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clawedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is ideal to explore Perugia - it is an escalator away from old town - sounds odd maybe if you don't know Perugia but the hotel is at the bottom of hill and you travel up escalator to top where you arrive in the old town on the Main Street in 5mins.

Hotel breakfast was included - it was relatively standard for Europe but enjoyable - basics included of bread, cheese, cereal, cakes! Lovely coffee too.

Rooms were a little dated but clean and tidy - felt comfortable and had a good night sleep. Stayed on fifth floor and had nice balcony.

Good value for money too - 297 Euro for two for three nights.

Would stay at this hotel again definitely if I visited the town again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifesBigAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great room and facilities. Made my family and I feel very welcome and offered lots of helpful advice.

Provided unbelievable support to resolve a local traffic issue almost a year after our stay !

Cannot recommend highly enough

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good location for jazz festival, in between the big arena and Giardini Carducci with free music all day and evening. Walking distance to the historic centre.
We had a room with a very nice small balcony where we could listen to the jazz music from the big areana and look at the fantastic view of the town and landscape aorund.
The breakfast was OK, but if you want to skip the breakfast and sleep instead, the staff in the hotel starts calling you on phone and knocking on your door just to make sure you wake up despite that we had selected "DO NOT DISTURB" on the door. We would not recommend this hotel for people allergic to dust because we found a thick layer of house dust underneath the bed. We have travelled a lot and are used to friendly and service minded staff but this hotel is different. As all hotels in Italy, the beds was very hard.

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2_music_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My friend and I just returned from Italy. We spent five nights at the Sangallo Palace Hotel in Perugia.
We had a great experience there. The reception staff was welcoming and helpful especially Umberto
and the two Andre's. We had several problems come up not connected with the hotel and they went
out of their way to help us, They made excellent suggestions on ways to get around the area.
The location is not in old town but just at the base of it across from the bus station and near the
escalator tunnel which leads you right up into the city center of Perugia. Our room was clean and
comfortable. If you want a soft bed however you will be disappointed. The breakfast area is light and
roomy and there are lots of selections. I highly recommend the Sangallo Palace where I feel we
made some nice friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlefleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#6 of 66 in Perugia
1,140 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
812 reviews
3.4 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 66 in Perugia
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosalba
Hotel Rosalba
#5 of 66 in Perugia
207 reviews
4.8 mi away
Relais San Clemente
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#18 of 66 in Perugia
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sangallo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sangallo Palace Hotel

Property: Sangallo Palace Hotel
Address: Via Luigi Masi 9, 06121, Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Perugia
#2 Business Hotel in Perugia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sangallo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel in the center of it all! Our beautifully renovated Sangallo Palace Hotel is located in the historical centre of Perugia a short stroll from the fascinating and historic Rocca Paolina Fortress. Visit the monuments and tourist attractions of the city centre on foot; relax in the covered swimming pool and use the fully equipped gym that the hotel offers you; enjoy the genuine Umbrian cuisine in our well known Restaurant "Il Sangallo". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sangallo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sangallo Palace
Sangallo Palace Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing