We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 4-star hotel with a 5-star service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My friends and I stayed at the Sangallo for an entire week during the last week of August. Perugia was our base for various trips around Umbria and Toscana.

We certainly don’t regret our decision to book the Sangallo! We paid for a 4-star hotel and we got our money’s worth – and much more.

The Sangallo is centrally located. A few metres up the road there are escalators taking you up to the centre of Perugia. The escalators are open from 6am to 2am – very safe to use and free. There is a bus terminus just across the road from the hotel. The hotel is near a busy street but we all slept soundly at night.

ALL hotel staff were helpful and courteous – even the chefs. We asked for a varied Umbrian/Tuscan dinner each day and Piero, the ever-helpful restaurant manager, ensured just that. We preferred the red house wine but their wine list is quite adequate.

Don’t forget your swimsuit or gym-wear – the hotel has a well-equipped gym in floor -2. I have been to some 4-star hotels in Brussels and London but this 4-star hotel beats them all in terms of equipment (not to mention hygiene). We used to head to the indoor pool - which has a counter-current swimming and water jet, and a jacuzzi – nearly every day.

Our rooms were spotless – and maintained so every single day. Linen was changed every single day! The TV had around 50 channels in English, German, Turkish, Chinese and English. But who would want spend time watching TV in Perugia!? There is a safe in each room. We did not have an electric kettle in the room, however.

The breakfast. Some of my friends rarely have breakfast but they expect a 5-star breakfast when on holiday. Sangallo met their expectations without reserve. They have good coffee (unlike what has been stated in previous posts). Won’t comment on the choice of top nosh on offer. It meets the expectations of fussy travelers too. If you have special dietary requirements, inform the restaurant crew. Will not comment on the different types of cakes, muffins and tarts on offer each day. Sinful - but you burn the calories quite easily when walking up steep climbs which characterise many Umbrian towns and villages.

The Sangallo is a 4-star hotel with a 5-star service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geobez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We arrived to Sangallo and got a room on the fifth floor with a balcony which was very nice indeed. There are all sorts of buttons and knobs which we never really fully understood but that just added to the charm of this family run hotel (I think). You never expect a pool in a place like this but drop down to the basement and there you go, complete with full gym and wave machine, no less. Breakfast really needs to be improved but that's the only complaint I have with the place. I left my shirt there and the hotel agreed to post it home to Ireland for me. That's the kind of place you come back to. Perugia is an amazing place and this hotel made it all the better. Oh, go up to the terrace on the fifth floor for jaw-dropping views of Umbria.
The poor reviews of this hotel are ridiculous. People say they were expecting an actual palace... the mind boggles.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSprx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

If you are considering to stay for one night, then this hotel will be fine. Good location, good service and not that expensive. The Perugia itself is a beautiful city with good restaurants and place to go. But 2 days are enough to walk around and enjoy the atmosphere.

The hotel is not the cleanest one, but not dirty. But the room service is somehow stupid - they start to clean up the rooms at 8am, incl. vacuum cleaning!!! Considering the location (above a main street - the hotel is a bridge!), you won't get a good sleep there... :(

The breakfast is below average, just a continental one...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klmasoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I agree with what the previous reviewer (lyricdude) said about the breakfast - food offering is meagre and of low quality; table cloth, though not terribly dirty, was not changed; air-conditioning is weak in the breakfast room but one can open the windows to cool down the room somewhat. Dinner at the same restaurant is however tasty, abundant in quantity and served with a smile.

My room has a logical layout and a nice terrace with a table, 2 chairs and a view of the valley. Please note the hotel does not have boxed tissue, a feature normally available in North American hotels.

I give the hotel 4 stars because of two things: (1) free unlimited WIFI in the lobby, on the hotel terrace and in the restaurant; and (2) the amazing gentleman on duty at the reception. He handles check-in matters and requests for WIFI passwords, takes phone calls, as well as serves drinks at the lobby bar, all with humour and a smile.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank HappyhkTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

What a disapointment. We spent 3 nights in this hotel this summer. It is well located (outside of the city center, but walking distance from the mechanical stairs that bring you in the old city. The rooms are "not too bad" but not the cleanest ones. Upon arrival, we were given a room that was not cleaned. We changed, and had a room that was "OK", still not the cleanest one (hairs left in the bathtop, and on the bathroom floor...). Air conditioning is old technology (somewhat noisy). But the worse part is the breakfast. No fresh food, everything that is on the buffet is packed processed food. In August, we could not even have fresh fruits, only half rotten apples...The tea is made "by the bucket" and has absolutely no taste, it is just coloured water. We asked for a tea pot and hot water (we bought our own tea bags, hoping to make our tea) - the staff refused to give it to us...No air conditioning in the breakfast room, a TV screams loudly commercials, when you kindly ask to lower the volume, the person making the service was extremely unpleasant. The worse part is that the breakfast room was very dirty - table cloth were dirty when we arrived, and not changed when we left after 3 nights... You had to select a table where the table cloth was not too much with stains, and to cover this dirty table cloth with paper napkins...all that done by yourself as the staff did not care, and was talking in the kitchen most of the time. Overall, this was not a good experience. This hotel barely deserves a 2 star - avoid it when you go to Perugia.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lyricdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stay 2 days in July 2012 in Hotel Sangallo Palace in Perugia.

The hotel has an excelent location, near historical center at 5 minutes to go on the foot.

PEURGIA is an oustanding medieval city, with a lot of historical and cultural attraction and with very pitoresque streets and buildings. In recommend to make a tour of a city with the City Bus.

The staff of hotel was very helpfull an the room was very good, having all ameninities necessary for a confortable living.

The terace of this hotel has a nice view in a piazza.

For relaxing the hotel have a nice pool.

Only thing that can be improved is the breakfast. We expect to be a more rich than was offer.

I recommend this hotel for a holiday in Perugia.

Radu Cataniciu - Romania

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radu_cataniciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent 2 nights here on our tour of Tuscanny. Excellent location for getting to see all that Perugia has to offer. Very nice room, friendly staff, indoor pool, fitness center, free WIFI. I would stay here again. Very clean & tidy operation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 65 in Perugia
1,192 reviews
3.4 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#4 of 65 in Perugia
728 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#17 of 65 in Perugia
534 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Quattrotorri Perugia
4.8 mi away
Relais San Clemente
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sangallo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sangallo Palace Hotel

Address: Via Luigi Masi 9, 06121, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Perugia
#2 Business Hotel in Perugia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range: $106 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sangallo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel in the center of it all! Our beautifully renovated Sangallo Palace Hotel is located in the historical centre of Perugia a short stroll from the fascinating and historic Rocca Paolina Fortress. Visit the monuments and tourist attractions of the city centre on foot; relax in the covered swimming pool and use the fully equipped gym that the hotel offers you; enjoy the genuine Umbrian cuisine in our well known Restaurant "Il Sangallo". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sangallo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sangallo Palace
Sangallo Palace Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing