We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Sina Brufani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sina Brufani
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Perugia was our last city to visit during our honeymoon in Italy and Brufani Palace made it all more romantic and heavenly!
A true 5 star experience in every way, from the hotel location to the beautiful, spacious suite, amazing breakfast buffet and last but not least, one-of-a-kind amenity - a pool with a glass floor that reveals 3,000-year-old Etruscan ruins! Breathtaking!
Upon our arrival, we immediately got upgraded from a superior room to a junior suite as we where on our honeymoon. As we have booked a special offer directly from their web site, we had a complimentary three course dinner accompanied with a bottle of excellent Italian wine and a ticket to 5 museums and art exhibitions in Perugia.
Do not miss the opportunity to stay at this luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarijanaTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitata, Direttore generale at Sina Brufani, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2011

Dear Guest,

I am very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Let me thank you for the preference given to our hotel and for the time spent for your feedback .
Looking forwatd to welcoming you again in our hotel, we remain with our

Kindest regards

The General Manager and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2011

We were spending a week in Tuscany and Umbria in January, and decided to stay in Perugia. I will candidly admit that one of the things which drew me to stay in Perugia (rather than other towns or cities) was the chance to take a dip in the indoor pool. (Not many places to swim indoors in the middle of January, and it's always something we enjoy when touring around.) The Brufani was excellently located, we had a very nice room, the service and food were great, and the pool was terrific. The hotel is nicely located in the old town, allowing one to walk to all of the important locations in the old city. The highlight of the stay was swimming in the pool -- which includes some glass panels in the bottom of the pool to show off the Etruscan ruins on which the hotel is built. It was a great place to relax after walking around all day in Assisi and Perugia.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djlawman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitata, Direttore generale at Sina Brufani, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2011

Dear Guest,

let me thank you for the preference given to our hotel and for your kind comments about your stay with us.
I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

With our kindest regards.

The General Manager and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

I would support all previous reviews that the views, location and staff are five star.

My reason for only four stars is that there is an air of grandeur but no opulence either in the common areas or in our room – a grand suite. The hotel is a bit tired. The bar area is a real weakness and both it and the restaurant lacked atmosphere. As we were here in November this is probably to be expected. Food OK not great.

However the dinner, bed and breakfast rate was such great value I would not hesitate in recommending it. If I were to return to Perugia I would unhesitatingly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fleetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitata, Direttore generale at Sina Brufani, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2011

Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive comments concerning your stay with us and for mentioning some aspects that needs to be improved.
Please, rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to improve the areas you mentioned.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

With our kindest regards.

The General Manager and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

The only thing We did not like was the Ferris Weel right in front of the entrance of this beautiful Hotel. A real 5 stars, all the way. Thanks to Carmela for the wonderful suggestions (la taverna, see review) and for her smiles. See you again. Jasleen.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank punnim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitata, General Manager at Sina Brufani, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Brufani Palace. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

The General Manager and all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

This Hotel is a must for travelers to Perugia and Umbria. We had a suite facing the hills of Umbria and the view is magnificent. There is a indoor pool built on Etruscan ruines, probably unique in the world. Location is perfect. Special thank you to the front desk for suggesting a wonderful restaurant for dinner, La Taverna. We had the best meal in Italy and they took very good care of us.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocoa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitata, General Manager at Sina Brufani, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

it is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for the time spent to write your positive comments.

Please, consider myself and all my team at your total disposal for serving you again in the future.

With our kindest regards

The General Manager and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We had a wonderful stay, 2 nights, in the middle of chocoexpo. The hotel is very pristine and the rooms are great. We had one facing the valley and the view was breathtaking. The staff at the front desk is very helpful. After making the mistake of choosing our own restaurant for dinner the first night (WINE BARTOLO, TERRIBLE!) we asked Ms. Carmela for a suggestion and she send us at La Taverna. THE BEST! We had the best dinner in our 2 weeks trip to Italy. Wish we asked the first night. Beautiful restaurant and the entire crew, including the chef, took good care of us. For sure next year we will be back at Brufani Palace and La taverna. Thank you Carmela, you made our stay memorable

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelfan033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitata, General Manager at Sina Brufani, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

let me thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Brufani Palace.

I will share your comments with my team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your positive review.

We look forward to host you again in the future and thank you once again for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Perugia.

Sincerely,

The General Manager and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Like most people, I would normally spend sometime to search for the ideal hotel to stay before we plan for our Italian holidays. My 3 main criterion are always the same - central location, quiet for a good night's sleep and Italian charm. This hotel ticked all the 3 boxes, and more!

And when I learnt that the Brufani Palace is the only 5 star hotel in Perugia, I took to it immediately, wasting no time in booking a stay here for our first two nights of a 9 night first Umrbian trip. Being a true 5 star hotel, we thought its prices were very reasonable, too.

But even experienced travellers like myself made mistakes - choosing to arrive in Italy on a Sunday where buses and train schedules are at lower frequencies than usual. After arriving in Foligno by train from Rome, the next connecting train was about 2 hours away, jet lagged, we took a taxi at the station and negotiated for a fixed 65 euros rate to Perugia.

Not being able to find the Brufani upon arrival in Perugia, we were let off near the Scala Mobili (escalators) near the San Gallo Hotel. After some interesting view of the excavation works near the escalators, we arrived directly opposite the Brufani, some 10 minutes later. Carmela, the ever helpful Receptionist, upon knowing that we had booked the stay under its website's Romantic Package, upgraded us from the Junior suite to a full fledged suite, it was the lovely room 235.

The suite was spacious enough, with separate sitting area from the sleeping area (however, no doors in between them). A walk-in closet was available just before entering the marbled bathroom with a shower cubicle and a jacuzzi tub. Everything was decorated in yellow and red, my favourite colours, and walls were covered in silk cloth. Chandeliers and bella wall lamps abound. A small standing room only balcony then offers the best view of Umbria - a sweeping 180 degree unblocked view of 4 small mountains and 3 valleys, it was sublime!

A bottle of premium Possecco and some nuts and chips were waiting for us in the suite, part of the Package, nice! There was also a fax machine, ipod station, 2 Philips flat screen TV, 3 English TV channels and most importantly, soft and comfy beds, not hard at all! Do request for harder pillows, though. Turn down service with chocolates and the weather forecast for the next day - what more could you ask?

An included 3 course dinner (choose whatever you like from the menu, it can be antipasto, seconda main and dessert or antipasto, pasta and seconda main). We chose the second option and much regretted our choice because the portions were too large and we didn't have any more space for desserts! Food was pretty good, however, overly saltish, just tell them before hand to 'lower the salt content'!

The location of the Hotel is really superb, you are literally 3-5 minutes from the Palazzo dei Priori (where there are 4 lovely museums), the Duomo , lots of restaurants and tons of shopping! Common areas are also in line with the Classical Italian decor, which is my favourite, I mean why stay in a modern hotel while in Italy, waking up and asking oneself - am I in Hong Kong or in Taiwan? Lastly, do not miss its lovely and yet cosy Swimming Pool, you will be in for a surprise view of some Estrucan ruins while you swim, open from 7am onwards - great idea for jet lagged early risers!

Small glitches of this lovely Hotel are - there are charges for Wifi and its breakfast, frankly speaking, is not up to a 5 star Hotel's standard. But we are no breakfast people, so no big deal. There were also some traffic noises during the day for suite 235, being next to a road, but sound proofing was good and we slept very well indeed.

Go ahead and book it, Carmela and Nicole will take good care of you. Lastly, do your maths and you would soon realised that their Romantic Package is of superb value for your money ....

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitata, General Manager at Sina Brufani, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Brufani Palace. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

The General Manager and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 65 in Perugia
1,511 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
856 reviews
3.4 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#3 of 65 in Perugia
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
500 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Quattrotorri Perugia
4.9 mi away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Brufani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Brufani

Address: Piazza Italia 12, 06121, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#3 Spa Hotel in Perugia
#3 Business Hotel in Perugia
#4 Family Hotel in Perugia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range: $153 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sina Brufani 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a panoramic position in the heart of Perugia, the Sina Brufani boasts an ancient tradition in the luxury hospitality, and from 1884 it is the home of royalty and celebrities from all over of the world. Since then it is the only 5-star hotel in Perugia, and some parts of the Hotel are protected by the Ministry of Cultural Heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sina Brufani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brufani Palace Perugia
Hotel Brufani Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing