We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,338)
Filter reviews
1,338 results
Traveler rating
815
353
116
36
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
815
353
116
36
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsetruscan ruinsglass bottomqueen motherupgraded to a suitegrand hotelunderground swimmingold townold world charmthe general managerelegant hotelumbrian valleystar hotelbuffet breakfastold styleking bedswimming poolperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
546 - 551 of 1,338 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2008

We stayed in a deluxe suite which had the awesome views over the valley. The room itself was clean, neat and tidy. However the decor and funiture is rather dated and in need of an overall. There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and this is unlike other 5 star rated hotels the world over. The only English medium channels were CNN and BBC news channels. There was no pay per view either. Breakfasts were a disaster with the kitchen staff unable to even produce an omellete. The room service menu did not include basics such as burgers, sandwiches, chicken wings, pizza etc. The staff could just manage speaking in English.

We would certainly not stay here again. We only stay in 5-star hotels and choose hotels that are members of the Leading Hotels of the World Group. This hotel seemed to fit the bill but was a total disappointment.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jowies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

The Brufani Palace is an old fashioned 5 star hotel. It's tired and a little worn and some of the staff simply don't care about providing a service.

We stayed in a junior suite for 2 nights. It was a large room. The house keeping was good to very good. The views were great. The bed very comfortable. The decor although not to my taste was what you'd expect in this kind of grand old hotel.

The problems were in the public areas which were tired and sometimes scruffy. Some areas weren't clean and on our floor dirty wine glasses were left on a table for nearly 24hours. Some staff were charming - an older chap in the restaurant, a young man and a woman in the bar were particularly nice. However, many staff couldn't care. A booking i requested was simply not made. When i asked about a price for a spa treatment no one bothered to get back.

Almost no one said good morning or evening or good night - so strange in italy.

I can't put my finger on it but we paid a lot of money for the room and I simply felt i was not getting value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank talkative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, General Manager at Sina Brufani, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2008

Dear Sir/Madame,

first of all we would like to tank you for taking the time and trouble in posting your comments that are indeed welcome and very helpful in constantly improving the high level of standards that you've had the opportunity to experience in other Sina properties.
Please accept our sincerest apologies for all inconveniences experienced during your stay at the Brufani Palace, we hope to have you back in the near future with the promise that we will make your stay a memorable one.

Yours Sincerely
Enrico Costa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

We have just returned from an 8 night stay at the Brufani in Perugia and are still smiling from ear to ear as we we recount our experiences. The staff were all wonderful, welcoming and extremely helpful. My brother (who has special needs) had his birthday made very special by the Resturant team on our last evening - the cake they presented us with was so magnificent it has already become the stuff of family legend! The Reception team were also great helping us with a variety of queries and with parking our hire car. Parking in Perugia is a bit of a nightmare so this became an important consideration. The rooms are beautifully furnished and quite large for a historic building. The location is perfect, right in the centre of the town and also enjoys magnificent views from most of its rooms. I only have one small complaint and that is with regard to their breakfast - it is very basic and disappointing compared to everything else about the hotel which is truly wonderful - but this wouldn't stop me going back or recommending it in future. Thank you Brufani for a truly great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheshireJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

During our stay in Italy, me and my wife went to the GREAT hotel BRUFANE PALACE, in PERUGIA, where the staff gave us a special treatment, in a way that we felt we where the most important people in the world.

We must also register that the staff guaranteed a unique journey in Perugia, with a treatment that was gave to us really kindly: just to example, a great champagne in my room, after the check-in with a upgrade to the great suite.

About the restaurant, what is that? Perfect!!! We had a dinner in our marriage birthday and they provide us a small gift: a cake to say congratulations because of the date.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nunes-MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2007

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and couldn't be more pleased.

In short, this place is in the best location, the staff are great, the rooms are lovely (in a grand Italian way) and the pool was a really good considering the hotel is in the centre of a very old town centre. The pool is underground and looks like it's in a cave/cellar... I really liked it!

If you can afford it, this is a great hotel

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank k8modlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews