We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wine tour/tasting at the first zero greenhouse-emissions farm in Italy”

Castello Monte Vibiano Vecchio
Ranked #15 of 136 things to do in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: From June 2010 there is one more reason to visit Umbria: Monte Vibiano's eco-tours are the key to discover the secrets of its worldwide-famous wines and olive oil while touring its spectacular estate in central Italy. All tours are conducted aboard electric vehicles around Monte Vibiano, the first 0 greenhouse-emissions farm in Italy. Visitors gather at the wine cellar in the valley and from here they board electric vehicles for a ride to the nearby hills and fields, across hectares of vineyards and olive groves. There is always something happening here, no matter the time of the year: from picking grapes for Monte Vibiano's refined red and whites, to hand-picking olives from century-old trees, the eco-tours are always a chance to observe exciting aspects of life in the fields. The highlight of the visit is a stop at 'vigna Lorenzo', a jaw-dropping vineyard extending for several hectares, a natural jewel that takes its name from that of Monte Vibiano's CEO, Lorenzo Fasola Bologna. From 'Vigna Lorenzo' visitors can see the historic Monte Vibiano castle towering over the valley: it is 2,000-year-old and currently the home of the Fasola Bologna family, owners of Monte Vibiano. With a descent to the valley, the electric vehicles return to the wine cellar and the brand new "Green Wine Bar", made of recycled materials. Here it is possible to taste Monte Vibiano's exquisite wines and bruschetta, seasoned with the company's signature frozen olive oil. The "Green Wine Bar" is inspired by Monte Vibiano's ecological mission and designed by Monte Carlo designer Maryam Fasola Bologna with old woods and hundreds of unused corks.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic wine tour/tasting at the first zero greenhouse-emissions farm in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We are originally from California and have been living in France, so we know about wine tours and tastings! But these people have something special here - land and a castle that have been in the family for 4 generations - plus a passion to produce excellent products (wine and olive oil) with ZERO greenhouse-emissions - and they have the credentials to prove it. We were 2 couples - told to hop into an electric jeep and follow our tour guide as she drove up the hill. Off we went! Up at the top, our guide Manuela told us of the family's history and a bit about the vineyard and the olive trees growing there. Then it was back down the hill for a tour of the giant stainless steel vats and the oak barrels, then on to the tasting room in a marvelous large space - so broad and inviting. We had the great good fortune to get to meet and chat with the owner, Lorenzo - who could not have been nicer. Everything about this experience was first class - from the delicious wines presented, to the fresh, fresh olive oil served, to the way we were treated. Needless to say, we bought wine and olive oil there to take with us. But you can also order online - they ship all over the world. I would definitely recommend spending a couple hours here - it was a wonderful experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    13
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great outing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We booked this tour at short notice but were welcomed and shown around the winery and the estate in electric jeeps. This is a unique wine tasting tour for Italy and is completely free and we had a wonderful afternoon. The wines are not too expensive and they are presented in a beautiful tasting room. You can have a good time here on a rainy day or a baking hot day. The views from the vineyards are amazing. We shall certainly return next time we have friends visiting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting tour, fabulous wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Though I heard it is the first of its kind, I was initially skeptical of the eco credentials but the friendly guide (whose English was good) explained what a unique and leading place it really is. If you've been to a vineyard before, some of it might be familiar, but it's still enjoyable to be driven in an electric buggy to the vines that date from 100BC and look round and experience it. Then the tasting: three delicious wines and olive oil that made us want to buy a whole crate if only we weren't flying by Ryanair!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best wine tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

How much would you pay to get an electric car tour of Umbria, visit a 2,000 year old vineyard, and finish with a table full of cheeses, fresh olive oil on bruschettas, and taste variety of wines?
How about nothing?

The montevibiano eco-tour is the proof that there is such a thing as free lunch - and a great lunch.

All they ask is that you consider buying from their wines and olive oil ( which we did - both) at the conclusion of the tour.

Our host Emanuela ( or was it Manuela?) gave us such a great time. My wife and I were the only visitors late in the afternoon and we felt as if we could spend there the entire evening with no rush to leave.

Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ablich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piegaro, Italy
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“The place blessed by Bacchus where legend and reality meet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I am also blessed to live within twenty minutes of this amazing place! We take our guests once a week for the tour and tasting when they arrive and it is the highlight of their visit to Umbria. That a tour and tasting of this calibre is offered free is a testament to the care and passion that the owners, Andrea and Lorenzo Fasola-Bologna feel for their pristine piece of paradise. This is the only carbon-neutral olive and wine producers in the world, all power is solar energy, thousands of trees have been planted to cleanse the air, and only organic methods are used. All pruning and harvesting is done by hand. The special vineyard located beneath this noble family's castle that we visit in electric jeeps is ancient, dating to 217 B.C. Legend has it that an Etuscan woman, Vubia, was tending her grapes here when Hannibal prepared to battle the Romans in nearby Lago Trasimeno. Her two young sons were conscripted by the passing Romans. Receiving word that Hannibal had defeated the Romans in quite a roust, she promised Bacchus, god of the vine, that she would dedicate her vineyard to him if they returned safely home. They did and she built a wall around the vineyard. Visitors can see that wall today. To sit on the steps of Vubia's gate and look out over this historic vineyard is to be transported in time. Legend and reality meet neat; myth and the most advanced techiques for making wine and olive oil combine together to create the finest wines and olive oil I have ever tasted. Sitting on the wine terrace surrounded by vineyards and sunflower fields on a summer day with a glass of chilled white Maria Camilla or the sublime and highly nuanced L'Andrea red is a day spent in heaven. We have been visiting the vineyard and cantina since they opened to the public four years ago and we look forward each year to come again...and again...and again. The tour, their olive oil, the one white, four reds and this coming year a true rose' and the freshest olive oil is not to be missed. The lovely ladies who give the tours are very knowledgeable about the production techniques and they speak several languages. Children are welcome too. Very reasonable prices for oil and wine and the tour and tasting is free.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ColleeninPiegaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello Monte Vibiano Vecchio also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Castello Monte Vibiano Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing