We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Umbrian Delight”

Castello Monte Vibiano Vecchio
Ranked #16 of 138 things to do in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: From June 2010 there is one more reason to visit Umbria: Monte Vibiano's eco-tours are the key to discover the secrets of its worldwide-famous wines and olive oil while touring its spectacular estate in central Italy. All tours are conducted aboard electric vehicles around Monte Vibiano, the first 0 greenhouse-emissions farm in Italy. Visitors gather at the wine cellar in the valley and from here they board electric vehicles for a ride to the nearby hills and fields, across hectares of vineyards and olive groves. There is always something happening here, no matter the time of the year: from picking grapes for Monte Vibiano's refined red and whites, to hand-picking olives from century-old trees, the eco-tours are always a chance to observe exciting aspects of life in the fields. The highlight of the visit is a stop at 'vigna Lorenzo', a jaw-dropping vineyard extending for several hectares, a natural jewel that takes its name from that of Monte Vibiano's CEO, Lorenzo Fasola Bologna. From 'Vigna Lorenzo' visitors can see the historic Monte Vibiano castle towering over the valley: it is 2,000-year-old and currently the home of the Fasola Bologna family, owners of Monte Vibiano. With a descent to the valley, the electric vehicles return to the wine cellar and the brand new "Green Wine Bar", made of recycled materials. Here it is possible to taste Monte Vibiano's exquisite wines and bruschetta, seasoned with the company's signature frozen olive oil. The "Green Wine Bar" is inspired by Monte Vibiano's ecological mission and designed by Monte Carlo designer Maryam Fasola Bologna with old woods and hundreds of unused corks.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Umbrian Delight”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Our group of 4 had the hotel call and arrange a visit last minute and they were very accommodating. One in our group worried the jeep tour would be rough so we skipped the vineyard tour and just toured the winery and tasting bar. The wines were very good and there was a nice assortment from simple (we called "breakfast wine") to the more complex L'Andrea which was a pure delight with the wonderful hard cheese that was paired with it. Loved their Olive oil and had to take some home. The wines were very reasonably priced and we took some to enjoy before we left Italy. Cudos to this winery for their "Zero CO2 emissions" status. BRAVO!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    13
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great tour.”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Our family group of 12 with ages ranging from 3 to 77 took this tour and all of us had a great time. We arrived very early but Manuela came out to meet us as we parked up and got the off road buggies ready for us to head straight off. Her English was superb and she included the youngsters as well as giving us a lovely insight to the vineyard. On returning to the bottom of the hill we were shown around the process and the cellar before going into the green bar for tasting. This is a lovely area to relax in while tasting their wines and oils. Manuela was great in giving us the information we needed but allowing us time and space to enjoy the generous measures and take in the surroundings.
I can't comment on the quality of the wines, as I am no expert, but we all liked them and brought some at very reasonable prices with no pressure to buy even though it is a free tour.
This was the best wine tour we have done and well worth visiting.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Montevibiano, the wine blessed by Bacchus”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

If I could summarize my visit to Montevibiano in one word it would have to be WOW. Started with a morning stroll on the beautiful land in front of the castle just before our tour at the winery. I will never forget the scent of olive trees and the sun rising colouring the sky in different shades of red & orange reminding me of the warm fireplace from our winter cottage in Sweden. Arriving at the wine tour our entire group was amazed of the history of Montevibiano as well as the fact that it is the only winery in the world that is 100% environmentally friendly and a carbon neutral farm. We actually bumped into the Lorenzo, the son of the italian wine family. Hearing the stories directly from him made it even more memborable, what a nice (goodlooking btw) gentleman. He must have convinced Bacchus to bless his wineyard because the taste of their red wine was FANTASTIC! I brought a few bottles of l´Andrea wine back home and since then I of course continue to buy it from their website. I can highly recommend a tour at the winery and for sure a stroll around the castle in the morning or when the sun sets.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank PAMfromsweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great wine experience”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Castello Montevibiano is one of the best wine experiences I ever have had - especially due to the wonderful wine L'Andrea. The wine has been nicely aged and has kept maturity with a fruity and servere elegance. 2005, 2006 and 2007 tested with rather small variances. Aeration of this wine I found was important.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
210 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“great experience, great wine”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

today we had the pleasure of spending a morning at this vineyard, although described as an eco tour it is more of a winery tour. our terrific guide Melaine took us up the mountain in an electric jeep. She described the winery and told us about the grape and olive production. She was both pleasant and informative and spoke both in English and Italian. The trip up the hill has great views, we then went back to the winery where she explained the process of turning the grapes into wine. The best part however was tasting the different wines and olive oils produced here. The tasting room is wonderful, decorated with the wine barrels that have been used. The view is great, I would love to attend a wedding there. We tasted one white, three red wines relaxed listening to music . We tasted olive oil and cheese from Todi. There is no charge for this great tour. We did however purchase some wine and olive oil. If you have a car and enjoy great wine, be sure to go

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank italiancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello Monte Vibiano Vecchio also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Castello Monte Vibiano Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing