We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Montevibiano, the wine blessed by Bacchus”

Castello Monte Vibiano Vecchio
Ranked #15 of 136 things to do in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: From June 2010 there is one more reason to visit Umbria: Monte Vibiano's eco-tours are the key to discover the secrets of its worldwide-famous wines and olive oil while touring its spectacular estate in central Italy. All tours are conducted aboard electric vehicles around Monte Vibiano, the first 0 greenhouse-emissions farm in Italy. Visitors gather at the wine cellar in the valley and from here they board electric vehicles for a ride to the nearby hills and fields, across hectares of vineyards and olive groves. There is always something happening here, no matter the time of the year: from picking grapes for Monte Vibiano's refined red and whites, to hand-picking olives from century-old trees, the eco-tours are always a chance to observe exciting aspects of life in the fields. The highlight of the visit is a stop at 'vigna Lorenzo', a jaw-dropping vineyard extending for several hectares, a natural jewel that takes its name from that of Monte Vibiano's CEO, Lorenzo Fasola Bologna. From 'Vigna Lorenzo' visitors can see the historic Monte Vibiano castle towering over the valley: it is 2,000-year-old and currently the home of the Fasola Bologna family, owners of Monte Vibiano. With a descent to the valley, the electric vehicles return to the wine cellar and the brand new "Green Wine Bar", made of recycled materials. Here it is possible to taste Monte Vibiano's exquisite wines and bruschetta, seasoned with the company's signature frozen olive oil. The "Green Wine Bar" is inspired by Monte Vibiano's ecological mission and designed by Monte Carlo designer Maryam Fasola Bologna with old woods and hundreds of unused corks.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Montevibiano, the wine blessed by Bacchus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

If I could summarize my visit to Montevibiano in one word it would have to be WOW. Started with a morning stroll on the beautiful land in front of the castle just before our tour at the winery. I will never forget the scent of olive trees and the sun rising colouring the sky in different shades of red & orange reminding me of the warm fireplace from our winter cottage in Sweden. Arriving at the wine tour our entire group was amazed of the history of Montevibiano as well as the fact that it is the only winery in the world that is 100% environmentally friendly and a carbon neutral farm. We actually bumped into the Lorenzo, the son of the italian wine family. Hearing the stories directly from him made it even more memborable, what a nice (goodlooking btw) gentleman. He must have convinced Bacchus to bless his wineyard because the taste of their red wine was FANTASTIC! I brought a few bottles of l´Andrea wine back home and since then I of course continue to buy it from their website. I can highly recommend a tour at the winery and for sure a stroll around the castle in the morning or when the sun sets.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank PAMfromsweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    13
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great wine experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Castello Montevibiano is one of the best wine experiences I ever have had - especially due to the wonderful wine L'Andrea. The wine has been nicely aged and has kept maturity with a fruity and servere elegance. 2005, 2006 and 2007 tested with rather small variances. Aeration of this wine I found was important.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
210 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“great experience, great wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

today we had the pleasure of spending a morning at this vineyard, although described as an eco tour it is more of a winery tour. our terrific guide Melaine took us up the mountain in an electric jeep. She described the winery and told us about the grape and olive production. She was both pleasant and informative and spoke both in English and Italian. The trip up the hill has great views, we then went back to the winery where she explained the process of turning the grapes into wine. The best part however was tasting the different wines and olive oils produced here. The tasting room is wonderful, decorated with the wine barrels that have been used. The view is great, I would love to attend a wedding there. We tasted one white, three red wines relaxed listening to music . We tasted olive oil and cheese from Todi. There is no charge for this great tour. We did however purchase some wine and olive oil. If you have a car and enjoy great wine, be sure to go

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank italiancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franklin ma
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fun, classy and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We went to Monte Vibiano Vineyard on our first day in Umbria, and it set us up for the best week of our lives. The tour of the vineyard was very informative. It was great going into the barrel rooms where they age the wine. We loved the electric jeep rides to the vineyards and olive groves and the views were breathtaking. But by far the best part was the tasting room. It sat in a beautiful spot where you could see the countryside. We tasted the variety of grades of wine that the vineyard offers and tasted the olive oil as well. We purchased two cases for our drinking pleasure during the week and went back for two more. The wine was great, and the tour and tasting was a terrific way to get into the region. For some reason it all looked even better after we left the tasting room.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank shellyeFranklinMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piegaro, Italy
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Truly An Amazing Experience! Children Loved the Vineyard Tour on Electric Jeeps.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

This turned out to be the highlight of the trip to Umbria! Unexpectedly, the children in our group loved the Eco-Tour on electric jeeps right through the ancient olive groves and into the special vineyard, called Vigna Lorenzo. This is a carbon-neutral grower and organic. A very unique experience to see where the olives and grapes are actually grown and then to tour the Cantina and learn how wine is made. Sitting out on the wine terrace with panoramic views of the sunflower fields and vineyards is absolutely beautiful. The staff is very knowledgeable and generous with their pours of one white wine and the three red wines plus bruschetta with their olive oil. Generous seconds of bruschetta were graciously offered to the children. The wines are truly some of the best we have ever tasted and discounted pricing enabled us to really stock up on two weeks' worth of wine and olive oil. We actually shipped some back home it was so good. Recommend this highly! And the tour and tasting were free!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ColleeninPiegaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello Monte Vibiano Vecchio also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Castello Monte Vibiano Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing