We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy but very good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Pizzeria Taverna La Gabbia

Ristorante Pizzeria Taverna La Gabbia
Ranked #567 of 819 Restaurants in Perugia
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Busy but very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Considering its the height of the tourist season and the place was heaving, we found the service and food really enjoyable. simple food of Pasta and pizza at reasonable prices in the centre of Perugia what more could you ask for.
worth a lunch....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bambinoimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    12
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, wonderful family,great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our second stop on a two week trip to Italia is Perugia. Having gotten in late, we found our hotel and walked to the Piazza IV Novembre to find a place for dinner. We were lucky to find Raad and his family-run Pizzeria. With his wife, 8 yr old son and brother, this ristorante is a nice mix of trattoria and local Umbrian cuisine. Our family of 4 enjoyed starters, "large" portions of pasta and veal to accommodate everyone's desire to try the cuisine, plus drinks and dessert. The bruschetta with fresh tomato was excellent. The tiramisu was divine. Raad and his family were wonderfully helpful and entertaining. A bottle of Limoncello and cups of espresso pleasantly arrived after dessert courtesy of Raad. A wonderful meal and experience. Highly recommended.

Note - Raad speaks fluent English and happily translated the menu for our kids as well! The ristorante was taken over by Raad in Aug 2012, so previous reviews will not be accurate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank expotishuns-r-us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great food, great Service .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Was the best of the best .. I tried looke 10 restaurante in Perugia . But the gabbia Was realy realy the best of out off all of them
Quality and price wise ..
Try it once and I promiss you you will go back for all your visit ..

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raad13jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
403 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
“Less overrun with tourists”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Even on a fairly blustery day in October, tavernas were packed to the gills with tourists. La Gabbia is off to one side of the main piazza, so the outside terrace was sheltered from the breeze and also very quiet. We chose a couple of salads from the fairly extensive menu and these were pretty good and also good value at 7 euros. A glass of white wine was also keenly priced at just 2 euros. The waiter spoke excellent English but service was rather lackadaisical. Unusually for this part of Italy, we were offered shots of limoncello with the bill. Unfortunately, we can't stand the stuff and it ended up in the pot plant which was virtually dead anyway.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“La Gabbia Ristorante”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Extremely poor service: waitresses were impolite and not welcoming. Although the weather was turning rainy, they basically forced us to sit outside. Only after it rained on us we were finally allowed in.
The food, however, turned out to be of good quality and the size of the portions was proper.
The price was fair: we paid 21 euros for two first courses and soft drinks.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Francesco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Taverna La Gabbia also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Taverna La Gabbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing