We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this restaurant”
Review of Al Mangiar Bene

Al Mangiar Bene
Ranked #17 of 824 Restaurants in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved this restaurant”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The restaurant is about 100 stair steps below the city, but it was well worth the descent and even the return ascent. I ordered the tagliatelle with radicchio and truffle. It was the best meal I had during my nearly 3 week visit in Italy. We had chocolate panne cotta for dessert and it was one of the most delicious desserts I have ever had. The lighting and the atmosphere of the restaurant was perfect.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlTravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    616
    120
    39
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
229 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We ate here twice in September. Both times the food was good and the service hard working but friendly. We went in groups and both times they found room for us. We sampled a fair amount of the menu between us and everyone enjoyed it. As has been mentioned in other reviews it’s a very reasonable restaurant and ideally placed in the center of Perugia.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank universal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Village, New York
2 reviews
“A Great Time!”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I've spent a lot of time in Perugia this past year for business and have visited this place with both clients and family and have had a great time every time. Good seasonal food, friendly service, and cosy atmosphere. One of my favorite places in Perugia.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justinsteeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“very Italian restaurant, popular, lively, food good and price reasonable”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Although the menu outside is Italian don't wory there is an English version! Don't expect gourmet cooking but the food is good quality and service friendly.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank MRMouse59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“organic food..........”
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We went to this restaurant because the hotel told us that they serve organic food. It's organic allright! Both salads we ordered had sand in it. We sent them back and again, sand! Obviously they don't wash their produce very well. Pasta was decent, service ok, at least they try. Good location, just off the main street. Not too busy and that's always a bad sign.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbymiller1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Mangiar Bene also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Al Mangiar Bene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing