We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ranked #38 of 137 things to do in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded at the beginning of the 20th century, this is one of the most important centers of Italian language study and culture for foreign students. The Gallenga Stuart Palace, built in the XVIII century, hosts the University.
Cesena, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
1,186 reviews
601 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,070 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

university of foreigners is maybe the most famous in italy. it's a great place to enter italian life for a foreign student. it helps u to understand the way italian live. and of course, it ll give u a great preparation

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    9
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Assisi, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Io studio l'italiano”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The university is cool and has people from all over attending to learn Italian. It offers a nice change of pace if you are a foreigner.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kynick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I studied at the University Per Stranieri Di Perugia for 2 months.

PROS:
Beautiful, old town
Can explore Umbria easily
Cheapest course you can do (400 EUR/month)
Perhaps better suited to gap year students (ages 18 - 22 years old)

CONS:

UNIVERSITY
1. Although its a university for foreigners, there are very few people who work there (administrational staff) who speak English and who can adequately assist you. This includes the operator who answers the phone and can only speak italian.
2. Even though we registered AND paid for our course 2 months in advance, when we arrived it was completely disorganized and we had to wait in a queue for 3 hours in order to obtain our student cards.
3. Student accommodation (cercaloggia?) did not help us at all. Registered on their website 3 times but it would not work. Later found out the website was down so we went to the main office 3 days in a row and the person responsible was not working and no one could help us.

COURSE
1. Students are placed in classes which do not match the level of their Italian. This is very frustrating for both students and teachers.
2. The cultural balance in the class is also a major problem as more than 80% of the university students are Chinese, majority of which do not want to be there. Again, this drastically affects the classroom atmosphere and makes it very difficult for those students who do actually want to be there.
3. Getting a good teacher is a gamble. We had 1 excellent one, 2 average ones and 1 awful one. The lessons tend to be very serious without much creativity or fun.
4. Lessons claim to be 50 minutes long but in reality they are 35 minutes long as they start 10-15 minutes past the hour and there is a 20 minute break at 10 minutes to the hour. This drastically cuts into important learning time.

TIME OF YEAR
Ideally you should avoid Perugia from November to March as the weather is freezing and the town hibernates. 

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
17 Thank solo_noi_tre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Debbie B”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had a great time here close to bus stop and a fun bar to sit and enjoy wine in evening

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank allaboutdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great teachers”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I studied at the Uni x Stranieri and the teachers were great. The only problem is that it IS a real university, so you have to enroll, get creditd, take exams... if you are looking to simply learn Italian without all the red tape (and there is ALOT) there are several other great schools in Perugia you can go to.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank OnTheRoadPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University for Foreigners in Palazzo Galenga (Universita per Stranieri) also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to University for Foreigners in Palazzo Galenga (Universita per Stranieri)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing