We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful drive and nice activities”
Review of Lake Trasimeno

Lake Trasimeno
Book In Advance
More Info
$142.37*
and up
Taste of Italy Food Tour to Chianti and Umbria from Rome
More Info
$224.24*
and up
Full-Day Private Tour to Perugia and Assisi from Siena
More Info
$179.15*
and up
Private Tour: Perugia and Assisi Day Trip from Florence
Ranked #8 of 137 things to do in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lake Trasimeno is located in the heart of Italy, which makes it an ideal base for visiting Umbria and Tuscany, as well as providing unspoiled nature and a refuge of birds and fish for outdoor enthusiasts.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
1,838 reviews
370 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 648 helpful votes
“A beautiful drive and nice activities”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We live outside of Lake Trasimeno and just recently returned. The view from our home is the lake and its spectacular. We love looking out and seeing Castiglione Del Lago jutting inward into the massive lake. (4th largest in Italy). The drive around the lake is nice with plenty of photo ops and activities going on. Take a ferry out to numerous islands. Hang out on the shore or just sit in a local restaurant/caffe and watch the sun and mountains.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    426
    114
    32
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Full of Mosquitos!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed nearby and although it is a lovely lake to look at, dont swim in it! We took a pedalo out and jumped in to then see loads of Mosquitos hatching all around us. A local lady said that it isn't good to swim in either

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank GWilson-Lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“A beautiful place to chill put and well located to some beautiful”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Eating dinner while seeing a beautiful sunset over the lake. Shopping and enjoying the views of the beautiful lake.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beach area great - could have been cooler”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We found it hard on the internet to find a good Lake Trasimeno beach for a swim in the middle of summer. We were advised by some friends to try the sandy beach at Passignano (east of the town on Via Europa) with a large carpark (half is paid and half is free). We were able to enjoy a cold beer at the bar before our swim. There is ample grass & shade to have a picnic lunch, a new pool with life guard also showers and toilets are available . The water could of been a bit cooler but is was still refreshing. If you catch the boat over to Maggiore Island we have heard that the swimming there is much better. Pleanty of room in the carpark for campervans.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Intimatetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“To dream....”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

a stunning clear water lake in the middle of a beautiful town like Pasignano with beautiful buildings and good taste

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank GAC700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Trasimeno also viewed

Tuoro sul Trasimeno, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Lake Trasimeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing