We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a few days visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Trasimeno

Lake Trasimeno
Book In Advance
More Info
$131.72*
and up
Taste of Italy Food Tour to Chianti and Umbria from Rome
Ranked #9 of 134 things to do in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lake Trasimeno is located in the heart of Italy, which makes it an ideal base for visiting Umbria and Tuscany, as well as providing unspoiled nature and a refuge of birds and fish for outdoor enthusiasts.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
55 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth a few days visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Had a rental in the hills above Passignano, and had such wonderful views of the beautiful Umbrian countryside. We expected that, but we were surprised by how lovely the little lake town would be, and especially by the number of quality restaurants. The boat trip to the island is a lovely way to spend a morning and you are so close to Perugia and Assisi. This is a lovely base for a relaxing holiday, to see a little history and to discover some great new wines.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 44Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    392
    111
    32
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not the most spectacular lake in Italy...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

When you compare it to the lakes in the north there is absolutely no comparison... but if you happen to be near by, the lake and the historic centre are worth a visit. So much more could be done to make the lakeside more attractive... especially when you consider that the lake has an important history.

It is after all where Hannibal defeated the Romans in 217 BC. The battle is one of the largest and most successful ambushes in military history... At least there is no 'Hannibal and His Elephants Theme Park'.. but this important event is not exactly advertised either!

Mosquitos love it here... so if you get bitten easily protect yourself with spray.. On the plus side there are many lakeside restaurants that are quite good. There are a few restaurants in the cosy centro storico.. something to please everyone and families are made welcome.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ianki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surprisingly quiet and locally-focused”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We arrived by train to Passignano and then cycled around the lake to Castiglione del Lago.... and back (c.32 miles; the whole way round is about 40 miles). We hired bikes from the beach at Passignano. You have to walk about 20 mins from the train station through the town and out the other side. Just as you're about to give up, the beach comes into view and with it, the rental place (where you can get canoes, windsurf boards and so on). The path around the lake is mainly off-road and very flat. However one 9km stretch on the main road was less enjoyable. Altogether it was an excellent day out and we finished with a swim in the lake (warm, but slimed underfoot). The train from Perugia, whence we returned, was around €6 per person return. Remember to validate the ticket before getting on the train.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyable boat ride to an island and great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We took a train from Perugia to Passignano sul Trasimento. Lovely train ride that didn't take very long at all. A short walk from the station found us on the lake edge, where we strolled.

We didn't swim in the beautifully clean fresh-water pool on the lakeside, though we probably should have, considering the heat of the day!

Instead, we enjoyed the leisurely boat ride to Isola Maggiore, and took a fairly steep walk to the top of the hill. Sadly, the chuch was locked - it was an exceptionally hot day and we would have liked a cool place to sit for a while - so we ventured back down the hill and took the boat back to Passignano sul Trasimeno where we found a marvellous restaurant and had a fabulous meal: Le Tartare ... off the main seafront road. Well worth a visit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingridj53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good way to spend the afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The weather was extremely hot at almost 40 degrees so we spent 2 afternoons in 2 different locations by the lake just reading and drinking water in the shade. Looking across the lake was a tranquil experience and a nice change of pace from the sightseeing. It is within easy reach of Arezzo where we stayed and well worth the drive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 2sbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Trasimeno also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Lake Trasimeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing