We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and views”

Ristorante Del Sole
Ranked #36 of 828 Restaurants in Perugia
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and views”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

There is nothing you could dislike about this restaurant. It is the best Restaurant we have eaten through out Italy and I would rate as among the best ever. We had a 7 course meal with accompanying wines, which was amazing. I cant wait to go back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    202
    69
    25
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, excellent waiters”
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We visited del Sole twice as we were very impressed with the spectacular views, the food and the waiters. The food on our first visit was slightly better than on the second visit but on both occasions we were very happy with our experience. We had a window table on both occasions and the service was very good. Wines recommended by the waiters were from the region and very good. I would go again.
Margot from Australia

Helpful?
Thank Margot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Better to go for aperitivo”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The best thing with this restaurant is definitely the view: the panorama is unmissable. As regards the food, I find it a bit pricey and not always satisfactory (it really depends on what you order and even on the day you go...). So, I would suggest to go at around 7pm for a nice aperitivo (drink+some finger food) and seat on their open terrace for a beautiful experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canziano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The perfect place for an aperitivo!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I have been several times to the bar upstairs - on the open-air terrace with views of the Umbrian countryside, Assisi, and Spello. The views are breathtaking, especially if you go around 8 pm in the summer, and take in the landscape over an aperitivo. Their aperitivi are good quality, decently priced (most are 5 euros per drink) and also come with an impressive platter of appetizers (which often substituted dinner for me!). The Negroni and the Negroni sbagliato (with prosecco instead of gin) are excellent. They have a small list of wine by the glass (as an aperitif, in any case) but their whites are good -- try the Pecorino or the Grecchetto, for example, and their reds are good too -- try the rosso di Montefalco. Service can be somewhat slow, as in many Italian restaurants, but nothing can prevent you from enjoying the splendid views while you wait.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank StVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice choice in Perugia”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I visited Ristorante Del Sole with two colleagues during a business trip to Italy. The view of the city from the restaurant is just breathtaking. The atmosphere of the restaurant is also very good. We ordered grilled steak and rolled beef with cheese in red wine sauce with rosemary. The service was very fast and the waiters were willing to help. All the dishes were well cooked and well presented. The only bad thing was the wine of the house we ordered. As Perugia is famous for its wines, I was not expecting to have such a low quality wine. At other restaurants we were always happy with the wine of the house, at the same price level. So I would strongly suggest the readers to pay a visit to the Ristorante del Sole, but be careful about the wine...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canertas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Del Sole also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante Del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing