We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our best culinary experience in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Lanterna - CLOSED

La Lanterna
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our best culinary experience in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Found it by accident after looking for a different restaurant recommended by TripAdvisor. The other one was closed, so we went to this one. It was our best dinning experience in Italy so far.
The waitress was lovely and tried to explain every dish with her funny English.

The food was truly authentic and atmosphere was great.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    21
    12
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
155 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“regional products”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Lovely food, traditional umbrian cuisine, amazing list of wines and excellent service makes of La Lanterna, one of the best restaurants in Perugia. Really worth a visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed in Perugia for 3 nights in September, and our first evening we went to La Lanterna, following many recommendations that we found in Ethernet. And this was absolutely correct choice, so we were here three times. The food was very tasty, we tried different dishes (agnolotti alla Norcina, a typical Umbrian dish of small meat ravioli under a sauce of cream, sausage, and black truffle; arrosto misto, a particularly good grab bag of roast rabbit; lombetto incrostato, encrusted filet of pork with a sauce of walnuts, mushrooms, and truffles) and all of them were very good. They have indoor and outdoor seating (in a small courtyard) and both places are very nice with a special warm atmosphere. The service was also excellent, and I would like especially appreciate a help of Aziz, who speaks English and whose recommendation and explanations were extremely useful.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zepisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, CT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small, non touristy, good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Right off the main square in the old part of town, near the church and fountain, there's a sign that says 'Hosteleria-La Lanterna' that you can see at the beginning of the side street. There were mostly Italians there. We had the best bruschetta, lasagna, and ravioli with orange sauce. We are not big eaters, so we did not have a 2nd course of meat/fish, or dessert. However the menu had many choices, the service was very friendly and the staff spoke some English, and I tried my halting Italian. Prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTtraveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umbria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A nice atmosphere, try the soup and nothing else!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

My wife and I had planned on going to another restaurant in Perugia but made the mistake of not making reservations and thus ended up wandering the beautiful cobble stone streets of Perugia without a place to eat and with a grumbling stomach.
We ended up in La Lanterna, a very nice looking restaurant close to the main square. The atmosphere is quite cozy and we hoped to have a great meal to fill our stomachs.
Unfortunately this was not the case for the most part. I ordered some bruschette with liver patè and was highly disappointed since it seemed to have minced meat on it... not sure where they got that recipe from!
My wife on the other hand wanted and got a very nice vegetable soup with different types of legumes and seasonal greens.
The big disappointment came with the roasted lamb chops that we got. I love lamb but tend to eat it only in restaurants and look forward to it. The food they brought to us was very fatty and we had a tough time digesting it... Had to walk around for a few hours in the cold november air to be able to push it down our stomachs...
Oh well... better luck next time

Back on the road and good eating!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcomixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Lanterna also viewed

 
Ponte San Giovanni, Perugia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing