We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not touristic, authentic.. and very tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Cantinone

Il Cantinone
Ranked #18 of 820 Restaurants in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not touristic, authentic.. and very tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I found this hidden little restaurant when I was wondering around hungry, and a bit fed up with all Perugia's touristic spots.
When I asked for an English menu, the water said that they haven't got one but he would happily help me with the menu. It was refreshing to find a place that doesn't chase tourists with big signs in english.
Every dish I ordered was perfect, and the waters were very friendly. Don't Miss.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irismtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    369
    108
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Good Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We each had a pizza and split a bottle of wine. Very reasonable prices and a nice, cozy atmosphere. Place gets crowded around 8pm.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

The food is amazing. Guido & his family are warm & inviting. Il cantinone is an experience of Perugia & Italian hospitality not to be missed. I beg you to avoid tourist traps & head for the real thing at il cantinone, you won't regret it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muppertx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A little gem in the heart of Perugia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

We had lunch here on a cold winters day. It was warm and cosy inside. The service was excellent. The food, particularly my special - gnocchi con guanciale, noci e salvia - was superb. The anitpasto was called a pecorino soufflé, when in fact it was a budino! But nonetheless it too, was delicious. The only slight disappointment (hence only 4 stars) was the house red wine, which was rather nondescript. Also, the price was pretty good for the centre of a city - 2 antipasti, 1 primo, 1 secondo, 1/2L wine, 2 bottles of water = €47.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erasmusthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Local Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband and I spent three weeks in Perugia and went several times to Il Cantinone.
It was a great local spot. The food was local, fresh and delicious and were all local Umbrian food, run by a family. Got to know the entire family by the time we said good-bye. The service was great, local fresh seasonal dishes and the owners were wonderful and added so much to our three week stay in Perugia. Local negborhood spots are always the best in Italy. Pasta with Tartufo was to die for. Prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emalene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Cantinone also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Il Cantinone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing