We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torta al Testo, Plus!”
Review of Umbriacooks4u

Umbriacooks4u
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Torta al Testo, Plus!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our last Perugia cooking lesson with Tita and Nonie in 2006 was pizza-oriented, and involved Tita's father, the oven master. It was a marvellous session, but we decided this year to expand our Umbrian cooking skills.Good decision. We started with a staple: torta (a flatbread) al testo (the griddle) which was great fun to make, and after splitting, allows for endless stuffings. Cheese of many sorts; greens, like arugula; sliced sausage, prosciutto. Excellent for snacks, antipasti, or even a meal. We then progressed through the making of several other courses, with much hands-on time, accompanied by snacks and wine. A dinner with Tita and Nonie, the fruits of our labour (and more wine), and lively talk of the Italian tax system was a great finale to an Umbrian cooking afternoon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hands On Real Italian Cooking Experience!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Tita and Noni are excellent teachers, and great cooks. We loved Noni's no-nonsense approach, and Tita's patient good humour....a great combination. We learned some useful techniques, drank some fine wine, and dined on the delicious fruits of our labours, all the while enjoying the lively conversation that accompanied both the lesson and the meal. We can't wait to try out the recipes on our friends.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ymilawd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This cooking class might change your life!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The combination of Tita, an Italian teaching some of her old family recipes and some new ones, and Noni, a New Yorker transplanted to Italy in the 1970s, is a winning one! Our group of six spent a very enjoyable and informative afternoon and dinner at Tita's house, where the classes are held. Noni has lived in Italy so long she seems more Italian than American, but her ability to explain everything in English so well is part of what makes this class really enjoyable and accessible. And both of them are so willing to entertain any questions about Italy or Italian cooking.

But that's the bland yet complimentary (and accurate) way to describe the cooking class. Let me tell you about the effect this class has had on my life! I am a wife, mother, lawyer, gardener, friend, cyclist, photographer -- but not so much of a cook. My husband is the chef in the family. He was really keen on taking the class. I went along, because I'd organized it. But since we took Noni & Tita's cooking class and were taught how to cook eight dishes - from appetizers (antipasti) to dessert - I personally (YES, ME!) have prepared five of them. More than once! The recipes I have prepared all pass my tests:

1. Is the recipe relatively fail-safe, in that it's likely to turn out well?
2. Is the recipe not too time-consuming to prepare?
3. Is the finished product very tasty and a little different from the normal boring food we would usually eat?
Check, check and check!

Thanks, Tita and Noni! To take a cooking class where we learn how to prepare real dishes that we can cook in our family on an everyday basis - that's awesome! Maybe I will add at least "cook", if not "chef", to my list of roles...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We highly recommend the cooking class provided by Umbriacooks4u at! We along with eight friends at the Sant' Orsola Villa experienced excellent directions for preparation, insightful comments about the food of Umbria, and absolutely delicious food!! If you want a cooking class in Umbria, we strongly recommend Umbriacooks4u.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“So much fun!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Noni and Tito are fabulous! We cooked numerous courses and dishes....all of which were true Umbrian cuisine. The food they supplied us with was delicious and so fresh. They are great teachers and very helpful. After we were done preparing everything they added the finishing touches they served us each course and cleaned up the entire kitchen. Worth every penny. A true MUST DO!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umbriacooks4u also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Cannara, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Allerona, Province of Terni
 

Been to Umbriacooks4u? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing