We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring Cooking lesson with Nonie and Tita”
Review of Umbriacooks4u

Umbriacooks4u
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
1 review
“Inspiring Cooking lesson with Nonie and Tita”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We want to thank You, Nonie and Tita, for a fantastic cooking lesson in Perugia tuesday 5th of february 2013.
These few hours which we spent together with you in Titas kitchen were absolutely fantastic and really inspiring. We learned massive amount of things and secrets about Italian food and most important: how to prepare that ourselves after this great lesson. The food we made and then ate together was so good that my english is not good enough to describe it. We stongly want to recommend this lesson to anybody who has any kind of interest on Italian and especially Umbrian food.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hokkanen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Must-do activity while in Italy”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I, along with another couple we're friends with, enjoyed the food, laughter and conversation that were wrapped into this terrific class. Nonie and Tita put us to work right away, shared background on Umbrian food and life, poured wine and offered tastes of delicious food–everything that we'd hoped for from a cooking class during our vacation. We appreciated the meal that was elegant but included several simple dishes, and we've already duplicated a few at home. And more than anything, we appreciated the warmth that was evident in their approach to the class and willingness to share stories. This class deepened our appreciation for the wonderful food that we enjoyed during the rest of our trip to Italy, and I recommend it as a must-do activity for anyone visiting this area. Thank you, Nonie and Tita, for a wonderful afternoon and evening.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EBHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“So much fun”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

There are so many things that make Italy special and one of them is the food. Learning the traditional techniques and putting them into immediate practice gave me a new appreciation for the food we eat here. Combine the ingredients of laughter, learning, wonderful food and wine and you have an afternoon with Nonie and Tita. One of the best dishes on the menu of Umbria.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gundyjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
“Food and Fun!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderfully fun afternoon cooking with Nonie and Tita and another couple from the US. We were made to feel at home right away, and also were put to work immediately getting hands on in the kitchen which is what we were looking for in a cooking class. Nonie is a great cook in her own right and translates for Tita. We made a good variety of dishes and went home with all the recipes so we can make things for our friends. The recipes were all traditional, straightforward and delicious! We couldn't believe all that we had produced (with a little help from our hosts!) when we sat down to dinner! It was quite the feast! There were a lot of laughs in the kitchen along the way as well, thanks to Nonie's great sense of humour. If you are in the neighbourhood and love food, don't miss an afternoon with these ladies. It will be a highlight of your trip :) Thank you Nonie and Tita!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KathySchmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Thank you for a Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My friend and I were interested in taking a cooking class when we went to Italy. The people at our accommodations suggested Umbriacooks4u and we are so glad they did. What a wonderful experience! We had a terrific afternoon with Nonie and Tita, learning the recipes and cooking techniques used in Umbria. Nonie and Tita are a great team who created a wonderful learning experience for us. The foods were simple yet very tasty. Their method of instruction made it easy for us to help make the meal. Both of us were pretty impressed with ourselves when we were able to successfully make the parmesan cheese baskets. The menu includes several antipasti including a very tasty torta rustica (a fav) and the parmesan baskets with pears, Primi - a chickpea zuppa and a spaghetti with oven cooked tomatoes, Secondi - meats and veggies and Dolce - chocolate lava cake (which reflects the fact that Perugia holds one of the biggest chocolate festivals in the world). Our husbands joined us for the meal and all of us agree it was one of the best meals we had in our month long trip to Italy. Best of all, we know we can recreate the meal at home. Thanks Nonie and Tita for a very memorable experience!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GreenMcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umbriacooks4u also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Cannara, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Allerona, Province of Terni
 

Been to Umbriacooks4u? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing