We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not only about food......”
Review of La Taverna

La Taverna
Ranked #5 of 833 Restaurants in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $52
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Newport Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“It's not only about food......”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

.....It's about ambiance, food, wines, friendly service! The Hotel Brufani indicated this restaurant among few others. We asked for a table on the patio because inside a band was playing jazz. The setting was very romantic and dinner was a real pleasure. Extensive menu and wine list with a great selection of Banfi's SuperTuscans at 1\2 the price we pay in California.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank victoria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,076
    798
    237
    86
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food, good service, well run”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This restaurant serves tasty Umbrian dishes in an enjoyable climate. The service was attentive and helpful, and everything about the place smacked of a tightly-run and cared for establishment. It is true that the chef is a very visible presence, and this was on a Sunday at 2:00 PM, a time without many customers. My wife and I had pasta dishes with meat sauce and truffle-based sauce. The only downside was that the dishes were intensely salted - surprising to both of us as we experienced that in no other place in Italy. They were otherwise delicious, so I'm willing to give the benefit of the doubt that it was just a one-time thing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
“a jewel”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It's hard to describe this restaurant. Classic yet innovative with some delicious dishes from the Umbrian tradition such as Umbrian ragout and pork shank. Ask for the chef, he will be very happy to help you make your selection. The menu is written in Italian only but the servers are multi-lingual and very helpful. I had an amazing pasta called caramelli and it was outstanding. Great house wine by the glass or pitcher. Fascinating location, a jewel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing special and very slow serving”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Have had much better food in Italy. Don't understand the tripadvisor rave, really. Had average food at higher prices and took an hour to have food being served.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Go On, Pretend You're Not A Tourist”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This elegant Ristorante is hidden away (a good long way) down an ancient passage off the main tourist thoroughfare of Perugia. The lack of an English menu and an intimidating wine list should not put you off. The former at least is a good sign in a city like Perugia. The service at La Taverna is genuinely friendly and helpful and the food is genuinely delicious. For lunch our party stuffed themselves on a wonderful selection of Antipasti de la Casa (served with great bread) washed down with half a litre of House Red at €8 (not one of the €350 bottles on the wine list). We topped that with pasta choices about which the only negative comment was that one was slightly bland. After a coffee we left our gastronomic sanctuary and were off back on the tourist trail having been much better fed than had we settled for one of the tourist trap restaurants on the main Corso and no worse off financially, I'm sure. A real find.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mewero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to La Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing