We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Casa Branca
Ranked #6 of 39 Gubbio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bibury, Gloucestershire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed June 25, 2007

We are regular visitors to Italy and have just returned from 4 nights at Agriturismo Casa Branca. Paolo and Emanuela greeted us with their two golden retrievers, watched by Mao, the cat. Their seven bedrooms are decorated in a range of attractive colours. We chose the Brazilian yellow and green room and liked it, especially with its modern bathroom, (soft towels and very good shower). Highlights of our stay were the peaceful location amongst pines, proximity to interesting places, and the meals at Casa Branca! Breakfasts offered a choice of cereals, fruit, breads and delicious filter coffee. In the evening Emmanuela'a cooking was amazing: there was no menu but we didn't want one or need one! Every meal was a real pleasure. A good red wine was included in the cost.

As keen walkers, we explored the many trails in the nearby moutains (Monte Cucco National Park), and the streets and alleyways of Gubbio, returning to the swimming pool at Casa Branca in the late afternoon. If you like the informality and friendliness of an Agriturismo in a historic area, and the delights of good cooking, this must be one of the best. What makes this place special? Just one small example: we asked for 2 glasses of white wine as we watched the sun go down, and never had to ask again. It was offered every evening. In short, Casa Branca is a class act! We hope to return.

  • Liked — location, food, welcome
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JeremyM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    53
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
51
170
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2007

Four of us spent four nights in the care of Emanuela and Paolo at the end of May. Right from the start we knew we had chosen well, as Emanuela and Paolo dropped what they were doing to come and give us a big welcome. Emanuela's English is excellent.

Located in a quiet and secluded spot (it is the very last house at the top of the hill), Casa Branca is set high above a valley in its own grounds, with a fabulous swimming pool. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and, as other reviewers have said, it is decorated with much Mexican art brought back by the owners from their sojourn there.

Having tasted Emanuela's delicious cooking on the night of our arrival, we decided to continue on a half-board basis for the remaining three nights. At €25 per head for a 3 course meal and including a half bottle of wine each, it wouldn't have made sense to do otherwise. Each evening before dinner we descended the hill to a nasty looking modern bar called the Royal Caffe in the village below where, for €7 we got 4 G&Ts, 2 glasses of wine and 2 beers! The fun of observing local life, together with the price of the drinks more than made up for the tack.

Emanuela and Paolo were never intrusive, but were always willing to help in any way. Paolo even presented us with a CD of music which he had burnt for my husband who had commented on the great music he (Paolo) played during dinner.

While we were there, the weather turned quite chilly, to the point that we could have done with a little heat in the dining room at night. However, this is the only criticism we could possibly have and is hardly worth a mention.

Gubbio - "the oldest and best preserved medieval city in the world" - is a few kilimeters north, while Assisi and Perugia are within easy reach to the south. There is some wonderful driving country in the Cucco National Park just a stone's throw away.

Whether it is Roman remains, the swimming pool or unspoilt countryside you are looking for, Casa Branca will provide you with an extremely comfortable base. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Finally, as Emanuela and Paolo have two adorable large and lively golden retrievers, I would urge caution if you aren't doggie friendly!

  • Liked — Location, host and hostess, pool
  • Disliked — Indoor temperature at dinner
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopsack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2007

It was thanks to the reviews here on Tripadvisor that I booked our Easter break at the Casa Branca, so I feel compelled to add our compliments and thanks to Emanuela and Paolo for making our stay so special. The house and surroundings are beautiful. It really is a haven of peace and tranquillity. After a hard day's sightseeing in Assisi on Easter Monday with millions of others, it was such a treat to come home and doze in the hammock and watch the sun go down. We were then ready to enjoy a glass of crisp white wine before sitting down to an exquisite four-course meal by candlelight.
Believe everything you read about Emanuela's cooking; it is simply delicious. The accommodation is roomy and comfortable, spotlessly clean with good-sized modern bathrooms. Casa Branca is a magical place for people who wish to relax, read, listen to good music and eat and sleep well.

  • Liked — The peaceful ambiance and our gracious hosts
  • Disliked — //
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Fayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2007

You could not imagine more gracious hosts than Emanuela & Paolo at Casa Branca. Their charming farm is tucked up in the wooded hills just 15 minutes from Gubbio. We stayed in the Bourdeaux room (why not an Italian name - Sangrantino?) which had a wonderful view down into the valley and across to the hills of Gubbio, which were getting a beautiful dusting of snow. It was very comfortable - good bed, spacious bathroom with a towel warmer, a nice big armoire to hang your clothes and other good antique pieces to store those travel items. It can be a real pain when a room doesn't have adequate storage and you are staying there for a while. Casa Branca had this more than covered.
Emanuela & Paolo have a herd of sweet sheep, 2 happy golden retrievers, some cats, and they grow cherries, plums and some other fruits from which Emanuela makes delicious jams that we enjoyed at breakfast. They were some of the best jams I have ever tasted.
They have a lovely dining room with views of the valley and hills and doors that open out onto the grounds and patio. It is filled with art from their travels in Mexico and elsewhere and has a huge fireplace. We arrived late in the afternoon and were guided up to the house by Emanuela directing us on the cell phone - "turn at the roundabout, up the hill, etc."
We are vegetarians and they had a beautiful 4 course dinner waiting for us of wonderful cheeses and homemade roasted peppers, exotic black rice with a garbonzo puree, a perfect Rosso Pinero and a superb chocolate mousse served with a snifter of vintage rum. Fine cuisine to say the least.
We got a great lesson and insight into several Italian musicians as they played lots of samples for us from their personal collection. The dining room was always filled with really nice music.
You could not ask for a more pleasant, reasonably priced and relaxing place to stay for a bit which is well situated to explore the beauty of Umbria.

  • Liked — Genuine comfort and exceptional hospitality in a peaceful beautiful setting
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rubytone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2006

My fiancee and I were married in Italy and honeymooned there as well. The last two nights of our stay were spent at Casa Branca and were an absolute pleasure! Casa Branca is quietly nestled in the countryside of Umbria and has lovely views. The moment we arrived we were warmly greeted by Emanuela & Paolo. They both were genuinely glad to see us and went out of their way to make us feel so welcomed and comfortable.
Casa Branca is not your ordinary Bed and Breakfast, the entire Inn is decorated with a gorgeous, modern, Latin flare. Everything was thoughtfully arranged and put together. The main room was so inviting yet stylish and comfortable. Our room was amazing! Everything was so clean and new looking we felt as though we were the first people to ever use the room. From the very large, comfortable bed, to the art work, to the huge modern bathroom with beautiful fixtures-- it was such a treat. All of the detail and planning that went into the design of the room was evident. The guest rooms are even better in person than on the website!
Our stay was during the end of October and the countryside was getting chilly-- Emanuela and Paolo turned the heat on (the only place throughout our 12 day stay in Italy to do so) and kept us warm and cozy. Anything that we needed-- they were both right there to help us.
On our last night we decided to have dinner at Casa Branca--what a fabulous experience!! Emanuela is an amazing cook. Our dinner was served by candlelight on an elegantly decorated table for two-- each dish was delicious. That meal was easily one of the best I've ever had and worth every penny (and then some!)
Casa Branca is not your grandmothers B&B but your grandmother would love it! It has a young, stylish energy and look but is at the same time, extremely peaceful and relaxing. My one regret is that we did not stay longer-- much longer.
I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast for a peaceful, restful and elegant stay.

  • Liked — Everything was perfect-- the rooms were so clean and beautiful.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Tips/Secrets — Have dinner there-- you will not be disappointed
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JKTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2006

Not your average agriturismo! This really is a special place. Run by the sophisticated Emanuela and Paolo, this is a wonderful place to stay if you are touring Umbria. Having spent many years in Mexico City, they returned to their native Italy and bought an old farm and have beautifully restored it. From the outside, it looks ordinary but the interior is beautiful and is decorated throughout with piece of art they accumulated in Mexico and on their world travels. The main reason to stay here though is Emmanuela's wonderful cooking. She has built a state of the art modern kitchen and each evening she turns out delightful dishes. All the ingredients are grown in her garden and everything has a wonderful fresh taste! Prices are above average but we liked the place so much we stayed an extra night. Be sure to get detailed directions as it was not well signposted and we missed the turnoff.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank patrickheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2006

Owners Emanuela and Paolo make this B&B unique with their welcoming personalities, decorating touches, Paolo’s artwork, and Emanuela’s cooking. It’s on a hilltop outside Gubbio with beautiful views of the countryside, a front porch to plop down on and eat cherries, a pool to swim in, and even a great dog to play with. The convenient location allows drivers to easily reach nearby towns of Gubbio, Perugia, Assisi, and Deruta on fast highways, as well as just getting happily lost on the old, curving hill roads winding through the area. We ate two exquisite dinners here, each course a visual and taste treat, accompanied by wonderful wine. After the first dinner, my husband kissed Emanuela’s hand, and after the second, he shamelessly licked his plate.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gubbio hotels
7.7 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
6.7 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.3 mi away
Castello di Baccaresca
Castello di Baccaresca
#1 of 39 in Gubbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Il Rivo
Bed & Breakfast Il Rivo
#13 of 39 in Gubbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
14.0 mi away
Nikis Resort
Nikis Resort
#18 of 39 in Gubbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
5.6 mi away
Agriturismo Caresto
Agriturismo Caresto
#26 of 80 in Gubbio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Casa Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Casa Branca

Property: Agriturismo Casa Branca
Address: Strada di San Simeone 26 | frazione Branca, 06020, Gubbio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Gubbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone-house on top of a hill at about 10 minutes by car from the medieval town of Gubbio, with 5 double rooms, 1 junior suite and a cottage. Perfectly restored to international comfort standards, Casa Branca combines the traditional umbrian style with touches of colour that speak of the owners experience in Latin America. Candle light dinners (also vegetarian friendly on request) are served in the restaurant area facing the huge fire place. The garden offers chaise-longues and umbrellas, tables and chairs, and a wonderful pool surrounded by pine trees. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing