We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would always come back.”
Review of Locanda del Gallo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gubbio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Locanda del Gallo
Ranked #4 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Gubbio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I would always come back.”
Reviewed July 10, 2008

I absolutely love this place. We've stayed here twice, the first time for a week long yoga retreat. It a great place to get away from the tourist traps and unwind. The food is awesome (thanks Jimmy) and the owners (Eric and Paula) bend over backwards to help you out with train / car reservations, maps and directions.

They have endless pool that overlooks the valley and last time we were there they were putting in a sauna and massage room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneromc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
123
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Eric and Paola are delightful hosts: very down to earth, self-effacing, approachable, and humorous!

We loved not only our room, which was exactly like the pictures (!) but found it to be luxurious and well appointed.

The architecture of the house and its furnishings are done with much thought and taste, down to the last detail. Not only that, but the entire surrounding area is inviting; the views are to die for!

Their cook, Jimmy, served us some of the best food we had during our 14 day stay in Italy.

  • Liked — the owners and the food and the views and the rooms
  • Disliked — nothing. the internet didnt work that day, but so what! place is to die for!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank primovodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barkhamsted, CT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

Set high above the Tiber Valley between Gubbio and Perugia, this elegant hotel is everything one would want in beauty and authenticity. The house has a long, interesting history, the hosts Paola and Eric are gracious, and the food is excellent.

  • Liked — beauty of setting
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ValdOrcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morges
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2007

We found Locanda del Gallo a little by chance and realised within 10minutes that we have never satyed in such a magical place. The owners, the chef (Jimmy) and all the staff were absolutely wonderful people and made our stay delightful. It is perched high in the mountains offering stunning views on all sides that should be used for post-card views across the world. The atmosphere and the attitude of the owners and the other guests made this a fantastic week and we had a hard time leaving the delicious food, the absolute calm and the fantastic infinity swimming pool.

As well as offering seclusion and quiet the hotel's location offers easy trips to Gubbio, Assisi, Perugia, Cortona and even into Tuscany if the mood takes you but to be honest, why would you want to leave....

We will definitely be going back to Locanda Del Gallo

  • Liked — Everything...
  • Disliked — Nothing..
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TONGEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

We visited this lovely place situated in lovely settings in Umbria hills. Everything previous guests wrote about this place is very true. It is a pearl with a fantastic ambience and the place is spotless clean, staff is very very friendly and everything was perfect. We will be back next visit to Umbria.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank dan007Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire, england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2007

They say you should never return to the same place as it's never as good the second time. Not true. Locanda del Gallo gets better and better. It's a beautiful spot with a perfect formula. Incredibly relaxing and pretty and I simply can't rate it highly enough.

  • Liked — Tranquility
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank treewick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hybrid in Napoli
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

This place is magically relaxing. The owners are wonderful people and make every effort to make your stay as comfortable as possible. It is beautifully set in the mountains high above your worries and the noisy tourist crowds. If you want to play the tourist game it is easy -Gubbio is down the road, Assisi is close as well as Perugia.
Now, the food. I never want to leave because of the food. Jimmy, the chef, is a wizard in the kitchen making everything fresh organic and tasty.
My only regret is having to leave this place.

Helpful?
Thank PrinceArist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gubbio
4.5 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 24 in Gubbio
531 reviews
9.6 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
812 reviews
9.3 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Villa di Monte Solare
Villa di Monte Solare
#1 of 2 in Tavernelle di Panicale
657 reviews
13.7 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
12.4 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 66 in Perugia
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda del Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda del Gallo

Property: Locanda del Gallo
Address: Frazione Santa Cristina, 06020, Gubbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Gubbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silence, Mother nature, Peace.Picture walls of stone aged by the centuries. Fresh and cosy rooms filled with ancient and exotic furniture. Gardens of manicured lawns and olive trees. The scent of lavender and rosemary filling the air. A swimming pool kissed by sunlight. Numerous paths running through woods, down to the stream in the valley below. Aperitifs sipped on a verandah watching the setting sun. Candle-lit dinners, and calm nights under a star filled sky. All around, just beyond our crown of hills stand Umbria’s many cities of art, abundant in their treasures, their elegant shops and traditions. So near, so far away…….. Italian description: ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing