We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!”
Review of Locanda del Gallo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gubbio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Locanda del Gallo
Ranked #4 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Gubbio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Been here twice and thoroughly enjoyed both stays. The setting is lovely if a little remote. Rooms are very pleasant with great bathrooms!!! Food??? Well what can I say?? Delicious,Jimmy is a great chef and knows a lot about cricket!!! Swimming pool and Jacuzzi are very nice and Turkish bath is lovely!!!! Beautiful!!!!

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanelhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
122
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a wonderful 4 nights stay at Locanda and loved the place. Sometimes it's hard to find a really nice place to stay in a great location, run so well and with excellent food - but here I think we found just that. The owners and all the staff were so friendly and welcoming it really made our stay memorable. It was a beautiful place to relax and rejuvenate. So if you're looking to get away from it all then this could be the place for you. We definitely hope to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This summer marked our sixth stay at the wonderful Locanda del Gallo and we are excited to announce we will be heading back again next year! We conduct a watercolor/yoga retreat in this heavenly place and the fact that many of our students return with us year after year is a testimony to the Locanda del Gallo's unique offering of natural beauty, style, personal comfort, delicious food, and a sense of serenity and peace that can only be accomplished by a caring and observant staff. The Locanda del Gallo is a 10 star experience! Please see all my previous reviews and photographs of the lovely Locanda del Gallo by Sketchbooktours on Trip Advisor. Ciao! Victoria

Room Tip: Each room is uniquely appointed.The staff is very sensitive to your needs. Please speak with Paola c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sketchbooktours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in Locanda del Gallo for 2 nights during our round trip in Italy.
Locanda del Gallo is situated on the side of a hill with very nice views.
The swimming pool is very relaxing and the jacuzzi is great ! We also liked the Turkish bath and the relaxation area.
Our room was clean and nicely decorated but we didn't sleep well because of the heat and there were no airconditioning or insect-screens to open a window over-night.
The place is very remote and quiet. We think it is a perfect place if you want to re-energize yourself but it was too quiet for us. The nearest restaurant was a 30 minutes drive over a dark and winding road.
Our second night, we had dinner in Locanda del Gallo. The setting was very nice and romantic but the price was rather expensive (28 Euro pp because we didn't stay in half board - in half board you pay 20 Euro).
The breakfast was rather limited compared to other B&B's we stayed at. The service of the kitchen staff however, was wonderfull.
Gubbio and Assisi are easy to reach by car and definitely worth a visit.

Overall a very nice place if you are looking for tranquility and silence but it wasn' t our cup of tea.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britt_and_Kurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is the tenth visit to Locanda Del Gallo which is both good and bad news! First the bad, it means that we are 10 years older than we were when we first came here! Now for the good: the welcome we received from Paola, Irish and all the wonderful staff includIng Jimmy and George was as warm as it was when we first visited. Each year they find a way to improve on the perfect relaxing holiday destination with subtle additions and improvements. Last year the relaxation area under the pool and hot tub was opened and this year a shaded outdoor dinIng area has been cleverly added to the lawned area allowing you to enjoy another spectacular vista that Locanda offers its guests.
Who knows what next year will offer but one thing is for sure, we'll be back to find out!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012

this is our fifth year in a row at locanda...we never go back to places otherwise, but locanda is so heavenly that we cannot stop ourselves from returning. if you love simple pleasures, stunning surroundings, delicious locally sourced food. if the heart and soul and warmth of a place mean the most to you, then locanda is for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just returned from five nights at this lovely small hotel. The setting is beautiful with views that soothe the soul. The ambiance is relaxed and informal and yet everything is done with great care and style and nothing is left to chance by the delightful proprietors, Paola and Irish, and their excellent staff. The gardens are fragrant and very well maintained, as are the pool and wellness area. We particularly enjoyed relaxing on loungers in the reading room on an unseasonably windy and dull day in July. We stayed on a half board basis and did not regret our decision to dine in each evening. The food was very good indeed, served in the light and airy dining room with lovely views of the setting sun. Breakfasts and lunches were also good. Our room and ensuite bathroom on the first floor were very well furnished and equipped. The location is central for visiting Perugia, Gubbio, Assisi, Cortona and many other smaller but equally scenic hilltop towns in northern Umbria and Tuscany. We are a couple, but the Locanda welcomes families with children too. It is a really great place to spend a short break or a longer holiday.

Room Tip: Use the Locanda's website to views each room on a 360 deg tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gubbio
4.5 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
9.6 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
13.7 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
21.3 mi away
Villa di Monte Solare
Villa di Monte Solare
#1 of 2 in Tavernelle di Panicale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
20.3 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda del Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda del Gallo

Property: Locanda del Gallo
Address: Frazione Santa Cristina, 06020, Gubbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Gubbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silence, Mother nature, Peace.Picture walls of stone aged by the centuries. Fresh and cosy rooms filled with ancient and exotic furniture. Gardens of manicured lawns and olive trees. The scent of lavender and rosemary filling the air. A swimming pool kissed by sunlight. Numerous paths running through woods, down to the stream in the valley below. Aperitifs sipped on a verandah watching the setting sun. Candle-lit dinners, and calm nights under a star filled sky. All around, just beyond our crown of hills stand Umbria’s many cities of art, abundant in their treasures, their elegant shops and traditions. So near, so far away…….. Italian description: ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing