We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castello di Petroia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cieli Umbri(Perugia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveler rating
485
75
16
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
485
75
16
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstower roomfairy talemedieval castletwo floorstruffle huntwatch towercastle staycentury towerexplore the groundstwo nightsspoke no englishwine tourmodern travellerhighlight of our tripumbrian countrysidelarge bathroomearly evening
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 578 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2009

The castle is gorgeous and Carlo is a great host. The dinner with him is worth doing at least once... Take a day trip to Gubbio while you are there. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustinPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

My husband and I spent six nights at this historic castle-hotel, spectacularly situated in the mountains between Gubbio and Perugia. Despite terrific views and fresh, cool air, the location isn't for everyone; the hotel is 20 minutes from the nearest sizeable town (charming Gubbio) and there isn't much going on in the hilltop hamlets of Scritto and Belvedere.

The remote location would not have posed such a problem had we enjoyed dinner at the castle (served table d'hote, 32 euros a head for four courses). Quite the contrary--the food was abominable: risotto with what looked like frozen peas, followed by overcooked pasta (with canned or frozen scallops), followed by "carne alla brace" that outdid the blandness and dryness of even my grandmother's infamous pot roast. To make matters worse, the dinner arrangements were painfully awkward: the night we arrived, the hotel's proprietor (the sweet but rather hapless Carlo Sagrini) was attended by a "famous sculptor from Gubbio" and the cast and crew of an Italian detective show who had been filming at the hotel that day. As they schmoozed in rapid-fire Italian, we were relegated to a corner table -- and to conversation with an Italian family (the only other non-famous guests) who jokingly referred to their dinner as "English food" (not a compliment). Breakfast was tolerably better, but the coffee was acrid, and the cakes obscenely sweet for morning fare. All meals were attended by a waiter whose awkwardness and formality made us feel ill at ease in our surroundings. After we polished off our bottle of red wine during the first night's dinner, we were greeted in the morning by the sardonic aside, "Little headache?". On the last morning, we arrived shortly after the 8:30am service began to find the breakfast room empty; 20 minutes later, the waiter showed up and scolded us: "I've been waiting for you" (his day off was to begin after the breakfast service finished).

So while this is a gorgeous old place, steeped in history, with a lovely pool and grounds, my husband and I cannot in good faith recommend this hotel. We did not expect the kind of food or service one might receive at a 5* hotel in Rome or Venice, but we did think it reasonable (for 160-200 euros per night for rooms) to expect well-crafted, fresh meals and frendly, competent service -- the kind we've enjoyed at many a country hotel in Europe over the years.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ingleseitalianato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

A great location BUT you need a car. You are literally in the middle of nowhere. The room we stayed in was good although a bit small to be called a 'deluxe' one. The first night we had supper with the owners and other guests at the Castle itself. Food was good (although not a lot of it!) and so was the ambience. What I think was missing was a bit of 'surround' music (classical would have been fab!). Too much noise of cutlery ad glasses was going on. Breakfast was average. They have sweet cakes (all homemade) which suit Italian taste but not foreign people. My (English) boyfriend did not like breaktas at all and found it actually quite poor.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleGemNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castello_di_Petroia, Proprietario at Castello di Petroia, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2010

Thank you for the information.
Anyway, i would like to inform you that we have renewed our staff of kitchen and restaurant, They are high skilled and professional, so now the service of dinner and breakfast is clearly better.
During the dinner there is now a surround of elegant and romantic music and we have made some works to soundproof our kithchen.
Our breakfast cakes are all homemade and have the italian flavour.

Carlo Claudio Sagrini.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

We stayed here for two nights in June a part of a two week holiday. The location and setting of the hotel is amazing, and creates a great first impression. The medieval style is lovely and it made for a great experience.

The pool area again is in a wonderful setting, and we truly did feel completely relaxed looking out at the views.

Dinner is served at a set time of 20.30 for all guests, starting with canapes and apperitifs either on the terrace or in the restaurant. Whilst the overall experience of dinner was good we actually found the food and table service slightly disappointing for a hotel of this standard. Although the price taking into account the courses and alcohol was ok. Breakfast was actually the worst experienced for the entire holiday, offering little choice.

The receptionists and owner were extremely friendly and welcoming however we found the restaurant staff slightly less so.

The other disapointment was that the double bed in our room was in fact two single beds pushed together. We found this quite uncomfortable as the gap continued to widen throughout the night. I would imagine that the majority of guests here are couples and therefore really they should be proper double beds.

Overall we did really enjoy our stay, and would definitely recommend this hotel however given the price tag there are a couple of improvements needed.

I would definitely reccommend a trip to near by Gubbio which is a beautiful town to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2008

We stayed here for only one night during a tour of Italy. This castle is amazing, it's medival and has been lovingly restored by it's owners. We had a large suite in the old part of the castle and it was wonderful, thick solid walls with small windows, a huge stain glass entrance doorway, old pictures and amazing views over the valley. We stayed for dinner and were so glad we did, we highly recommend paying the extra. Dinner started with apperitifs on the terrace served by the smartly dressed waiter, where we had chance to meet the others guests, we then were called into the grand dinning room where we drank fabulous wines and enjoyed a wonderful rustic and authentic Italian meal of several courses. We ate with the owner and drank and chatted until the small hours. This is an amazing piece of history that we were lucky to experience, highly recommended!

Stayed: September 2006
Thank darrenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews