We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hands down favorite of Umbrian Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Ducale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Gubbio
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Hands down favorite of Umbrian Trip”
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We took a 9 night self guided tour of Umbrian hill towns and our favorite town and Hotel was the Relais Ducale in Gubbio. I had prebooked a room at a very reasonable rate and upon arrival found that they had upgraded us. What a pleasant surprise!! However, when I found out the room with the deck overlooking the beautiful gardens, town, and valley was available I upgraded myself even further and chose it. It was wonderful. It was very clean, with a comfortable bed, amazing views and the deck was incredible. The Hotel has a quirky charm that I loved. They have done an excellent job hiring and all the staff was to be commended for their friendliness and helpfulness. We ate in both restaurants ( Bosone Garden and Taverna del Lupo) and both were excellent. (And up to this point in the trip we had gotten more than our share of something we didn't think was possible---BAD ITALIAN FOOD). The charming bar at the Hotel was also good, we had lunch there. The only downside for us was the difficulty of driving in Gubbio. How we made it there, I hate to even think. I will never take another driving trip abroad without a GPS. We were nuts. Once there, we parked the car in the Car Park and didn't use it again until we left. There has been some talk about the bells at night. I liked them. My husband...not so much. They do ding every 15 minutes. I found it charming. I will probably not have the opportunity to get back to Gubbio, but I am so glad I stayed in this Hotel for the time I was there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwayspacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    206
    63
    18
    8
See reviews for
87
338
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moab Utah USA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We stayed at Ducale in January, it was cold and rainy . Our room had a stone ceiling that made us feel warm and cozy. We met the owners and they were extremely accommodating and very helpful with local hints and a ride to the garage where we parked our car. The room was clean and unique, there is a minibar in there but we did not touch anything, so I can't tell how expensive it was. there is breakfast and an amazing cappuccino was complimentary.The thing that impressed us the most was the Tunnel inside the hotel, ask about it and walk in it...

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertHillsBnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Just returned from a two week stay in Italy with 5 days at the Relais Ducale hotel in Gubbio. This is one of several hotels owned by the same group and is actually managed by an American, Shaun, who is married to the owneres daughter. The hotel ia in afantastic location with the entire valley below you. I noted the comments about the bells which do go off every 15 minutes but were not a problem for us as far as sleeping and we were in the front rooms. Light sleepers may think differently. the stairs are an issue if you would have any disabilities. As mentioned the rooftop gardens are a great place to relax and have a glass of wine or read. Parking is down at the bottom of the town and the hotel will pick you up there along with your luggage as there is some difficulty finding the hotel because of the traffic pattern. Most of the staff was very obliging requarding any requests.Only one seemed put off but that maybe his personality as he was most helpful when we checked out early in the morning. I would agree that the breakfasts were average and the breakfast area not too appealing.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tknee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We had a fairly mixed experience with the hotel. The hotel is at the stop of a very steep hill and once you get there, it's 46 steps up to the Reception area (although there is a stair lift and separate lift to make this for disabled travellers) and then a lift to your room. In the Umbrian heat this is a bit of a challenge!

Our room was large and lovely with a great view (although small windows). We didn't have a balcony but our room was next to the beautiful but underused rooftop garden where we enjoyed sharing a bottle of wine in the evenings.

The hotel staff on the whole were friendly although one was pretty rude and grumpy despite us giving him a sizeable tip on day one!

Breakfast was incredibly basic and not particularly quality ingredients for a 4* hotel - although we've found this quite often in Italy.

There are definitely bells! They ring every 15 minutes and the pattern is loud dongs for the hour and short dongs for the quarter hour, so 9:15 would be 9 loud dongs followed by one short dong; 9:30 would be 9 loud dongs followed by two short dongs, etc..... It can get a bit tedious and, if you are a light sleeper this would make it very difficult to switch off. Ear-plugs help.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wozmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We have just returned from four nights at this hotel and I've got to say it's hard to fault. Yes there are a lot of stairs (they have lifts but stairs as well) and yes, there is no on-site parking but overall great hotel. We went to Gubbio for a wedding which is a lovely place to have one! Our room had a superb view over the rooftops of Gubbio and the valley below. When you threw open the window the combination of the fresh mountain air and the church bells was very romantic. I certainly didn't hear any bells late at night and we both enjoyed good sleeps for the 4 nights we were there. Staff were good and very willing to help including taking us and our luggage to where our car was parked in the public car park when we checked out. We had to ask though, they didn't offer! One of the highlights of this hotel, apart from its location was sitting in one of it's beautiful, quiet courtyards and just reading for a hour or so and admiring the stunning view (not to mention the amazing wisteria!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbourneboy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stopped at Relais Ducale for one night on our way to the coast Ancona to catch a ferry to Croatia. The room at Relais Ducale had a view of the entire valley and we were quite pleased when we checked in. The room itself was quite plain with no frills but the view made up for it all (or so we thought). What we hadn't counted on were the church bells that rang EVERY FIFTEEN MINUTES ALL NIGHT LONG. We were unable to get a wink of sleep! We thought that the bells would stop at midnight (or at least only ring once an hour) but they continued all night long. We didn't get any sleep at all.

We couldn't believe that this hadn't been mentioned in any of the review that we saw. We spent the next couple of nights trying to recover from this horrible night with no sleep.

The town of Gubbio is lovely--it is a medieval village set up against a mountain and it has a funicular that is like a stand-up chair lift that goes up the mountain providing a view of the entire valley. Gubbio is worth a visit but I would not stay overnight here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiscerningTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

As I scroll down the list of previous reviews of Relais Ducale, I am glad to see that we are following in the path of many happy guests. We drove to Gubbio, and those of you who have been there will understand the nightmareof driving in the town for visitors who did not know where to go!! The Hotel happily came out to rescue us and see us safely settled.
We much enjoyed the meal at the Lupo, owned by the same people.
We think it's the place to stay in the town, you'll know why when you get there, but it's sister hotel is nearly as well located. It's a safe bet to stay here; you won't be disappointed. We weren't and we're pretty picky about where we stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandvdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gubbio hotels
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#3 of 23 in Gubbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
8.3 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#5 of 23 in Gubbio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sporting Hotel
Sporting Hotel
#6 of 23 in Gubbio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bosone Palace
Hotel Bosone Palace
#8 of 23 in Gubbio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Ducale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Ducale Hotel

Property: Relais Ducale Hotel
Address: Piazza Grande , 5 | Via Galeotti 19, 06024, Gubbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gubbio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gubbio
#5 Family Hotel in Gubbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Ducale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of this well preserved medieval town of Gubbio, you find an exclusive four-star hotel, the Relais Ducale, part of the Duke of Montefeltro's former palace. We have no words to describe the beauty of this property and the kindness of the people that will look after our precious guests. The style of the hotel, characterized by unique vintage furniture and precious old paintings, romantic gardens, the warm and welcoming atmosphere transmits a "home away from home" feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Relais Ducale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Ducale Gubbio
Hotel Relais Ducale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing