We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful setting, great host!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Le Casacce
Ranked #8 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Gubbio
Certificate of Excellence
Raanana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful setting, great host!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in September. After arriving too late to go shopping for supplies, Carlo very kindly brought us a selection of supplies so we could cook dinner in the apartment. We stayed in the Trilocale which has 2 bedrooms and one bathroom, plus kitchen and dining/lounge area. We swam twice in the pool which has amazing views, but the water was extremely cold already in September. Carlo was a great host, telling us about all kinds of places to go and visit that we would not have found on our own, and he speaks great English.
The kitchen was well equipped, and we cooked lots of meals there.
Very isolated, so you definitely need a car here.
Just be prepared for rustic - lots of crickets, millipedes,scorpions, mosquitos, daddy longlegs, etc. Not for the squeamish...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latte_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    22
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
126
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is our first visit to Le Casacce in Umbria. I had used Agriturismo before so knew what to expect, peaceful and rustic accommodation, and Le Casacce did not disappoint. We were the only English people there but were warmly welcomed by Carlos who speaks very good English and has a laid back approach, which fits in very well with the surroundings. The accommodation was super and very clean, which is important to my partner. We had a 2 bed cottage with an outside terrace and enjoyed the space that that gave is. There is a short walk to the delightful pool area keeping the cottage quite from any noise. The pool has the most spectacular view over the valley and because there were no children, was an ideal place to spend time looking at the beautiful countryside.

As we were there in August and Italy is hot then, the temperature was early to mid 30C, it was good to be up in the Umbrian hills with the cooling winds which blew each day.

There are local restaurants, but you have to go buy car, so we chose to cook ourselves, which we enjoyed. My only complaint there was there was no oven. The local supermarket in Umbertide was very average, but adequate to stock up for the week. If you arrive on a Saturday or Sunday as we did be aware there are no shops open on Sunday so we could not get provisions until Monday.

If you want a place to ‘Get Away From It All’ then this is the place for it. We did not do a lot we just used the pool, read books and went for walks, cooked and drank the local wine. You need a car and beware the ride up the lane to the cottage is more suited to a 4x4 than the small hire care we had

Trips are an easy distance away – Perugia is worth a visit and although Assisi is a tourist trap it is a must as is spectacular

I would recommend this to anyone how likes the rustic life and a quiet place. Not a venue for kids who get bored easily. If we went to Umbria again we would certainly go back to Le Casacce

We had a super time, Tim and Debs

Room Tip: Make sure you book a cottage with an outside terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimAndDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2011

After a tiring 2 day journey from England we received a warm welcome from Carlo and were taken to our apartment which was tastefully decorated and very homely. We had a wonderfully peaceful holiday and found all the beautiful Umbrian towns easily thanks to Carlo's excellent english and clear directions when we requested them.
Viviana is always smiling and their evening meal or "cena" is a must!
Next time we will come in the early summer to ensure better weather and to be able to use the pool but I'm sure Carlo and Viviana would make your stay a pleasure any time of the year.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2011

I have stayed at Le Casacce twice in the last 4 years and will be returning there in June 2011. Surely two repeat visits speak for themselves! I first stayed with two friends in 2007 and then returned with my partner Ross in 2009. This year Ross and I are returning with 4 other friends.
Carlo and Viviana are generous, friendly hosts who are always ready to assist with information on places to visit, how to get there and the wide range of activities within easy driving distance of Le Casacce. The farm stay itself is beautifully constructed out of a combination of old and new buildings which blend magnificently together. They are very tastefully decorated, clean and fully equipped. Every apartment has an appealing outdoor sitting/eating area and the pool area is also beautiful. It is peaceful with panoramic views and easy to get to. Viviana is indeed an outstanding cook and the special dinners she cooks for guests are truly memorable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannaFremantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gubbio
10.0 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 24 in Gubbio
532 reviews
4.4 mi away
Agriturismo Acquacalda
Agriturismo Acquacalda
#2 of 6 in Montone
138 reviews
13.8 mi away
Agriturismo La Ginestrella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Agriturismo La Casetta di Chiara
12.9 mi away
Agriturismo Val di Boccio
Agriturismo Val di Boccio
#1 of 2 in Carbonesca
195 reviews
12.8 mi away
Agriturismo Foglie
Agriturismo Foglie
#6 of 80 in Gubbio
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Le Casacce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Le Casacce

Property: Agriturismo Le Casacce
Address: loc. Pieve D'Agnano 6, 06024, Gubbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Gubbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient Umbrian / Tuscany stone farmhouse which lies in a typical hilly landscape with olive trees and oaks woods. Astonishing views over the sun set and the Tiber river valley. Relaxing and inspiring, ideal starting point to visit Umbria and south Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Le Casacce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing