We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No ka io! da best!”
Review of La Cuccagna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gubbio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Cuccagna
Ranked #2 of 37 Gubbio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Very wornderful accomodations, charming, warm and excellent amenities. The surroundings are beautiful, close to fabulous visiting spots, the owners are warm, welcoming and accomodating. Highly recommend this place where St. Francis tamed the wolf!! very creative energy, place of renewal and peace, sun and warmth!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satamoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for La Cuccagna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 196 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2010

Ciao Salvatore, Sarah and Rosa! Aloha!

This beautiful retreat was given to me as a gift from my family in Italy. I send you all kisses if you read this! I felt very much at home here and if I could've stayed longer to continue to sit, meditate, hike, relax, or create art or simply breath in the clean crisp aromas of Gubbio... I would stay forever.

The retreat is high above everything. To get there is an uphill drive into the night sky through the aroma of forests , flora and fauna, a perfect prelude to a welcoming arrival by Salvatore and his charming wife, Sarah and daughter, Rosa. My room was so beautiful. Redesigned by the owners from an old cowshed, it is called La Stalleta, a rustic, tastefully recreated farmhouse of old world country elegance which housed my friend and I. The shower in the bathroom was a wonderful amenity. It was like walking into a rainfall. After a day visiting Umbria's gorgeous countryside, it was nice to come "home" to that shower ... to begin a beautiful evening of festive food, music, dance and celebration. Salvatore and Sarah, having traveled far and wide, own a pair of Didgeridoos, traditional musical instruments of native Australians which we all shared in the experience of trying to play them... it was an unforgettable evening of friendship, laughter and sharing in food, music, dance and stories in their beautiful home. They are truly gracious!

The nights are quiet and tranquil.

The room is also equipped with a charming kitchen with everything you need to prepare a picnic basket for a day's sojourn exploring the historically rich medieval country side. There are village markets in the town to buy food, local wine, cheese, bread, etc. for a comfortable retreat stay and also day trip.

I understand an olympic size swimming pool was built onto the grounds and completed recently. Aaaahhh yes, La Cuccagna, thank you for a memorable experience in 2008. I am looking forward to visiting you once again in this lovely region of Umbria in 2011.


~June Segundo
Honolulu, Hawaii

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank june2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Leaving the plains of Umbria and climbing into the hills, you arrive at this totally unexpected sanctuary that is La Cuccagna. The views are stunning, and from the infinity pool incredible. We stayed in the old cow shed; any resemblance to a cow shed is long gone. The fully fitted kitchen, dining area, bedroom and shower room were beautifully equipped. Outside, the private terrace, facing West with dining furniture and barbecue, must be the most marvellous place to watch a sunset over the Umbrian hills with your drinks and supper.
As for Sal and Sarah, it would be difficult to find two more pleasant, agreeable and helpful hosts in Italy, or beyond.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ealbml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed in 'La Stalletta', the old cowshed, now a self catering holiday appartment. It was ideal for 2 adults and 2 small children because the fully equipped kitchenette meant that we could choose to stay in for dinner, and be independent for breakfast too. The children slept extremely soundly because there is absolutely no noise, plus if you close the shutters, there is total darkness! Fabulous for tired parents! Sarah and Salvatore are perfect hosts. They provide lots of helpful tips regarding what to do in the area, where to go shopping, where to eat... Oh, and they make pizza! Added bonus: if you fly Ryannair to Perugia, the airport is 20 mins from La Cuccagna. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We went out with a family of three young children to experience the beauty and culture that Umbria has to offer and we were certainly not disappointed.

La Cuccagna is in a most superb setting, high amongst the hills of the region, with views across the valleys and peeks of the area. Our hosts did their up-most to ensure we had one of our best family holidays ever, with good local knowledge and helpful advice. One of the high spots of the stay was the horizon pool - it is positioned to give the best views of the area, truly an amazing experience not to be missed.

The local family restaurants were very accommodating and their quality totally justified Italy as a nation of food lovers! There are too many sights to mention here but the area is steeped in history and there will be something for everyone.

This is an area we would recommend for all and there is no better base to enjoy it from than La Cuccagna!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasFamily123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Lucia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gubbio hotels
9.2 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
4.1 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
547 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#3 of 23 in Gubbio
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Relais Ducale Hotel
Relais Ducale Hotel
#4 of 23 in Gubbio
587 reviews
11.4 mi away
Castello di Baccaresca
Castello di Baccaresca
#1 of 37 in Gubbio
315 reviews
9.2 mi away
Residenza Le Logge
Residenza Le Logge
#4 of 37 in Gubbio
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuccagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuccagna

Address: Frazione Santa Cristina No. 22, 06024, Gubbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Gubbio
Price Range: $84 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuccagna offers boutique style B&B and self-catering accommodation, finished with the highest quality luxury linens, plush towels, fluffy bathrobes and organic artisan toiletries. Our rooms are rustic and simple in harmony with the natural surroundings. Furnishings are mostly handmade locally in the original style of an Umbrian farmhouse and we have used local artists, ceramics and textiles in the finishing touches. Our hilltop position offers peace and tranquillity with stunning, unspoilt views over the hills and valleys. Our horizon pool has an infinity edge that drops off into the rolling Umbrian countryside with views that stretch into neighbouring Tuscany. We are an English / Italian couple who decided to find a little piece of paradise in Umbria and open our home to offer guests a unique and authentic experience. Our guests receive a warm welcome and we pride ourselves in ensuring that they receive the highest level of personal hospitality and enjoy the most relaxing stay possible. We love the Umbrian way of life and all it has to offer and it gives us great pleasure to help our guests enjoy the very best stay in our stunning surroundings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing