We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of La Cuccagna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gubbio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Cuccagna
Ranked #2 of 37 Gubbio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have stayed here approx 1/2 year ago. I was my worst experience ever in a b&b. I was never planning to write about it, however i can not believe all positive reactions on this website.
Upon arrival, the first thing which was said to us was to move our car (after driving hours with a baby). A welcome drink was not offered and the breakfast was awfully poor and was measured till the crumb. The photo's on the website are very nice, and do reflect the place, however you need to realise that the first restaurant is 25 minutes by car.
The room is way too dark and we can not find ourselves in the "perfect hostess" we find described here.
We left early, which than again they took sympatically.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

We are very sorry to read your review, especially as it seems your motivations are because you are upset that so many others seem to have enjoyed their time at La Cuccagna and written us such nice reviews.

We remember your stay well and your young daughter for whom we provided all sorts of toys and extras including free drinks and snacks. We remember how disappointed you were that we were unfortunately experiencing an unseasonal spell of bad weather when you arrived and seeing how upset you were we made extra endeavours to ensure your utmost comfort here at La Cuccagna.

When you were with us you made no complaints at all and you were very complimentary about La Cuccagna, your room was spotlessly clean and we extended you all the personal services and attention we offer all our guests. When you approached us about leaving early because of the rain we were most understanding and did not charge any cancellation fee.

We are sorry if moving your car offended you but we saw you had made a wrong turn and had not come into La Cuccagna's driveway so we politely directed you to our entrance and guest car park.

When you arrived we showed you where to find free tea and coffee at any time and we gave your daughter a free organic snack from the bar.

We are not sure we understand your comments about breakfast as we serve a full continental breakfast, buffet style with many organic and homemade compliments, which guests can help themselves to as much as they like.

We are lucky enough to have at least 7 or 8 lovely restaurants within 15 mins drive, two of which are within a few minutes. Dining at some of these restaurants is an authentic experience that most guests claim add to their stay in our part of Umbria.

We are a young couple who have opened our home because we are passionate about sharing our little piece of Umbrian paradise and offering our guests the opportunity to experience the 'real' Italy.

We are truly saddened by your review and are struggling to understand what could justify a one star 'terrible' review. We strongly feel this does not reflect La Cuccagna and the services we provided for you. We do hope that potential guests will find a better reflection of La Cuccagna in the other reviews so many of our other guests have kindly written for us.

Kind regards,

Sarah and Salvatore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for La Cuccagna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 197 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

My civil partner, kids and I enjoyed a fantastic three night stay at La Cuccagna last September. The rooms are lovely, as are the patio areas and dining room. Breakfast was delicious - especially the homemade fig jam. The swimming pool is stunningly situated overlooking the Umbrian valleys. We spent far more time lounging around the pool reading and chatting than we had planned - simply because we couldn't drag ourselves away.
Our hosts, Salvatore and Sarah, could not have been more welcoming, hospitable or informative. They took so much trouble to ensure that we had organised where we were dining in the evenings and which towns we chose to visit during the daytime. It's a great location for exploring the nearby villages and towns. We will definitely return to stay at La Cuccagna.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

On arrival, Sarah couldn't have been more welcoming and booked us into a local restaurant for that evening. Throughout our stay, both Sal and Sarah were great hosts, managing to be available for questions and assistance, without being intrusive.

The room was lovely and the breakfast delicious, plus the pool was stunning.
Having said that, there was plenty to do in the local area, so we went out most days and even got to meet some of the locals down at the deli in Casa del Diavolo and at a festa in a hamlet nearby. We also went wine tasting, which Sarah organised for us.

We wished we'd stayed longer and wouldn't hesitate to recommend La Cuccagna!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennysnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I spent a wonderful 5 days at La Cuccagna. Sarah and Salvatore are excellent hosts and full of suggestions for sights to see and places to eat in the area. The location of La Cuccagna is breathtaking - 5 miles up with a spectacular view of Umbria from the balcony and pool area. We were there the first week of November, during olive harvest time. Sarah and Salvatore took us to their olive grove, located on the side of a nearby mountain, where we spent a wonderful day harvesting olives and enjoying a picnic lunch. The next day we accompanied our olives to the local olive press, where we observed the process for converting olives into olive oil. We left with a 3 liter container of our just-pressed olives. I also recommend Salvatore's Umbrian cooking class - a feast of tastes that you help to prepare. Our time at La Cuccagna was so enjoyable that we fully intend a return trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at La Cuccagna for a week and really enjoyed our holiday. We were in La Stalletta which was ideal for us with a kitchen/living area as well as our own patio.
The location of the place is stunning and the views from the pool are particularly wonderful. We visited many local towns including Gubbio, Montefalco and Assisi but were equally happy relaxing by the pool.
Sarah and Sal were incredibly helpful and recommended some lovely nearby restaurants including Oasi Verde and Borgo Di Carpiano. They were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble.
Our only slight complaints would be that La Stalleta wasn't as private as we had hoped as it directly faces the main house and the owners front door. Also we were a little disappointed that we missed pizza night but that is probably our own fault for going out of season in October and on the plus side we often got the pool to ourselves!
Overall we had a fabulous holiday and would definitely recommend La Cuccagna.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLC113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

There are few places that one wishes to return to even before you have left. La Cuccagna is our "Brigadoon". We saw the Google Earth view and it looked so isolated, yet we knew the Umbrian landscape would reveal the many hill top towns and hilly terrain. Having never before visited Umbria, we wondered if we would feel the same as we did when we visited Tuscany. This B&B was MORE than we had hoped for. Sarah and Salvatore are the most sincere and wonderful hosts. They truly meld their business with their personal touch, putting them selves in a position to be guides, hosts, and truly became friends. They shared with us a little piece of their lives, making exciting pizza nights twice. They take care of their guests in a superb manner and made us feel so special. We stayed in La Stalletta, the converted cowshed. We loved it because we had total privacy, serene nights and quiet mornings. It is equiped with an extremely comfortable bed, one that has been researched and custom made to provide unbelievable comfort, fully equipped kitchen, sofa, bathroom and patio. We barbequed, lounged in the hammock, swam in the gorgeous pool and felt reluctant to leave. Our two week stay was full of authentic experiences, marvellous restaurants, hill top villages and charming people. The couple who own the local grocery store were so kind and sweet and made it so easy to shop for breakfast items as we were partially self catering. We both cannot wait to return to this little spot in Umbria where we found beauty, peace, a restorative spirit, adventure and to meet again the wonderful hosts. We have lived in several countries and have travelled extensively and with this history this is why we highly recommend a stay at La Cuccagna. We'll be back.

Room Tip: the cow shed provides privacy and quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A long held wish to return to this beautiful, special place was finally realised, this time for a few nights B&B and without the children!
What struck us immediately was that although the house and it's grounds have matured and there have been a few improvements here and there, it has lost none of it's beautiful rustic simple charm.

The room was tasteful and simple, with comfortable beds that take no getting used to. Breakfasts were generous and full of home-made accompaniments including yoghurt, and jams and served in the lovely central dining room which opens out onto the veranda. Since our last visit this has been furnished with large comfortable "outdoor" sofas, these make it a really luxurious place to relax with the views all round.

We reluctantly prized ourselves away most days to admire the sights of Gubbio, Spello and Perugia but made time to enjoy the early evenings on back at the house too.

We were amazed at the amount of excellent restaurants within easy reach of La Cuccagna, even if you are here for a week or so there are more than enough to try a different one each night and Sarah and Sal give very good recommendations, they really seem to know their stuff.

All in all it was everything we had hoped for which isn't always the way when you re-visit somewhere, I can't praise this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Early booking recommended!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spinach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gubbio hotels
4.1 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
549 reviews
9.2 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
9.2 mi away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#3 of 23 in Gubbio
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Relais Ducale Hotel
Relais Ducale Hotel
#4 of 23 in Gubbio
588 reviews
11.4 mi away
Castello di Baccaresca
Castello di Baccaresca
#1 of 37 in Gubbio
316 reviews
9.2 mi away
Residenza Le Logge
Residenza Le Logge
#4 of 37 in Gubbio
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuccagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuccagna

Address: Frazione Santa Cristina No. 22, 06024, Gubbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Gubbio
Price Range: $83 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuccagna offers boutique style B&B and self-catering accommodation, finished with the highest quality luxury linens, plush towels, fluffy bathrobes and organic artisan toiletries. Our rooms are rustic and simple in harmony with the natural surroundings. Furnishings are mostly handmade locally in the original style of an Umbrian farmhouse and we have used local artists, ceramics and textiles in the finishing touches. Our hilltop position offers peace and tranquillity with stunning, unspoilt views over the hills and valleys. Our horizon pool has an infinity edge that drops off into the rolling Umbrian countryside with views that stretch into neighbouring Tuscany. We are an English / Italian couple who decided to find a little piece of paradise in Umbria and open our home to offer guests a unique and authentic experience. Our guests receive a warm welcome and we pride ourselves in ensuring that they receive the highest level of personal hospitality and enjoy the most relaxing stay possible. We love the Umbrian way of life and all it has to offer and it gives us great pleasure to help our guests enjoy the very best stay in our stunning surroundings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing