We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Perfect Place”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Assisi, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Silva G
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Perfect Place”
Reviewed November 5, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Santa Margherita is just beautiful. The beds were amazingly comfortable, everything well equipped . Walks and views were lovely, perfect setting for our yoga and meditation group. Fab walk to the Bosco and the restaurant is great. Would highly recommend. ...
Thank you Benedetta and Roberto

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful views and hearing the bells of Assisi
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomer L
1 review
“Great place and perfect hosts”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I traveled with my family (6 adults, 3 teenagers, 2 preschoolers and a baby) to Umberia and stayed at the Santa Margherita villa for 6 nights. It was a great experience and I strongly recommend on it.
Roberto, the host, was super responsive. He was available for every question we had and always made sure that we have everything that we need in the villa and outside of it as well. On the day of arrival, we asked Roberto for a place to shop some food and he made an effort to take us to the place himself.
The Villa itself was much above our expectations. The Kitchen is very well equipped and have enough place for the whole 12 people to sit around the table (including a baby chair that Roberto brought especially for us). In addition, there were many options for arranging the rooms (how many people will sleep in each room) and in each room there was plenty of space. All the showers and toilets (5 if i remember correctly) were clean and large as well.
We stayed off-season and didn't use the pool and most of the garden, but we can definitely say that it looks awesome! Like the view to Assisi :-)
Thanks you Roberto (and to your very nice family)

Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepastor...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect retreat for groups in a beautiful location at the foot of Assisi”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We spent a fantastic week at Casale Santa Margherita as three families with our babies, toddlers and preschoolers. It is well set up for children, with a baby gate at the top of the stairs and play equipment outside. We even managed to have cots and high chairs for three babies, which is quite unusual!

The approach to the house through secluded gates and a long drive through the olive grove is very memorable and exciting! We were welcomed by the whoke family, which was such a nice surprise. When we had unpacked, the first thing we checked out was the pool, which is enormous. We spent lots of time outside, barbecuing, swimming, and the children loved to explore the grounds and make themselves at home. As the house was so comfortable, we honestly didn't do lots of day trips and just spent our time eating lots of good Italian cheese and chatting on the outside terrace. We fit six adults, two children and three babies round the outside table.

Benedetta and Roberto have really thought of lots of lovely touches, with a welcome bottle of wine on arrival and some tasty local snacks. They have made the house very practical with a proper laundry room, a bathroom for every bedroom and a fantastic spacious lounge, which meant even with three families, we didn't feel at all crammed in. The bedrooms are also spacious and the walls of the house are very thick so you have a real sense of privacy,

Assisi is a very beautiful place, and the views from this house are breathtaking, especially at sunrise (we got to see a lot of those with toddlers!). The woods of San Francesco nearby are very peaceful and an easy walk with children. It was great to have something like that right on our doorstep.

I now need to find an excuse to go back in winter to try out the wood burning stove and finally get round to playing with the pizza oven!

Thank you to both of you, and your beautiful children for a very special and luxurious holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: The mosquitoes!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2016
thank you so much!!! we hope to see you again in the future! may be in winter, the cottage is so cosy also at Christmas time!
Best wishes,
Benedetta e Roberto
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happyholi...
oxford
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful villa with very welcoming hosts”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here for two weeks and this villa was perfect for us. Roberto and Benedetta were very easy to contact and both spoke excellent English which was very helpful. The villa is only a 25 minute walk, or an easy drive, from Assisi, while being in a secluded position in the countryside. The pool is large and very refreshing, and the view of the Rocco from the house is delightful. 5 ensuite bathrooms meant it was great for two families with teenagers.
The wood fired pizza oven was great fun (if time consuming!) Our boys loved cooking some really fantastic pizzas, and the dough is available in the local supermarket if you don't want to make it! Many local historic towns are easily accessible; we visited Spello, Trevi, Montefalco and Spoleto among others.
I don't think the photos of this beautiful villa do it justice on the website - it's really lovely and I would very much like to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2016
Thank you so much dear Meriel!!
we hope to see you again in the future here in Assisi!
Lovely,
Benedetta e Roberto
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annwblay
Long Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Italian Villa”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Roberto and Bendetta were so welcoming to us for our stay at their villa. We loved this home, it was very comfortable and accommodated our family so well. We loved the pool, so refreshing after a day in Assisi. The kitchen was well equipped, and we had as many as 12 for breakfast one morning.
The bedrooms were very comfortable, the living area was spacious.
We enjoyed the quiet neighborhood, the villa is very private with a security gate at the entrance.
Roberto was very helpful in helping us with recommendations for restaurants (we organized a rehearsal dinner for our sons wedding at a restaurant he recommended, Carfagna).
He also was helpful in helping us find transportation for our group of 24 to go wine tasting in the Montefalco area.
Overalll, this was a beautiful villa, we loved staying here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the home for our large family
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2016
Thank you very much Ann, we hope to see you again for a longer period!
LOvely,
Roberto e Benedetta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamMoorh...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful and Peaceful Retreat”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Fantastic Villa in a fantastic location couldn't have wished for a more tranquil and peaceful setting. Benedetti and Roberto were fantastic hosts and couldn't do enough for us to enjoy our stay. Outside space and pool were all really clean and well maintained. Our favourite was the BBQ area and the pizza oven which was brilliant. All the bedrooms were large in size and all were equipped with en-suite so each room was private which was good as we stayed with other couples here. Kitchen and living are also well equipped. Couldn't recommend staying here more and two brilliant hosts we loved it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor Pizza OVen, Pool and BBQ Area
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mapeeps
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a comfortable retreat”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed with my parents and my mother-in-law and everyone was happy with the cleanliness and comfort of the home. A short drive outside of town, the location is very convenient to both Assisi and Santa Maria degli Angeli. Our only disappointment was that the elevator was out of service, which left one of our party sleeping alone on the main floor. The yard was a lovely spot to sit in the late afternoon with our cocktails and looks like a good spot for children to burn off some energy after a day of touring. We also did a day trip from here to Gubbio, so the house makes a nice base for exploring more than just Assisi.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2016
Thank You Catherine.
We really appriciate your words.
We are very sorry for the elevator; the day before your arriving the technican fixed it and we really don't how come then it didn't work.

We are very happy to have met such a nice family, we really enjoy our few minutes laughing togehter... we wait you again, for a longer period!
Keep in touch
best wishes
Benedetta, Roberto and their kids! ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing