We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous cooking class”

In Campagna Cooking Classes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Share a day with an Italian family. Join Letizia for a half day, hands-on cookery course in her restored farmhouse in the Umbrian countryside. The cooking classes offer an informal, friendly blend of modern and traditional Italian cooking techniques using ingredients that are fresh and in season. Lessons include a free market tour with gourmet tasting, the class, held in the farmhouse professional kitchen and plenty sampling of the delicious food prepared by the students. The cooking school has received enthusiastic reviews in Tripadvisor as well as press in several publications like E.g. Food and Wine magazine, National Geographic and BBC TV.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous cooking class”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I had the great pleasure of joining one of Letizia's cooking classes in September while I was staying in Umbria. We were a small group, only five of us, and we started the day with a visit to Terra Umbra where we tasted oil, balsamic, salume, cheeses and liqueurs. When we got to Letizia's amazing B&B we had a glass of wine on her terrace with stunning views across the valley while she prepared the kitchen, then the "hard" work began. We made two different types of pasta and a wonderful crostata. The day was fantastic, lots of fun and full of excellent advice from Letizia, who is a wonderful cook and a very warm and funny person. I had the most amazing day and was sorry when it finished. I would love to do it all again as it was an fabulous experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DiBi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Assisi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cooking with Letizia”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We loved the intro lesson & tasting of olive oil, balsamic, salumi, chocolate at Terra Umbra in 'downtown' San Maria del Angeli and then the winding drive up the hill to your wonderful home. What followed was truly enjoyable, informative & of course satisfying to the palette & belly! We all played a part in preparing the meal of antipasti, pork scallopini, whole potatoes baked in rock salt, zucchini salad (layered with garlic & lemon juice, then topped with toasted almonds), and to finish fig crostini & home made limoncello.
Thank you so much. We look forward to meeting you again
Guy&  Faye
Melbourne Australia

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GuyR08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best days (and there were twenty great days!)”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had an extraordinary time hanging out with Letizia in her beautiful kitchen making amazing food! She is delightful, a great teacher, and a joyous spirit. We learned how to make pasta and, upon returning home to the US, we made it on our own and it turned out beautifully! Cannot wait to return!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Second Time is the Charm”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is our second time taking Letizia's Pasta Making Class. This year, we brought our 17 year old daughter along. What a great way to spend a day in Umbria! From the olive oil, cheese, vinegar, meat tasting in Santa Maria degli Angeli to the EASY instructions for making our own Strangozzi pasta, Letizia hosted us for an incredible day of cooking...and eating & drinking. She is such a joy and even honored my request to make the dessert a chocolate one to appease my daughter. Last year our class was filled with all Americans. This year we had a blend of Americans & Dutch. What a fun day! Grazie Letizia!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank THM35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
1,843 reviews
370 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 648 helpful votes
“Italian citizen who was taught some lessons.. Excellent time”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

First off I am a Italian citizen who knows a thing about food from travel and having a gourmet kitchen at home. I signed up my family to take a class because we live in Umbria part time and wanted something close to the house. We could not have been happier in the experience that we had. She is a pleasure to work with, listen too and be in the kitchen with. We ate during the summer months out on her terrace/patio... THE views were utterly spectacular. that alone would be a highlight.. She worked with my two boys and us on pasta dishes, cantaloupe dessert and some side dishes that i can't recall at the moment. A definite highlight of our trip. I have friends who are going for their honeymoon out to our house and I can't wait to hear how much they love the time with Leitzia.. A cooking class that all novice and experienced cooks should do.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed In Campagna Cooking Classes also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Allerona, Province of Terni
 

Been to In Campagna Cooking Classes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing