We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hotel, and I do mean "little".”
Review of Roma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roma Hotel
Ranked #39 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I normally only do reviews for really bad or really good places but the Hotel Roma is special, just like Assisi. Also, even though we are from Canada we never expect nor do we want the so called comforts of a chain hotel. The location is fantastic, the food in the restaurant is wonderful, and it is a great value. The only thing is the rooms are really tiny. When we first checked in we thought how cute and clean everything was and couldn’t wait to shut the door to the bathroom and have a shower since the bathroom is the shower stall. There were 2 tiny beds that made loud creaking noises at the slightest movement so each of us lay awake each night afraid to move until the shouting and screaming started in the next room which drowned out any sound for several blocks. Now this could happen in any hotel except the particular acoustics of the plaster walls and room configuration seemed to increase the volume of the adjacent domestic dispute rather than dampen it
When we first arrived we were ready to give up regular life and move permanently to Assisi but after 4 days living on top of each other with sporadic sleep we were ready to leave. We would suggest that a 2 night stay would be ideal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 344 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. The location was great - right across the street from the Sta. Chaira church, and all sites in Assisi are within walking distance. While one can walk (with luggage) to the hotel from the last bus stop (Piazza Matteotti), it is much easier to get off at the preceding stop (Largo Properzio) and walk through the city gate directly to the hotel.

The room and bathroom were large and clean. There was WiFi and a TV, and the breakfast buffet was great. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arrived after a long journey to be met by the night porter, a lovely friendly man who's lack of English was redeemed by his willingness and determination with the computer ! He went abo e and beyond when he checked our planned journey on our departure day, unbidden And showed concern that we hadn't allowed enough time .

The room was cleen, serviced daily and had enough space for us !

Breakfast was of a good standard, the location was excellent

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binabery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

There's nothing to say about the location of Hotel Rome. It's placed in the very down town of Assisi, just opposite the Basilica of S. Chiara. The room was small for 4 people but since we were there for only one night it was not a big problem. Reception service & breakfast were regular.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I got one night for Euro 29, the room is little bit small, but very neat and clean, the location is very good, and only 5 mins walk from the bus station; the breakfast is good.
there is no A/C, but it is the fall already, really not need. Based on my arrival time and the price, can not beat it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikitafaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel is located right across the Chiesa Santa Chiara! Amazing locatipn. The view from the roomwas incredible. We could open the window and talk with the people entering the church. The rooms were ok, the breakfast ok too, nothing fancy, just coffee bread butter and jam. The staff was the only downside of the hotel. Not quite polite, but over all this hotel its a great deal in Assisi

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaconiaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

So clean, no a/c but fast and cool ceiling fan, great location, breakfast decent, friendly

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmaline410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
1.8 mi away
Da Elide
Da Elide
#15 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Rocca Hotel
La Rocca Hotel
#20 of 71 in Assisi
246 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Grazie
Hotel Le Grazie
#13 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#8 of 71 in Assisi
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#24 of 71 in Assisi
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma Hotel

Address: Piazza Santa Chiara 13-15, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
Price Range: $56 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing