We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ideale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ideale
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My two teenagers and I had a lovely stay at Hotel Ideale in July. The accommodations were large with a balcony overlooking the city. Cool breezes with olive scented air allowed to sleep without air conditioning. Breakfast in the garden overlooking the city and countryside was an amazing treat before wandering the streets of beautiful Assisi. The family that manages the hotel were very kind and helpful. It is an exceptional value. Ample parking or the bus drops you across the street at Matteotti.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maribeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    151
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
149
235
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This small, charming and classically European hotel is "an experience" ... the simple & plain, very small rooms and tiny bathrooms (don't expect luxury) is at first a bit disappointing ... but when you see the amazing views of Assisi and the spectacular Umbrian countryside from your room balcony and the courtyard deck ... the size/ and décor of the rooms/bathrooms immediately becomes part of the charm of this neat adventure. The hotel is located near the top of the hill (easy drive in/out) - and it is best to start your Assisi adventure from the top walking down through the sweet village streets. We are very glad we stayed at this hotel - the incredible view is an experience (... and there is cappuccino readily available in the charming little lobby). You can do Assisi in two days. Another memorable highlight of our Assisi adventure was attending mass at the lower Basilica (with choir) ... beautiful!!! ... (check on-line for times, etc.). We found it to be uniquely different from other hill-top towns ... a definite do! Enjoy! Ciao!

Room Tip: Get a room with balcony if possible ... although you really are not in the room that much - the spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonik322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
239 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Brilliant view from the balcony of this small hotel ideally positioned high up in the town. Rooms are quite basic and the en suite we had was small with a shower/ wet room and plastic curtain so the floor got soaked. breakfasts good. However for only 75 Euros per room this is excellent value for money so we put up with this inconvenience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Ideale for a 1&1/2 day visit to Assisi, a beautiful medieval religious village. The hotel offers clean rooms and bathrooms of decent size with ample free car park, very convenient in Assisi. It is very easy to get to just across the street from the huge Matteotti car park garage at the top end of Assisi. The views from the private balconies on the top 2 floors are fantastic. We had a top floor center room facing the valley below and the church of St. Chiara. We also had a side view of the dome of St. Rufolo. In short the location is "ideal" since you are at the top of the village a short 5 minute walk to the center of town and a pleasant downhill walk (about 15-20 minutes) to St. Francesco, the main attraction in Assisi. We walked back to the hotel without a problem. It is also near the roman amphitheater area and Rocca castle, which you can clearly see from the hotel's observation deck which is also has very beautiful views. The castle lit up at night is a beautiful sight. We did not visit the castle inside just saw it from the outside nearby after walking up a stairway lane that had signs pointing to the castle near St. Rufolo square.

The breakfast was varied and sufficiently filling with very good cappuccino and mixed juice. The owners were very nice and their limited English was not a problem. The gentleman (owner) who checked us in helped me with our luggage to our room since there are no elevators but this is not a problem for us even though we are both in our early 60s.

We would definitely recommend the Ideale for its location, price, parking and views and would not hesitate to stay there again if visiting Assisi which I highly recommend. We reserved directly with the hotel by email.

Room Tip: Top 2 floors with private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edgar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
942 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 595 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

What a wonderful 4 day stay we had at Hotel Ideale in May, all the reviews that I read on TA give a true representation of this family run hotel. I booked our room directly with the hotel, the email communication with the hotel was prompt, and later on I was able to negotiate with the hotel for them to purchase on my behalf 3-day ticket passes to the Calendimaggio festival which was on during our stay (an absolutely amazing event).

It was service with a smile from the moment we checked in to the moment we departed, English is not spoken by all but we all got by and understood one another. We were fortunate to be given room 31 which has stunning views in two directions, down into the valley and towards the centre of town. The room is simple, queen sized bed, desk, television, refrigerator, wardrobe, and free WIFI with good connection. The bathroom was clean and bright, plenty of hot water, and had a view as well. Our balcony with a small table and chairs, was a great place to relax, have a drink, the views were amazing. We slept very well, lovely and quiet, comfortable bed and pillows, with outside shutters on the doors to keep the room dark for a sleep in.

Breakfast is served from 7:30-9:30am in the dining room on the ground floor near reception, plenty of attention is given to you, on arrival you will be offered an espresso/cappuccino. The buffet consists of cereals, yoghurts, meat and cheese, fresh fruit, breads, cakes, cornettos, juice, tea/coffee, etc. There is plenty to get you started.

In the afternoon is was lovely to take a drink outside on the garden terrace overlooking the valley, the hotel sells snacks, alcohol and coffee from the bar.

While staying at the hotel we realised that being at the top end of Assisi was preferable, less walking up hill to get to the centre. We traveled by bus to and from the train station in Santa Maria degli Angeli to get to Assisi, purchasing our bus tickets at the news stand at the station. 'Line C' bus runs every 30 minutes to Assisi. Get off at the last stop 'Piazza Matteotti' and cross the road and you arrive at the hotel. Assisi is a lovely friendly village, and would definitely stay here again for a comfortable, well valued stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
397 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for a week in May. The hotel deserves its high rating on TA. The family that runs it is super nice, and it has a super location. No one likes to climb too many hills, and the hotel is at a high point in Assisi, so you can walk the full length of the town to reach Chiesa San Francesco without much climbing, for example.

Parking is always an issue in towns, but the Ideale has space for several cars inside its little olive grove. If they were full of cars (unlikely), a large pay lot is just across the road. Use Street View to see the entrance to the hotel and the parking opposite.

Breakasts were very good, with a wide selection of cakes, cheese, yoghurt, etc. They make very good cappucino here.

We asked for and got a top floor room with a balcony (there are three of these). I think it was number 31. The views from there in early morning and at sunset were worth the trip.

If you visit Assisi, stay at Hotel Ideale Turisti. Trust me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rondi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANCHORAGE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great owners, wonderful views and convenient on site parking. Many walled hill towns in the region have very difficult parking. Saw many people walking with their roller bags into the walled City of Assisi, probably going to a hotel without parking inside the wall. Ideale is "ideally" located right outside the wall, an easy short walk to go inside. They didn't have a balcony available our first night, but had no problem letting us move the next day when one became available. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Any balcony is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza
Hotel La Terrazza
#2 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
2.6 mi away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#5 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#8 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ideale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ideale

Property: Hotel Ideale
Address: Piazza Giacomo Matteotti 1, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Assisi
#6 Family Hotel in Assisi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ideale 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With gorgeous views of the valley! Cheap&Chic: You'll find everything you need for a pleasant Assisi stay in Hotel Ideale, a quiet room with view ,lovingly put togheter with elements of only italian design and Umbrian artisan works. .FREE WI FI .the bedrooms have a bed with excellent mattress SIMMONS, bedspread painted with lively colors with natural fibre, contemporary design. .the bathrooms are updated with beautiful contemporary finishings to include original Domiziani designed sinks. Each shower is equipped with both a wand and rainshower head, with crystal shower box . Hair-dryer and bathrooms courtesy kit . Tv, Minibar ,telephone . Air-conditioning with independent thermostat control room with balcony and view To make your stay as comfortable as possible, we provide the following services: - FREE PARKING among the olive trees of our garden, leaving you free to meander around Assisi on foot -GARDEN -PANORAMIC TERRACE BAR & CAFE any time of the day you may request a glass of wine accompanied by some tasty bruschetta and quality olive oil ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ideale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideale Turisti Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing