We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High on the hill.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ideale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ideale
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
949 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 621 helpful votes
“High on the hill.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

What a wonderful 4 day stay we had at Hotel Ideale in May, all the reviews that I read on TA give a true representation of this family run hotel. I booked our room directly with the hotel, the email communication with the hotel was prompt, and later on I was able to negotiate with the hotel for them to purchase on my behalf 3-day ticket passes to the Calendimaggio festival which was on during our stay (an absolutely amazing event).

It was service with a smile from the moment we checked in to the moment we departed, English is not spoken by all but we all got by and understood one another. We were fortunate to be given room 31 which has stunning views in two directions, down into the valley and towards the centre of town. The room is simple, queen sized bed, desk, television, refrigerator, wardrobe, and free WIFI with good connection. The bathroom was clean and bright, plenty of hot water, and had a view as well. Our balcony with a small table and chairs, was a great place to relax, have a drink, the views were amazing. We slept very well, lovely and quiet, comfortable bed and pillows, with outside shutters on the doors to keep the room dark for a sleep in.

Breakfast is served from 7:30-9:30am in the dining room on the ground floor near reception, plenty of attention is given to you, on arrival you will be offered an espresso/cappuccino. The buffet consists of cereals, yoghurts, meat and cheese, fresh fruit, breads, cakes, cornettos, juice, tea/coffee, etc. There is plenty to get you started.

In the afternoon is was lovely to take a drink outside on the garden terrace overlooking the valley, the hotel sells snacks, alcohol and coffee from the bar.

While staying at the hotel we realised that being at the top end of Assisi was preferable, less walking up hill to get to the centre. We traveled by bus to and from the train station in Santa Maria degli Angeli to get to Assisi, purchasing our bus tickets at the news stand at the station. 'Line C' bus runs every 30 minutes to Assisi. Get off at the last stop 'Piazza Matteotti' and cross the road and you arrive at the hotel. Assisi is a lovely friendly village, and would definitely stay here again for a comfortable, well valued stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    151
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
150
237
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
397 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for a week in May. The hotel deserves its high rating on TA. The family that runs it is super nice, and it has a super location. No one likes to climb too many hills, and the hotel is at a high point in Assisi, so you can walk the full length of the town to reach Chiesa San Francesco without much climbing, for example.

Parking is always an issue in towns, but the Ideale has space for several cars inside its little olive grove. If they were full of cars (unlikely), a large pay lot is just across the road. Use Street View to see the entrance to the hotel and the parking opposite.

Breakasts were very good, with a wide selection of cakes, cheese, yoghurt, etc. They make very good cappucino here.

We asked for and got a top floor room with a balcony (there are three of these). I think it was number 31. The views from there in early morning and at sunset were worth the trip.

If you visit Assisi, stay at Hotel Ideale Turisti. Trust me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rondi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANCHORAGE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great owners, wonderful views and convenient on site parking. Many walled hill towns in the region have very difficult parking. Saw many people walking with their roller bags into the walled City of Assisi, probably going to a hotel without parking inside the wall. Ideale is "ideally" located right outside the wall, an easy short walk to go inside. They didn't have a balcony available our first night, but had no problem letting us move the next day when one became available. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Any balcony is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Loved this hotel. Very warm and welcoming staff. The room was neat and clean with our own bathroom. The balcony was nice to enjoy the evening. The hotel also has a lovely walk out terrace/balcony at the back with a breathtaking view of the churches/valley.
Breakfast was great: meats, cheeses, pastries, yogurt, coffee, juice served in a warm atmosphere
The hotel is quiet and the location is great....easy walk to tourist sites.
Good value for your money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianGirlOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel was a delight for us. Fabulous view of the churches and valley below from walk-out terrace/balcony. Great location,with private parking adjacent. Family-run with lovely atmosphere. Easy access to the city, but quiet for sleeping. Very nice breakfast served with hospitality. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor have fantastic views from covered trrace/balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melvin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very warm & welcoming inkeepers. Our room was small but clean and had a great view from the balcony. A close walk to the center of Assisi. A real family feel here. I would recommend for couples or families.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel sits at the top of Assisi near the public parking. The hotel has a small free parking lot snugged in among the olive trees. Our balcony opened out with vistas of churches and olive groves. Our bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was a little small but we had a shower and they still squeezed in a bidet. The price is unbelievably good. The breakfast is more of a European approach leaning towards a continental one, with very little protein other than some cheese and yogurt but the cappucino is included. Unfortunately we are typical Americans - i.e. we speak next to no Italian and we experienced our greatest language barrier here - but we were still able to overcome it and communicate well enough.

Room Tip: You coudl wind up carrying bags upstairs if you don't ask for a room on the main level. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
2.6 mi away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#6 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#8 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ideale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ideale

Property: Hotel Ideale
Address: Piazza Giacomo Matteotti 1, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Assisi
#6 Family Hotel in Assisi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ideale 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With gorgeous views of the valley! Cheap&Chic: You'll find everything you need for a pleasant Assisi stay in Hotel Ideale, a quiet room with view ,lovingly put togheter with elements of only italian design and Umbrian artisan works. .FREE WI FI .the bedrooms have a bed with excellent mattress SIMMONS, bedspread painted with lively colors with natural fibre, contemporary design. .the bathrooms are updated with beautiful contemporary finishings to include original Domiziani designed sinks. Each shower is equipped with both a wand and rainshower head, with crystal shower box . Hair-dryer and bathrooms courtesy kit . Tv, Minibar ,telephone . Air-conditioning with independent thermostat control room with balcony and view To make your stay as comfortable as possible, we provide the following services: - FREE PARKING among the olive trees of our garden, leaving you free to meander around Assisi on foot -GARDEN -PANORAMIC TERRACE BAR & CAFE any time of the day you may request a glass of wine accompanied by some tasty bruschetta and quality olive oil ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Hotel Ideale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideale Turisti Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing