We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting, Friendly Staff”
Review of Hotel Ideale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ideale
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Hotel ideale is a small hotel near the top of the town in Assisi. Our room had a small balcony, and many other rooms have larger balconies, all overlooking Assisi and the valley below. The grounds offer a number of places with views to sit and read or have breakfast or a drink. Though our room was not large, it was large enough and the bathroom was modern. The staff was friendly, and the hotel is across the street from the stop for the bus to the train station. A nice hotel with a friendly staff in a beautiful and handy location! Recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 579 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

Hotel staff was very attentive, friendly and compassionate. They took in a stray cat (now named Romeo) that had been mauled by a dog and nursed him back to health. We would return to the hotel for that fact alone. Our room had fantastic views of the valley and surrounding areas. Breakfast was simple but filling with great coffee. Our room was clean and roomy by Italian standards. We explored Assisi by foot and the hotel is located very close to the town entrances - very convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 34517Lee505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Close to the city center, easy walking distance. Friendly, helpful family-run hotel. Clean. Balcony outside our room had amazing views. The room was a little small, but we didn't spend much time in it - only to sleep. Breakfast was wonderful. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

fabulous views from the balcony. charming and even the parking lots is a maze of olive trees!
perfect for ease of leaving assisi and visiting assisi!

Room Tip: loved the balcony room, but beware- no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I've stayed here twice now and the location is great and the family is very nice and helpful. Breakfast was great with all the fancy coffee you want. The view from my room was fabulous!

Room Tip: I've stayed in the first floor room both times - love them. Beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We have stayed at Hotel Ideale a total of 6 times, most recently in May 2012. For us, it is the perfect location for visiting and enjoying Assisi. It is perfectly located for driving, has free off-street parking, sparkling clean rooms, friendly staff, and a great breakfast. Walking into the city is a snap from the hotel. The grounds and views from the garden are beautiful. Highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oysterman1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is a simple, clean, unfussy, slightly shabby and old fashioned, Italian style pensione with a lovely garden and terraces overlooking the plain. I was fortunate to have a room on the second floor with a balcony and a bathroom window looking over the Chiesa Rufino and way in the distance to Perugia. I was at a Franciscan retreat so did not mind the simplicity but I found the bed hard. It was very noisy when the people in the next room used and flushed their loo! A reasonable selection for breakfast although the bread & croissants offered were unappealing. The owners were polite and kind but spoke no English so conversation was limited. Assisi is a very small town so the walks up and down were enjoyable and kept me fit and wonderful ice cream half way up! Just a few minutes to the central square and about 15 to walk right across the town. When I arrived I had no help carrying my luggage up two flights of stairs, a little disappointing after 14 hours travelling! The cost was reasonable and I would stay there again simply for the view and the little birds singing in the lovely cyprus tree in the garden and the wonderfully perfumed roses on the terrace. Plain and simple, reasonable value for money, not a place of luxury but that is not what Assisi is about after all! Discovered a lovely restaurant Osteria dei Priori, Via Giotto, delicious food and delightful owner Sabrina.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
489 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#9 of 71 in Assisi
780 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#7 of 71 in Assisi
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ideale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ideale

Address: Piazza Giacomo Matteotti 1, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Assisi
#3 Business Hotel in Assisi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
Price Range: $98 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ideale 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With gorgeous views of the valley! Cheap&Chic: You'll find everything you need for a pleasant Assisi stay in Hotel Ideale, a quiet room with view ,lovingly put togheter with elements of only italian design and Umbrian artisan works. .FREE WI FI .the bedrooms have a bed with excellent mattress SIMMONS, bedspread painted with lively colors with natural fibre, contemporary design. .the bathrooms are updated with beautiful contemporary finishings to include original Domiziani designed sinks. Each shower is equipped with both a wand and rainshower head, with crystal shower box . Hair-dryer and bathrooms courtesy kit . Tv, Minibar ,telephone . Air-conditioning with independent thermostat control room with balcony and view To make your stay as comfortable as possible, we provide the following services: - FREE PARKING among the olive trees of our garden, leaving you free to meander around Assisi on foot -GARDEN -PANORAMIC TERRACE BAR & CAFE any time of the day you may request a glass of wine accompanied by some tasty bruschetta and quality olive oil ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ideale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideale Turisti Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing