We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch in a beautiful garden setting”
Review of La Fontanella

La Fontanella
Ranked #109 of 238 Restaurants in Assisi
Price range: $17 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: GARDEN AND BEAUTIFUL PANORAMA
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch in a beautiful garden setting”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were delighted to find this hidden restaurant in the town of Assisi when we visited for the day. It was a weekday and we went around noon. There was almost no one there and we felt very pampered. The appetizer plate was the best we had in the region. Really nice meats and cheeses. As in all of the Umbria places the table wine was very good. Lunch was a very nice pesto dish. We relaxed for an hour and never felt rushed. We will be coming back on our next trip .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank izzi2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFontanellaAssisi, Owner at La Fontanella, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Google Translation
grazie, molte grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    25
    5
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis,MN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We discovered this wonderful restaurant through a friend and we ate there twice ( or was it 3 times?) during our visit in December
Franca, the owner , is delightful and a wonderful cook
She would probably cook you anything you wanted
The atmosphere is warm and friendly
On reading other reviews I hear about the wonderful views. I guess I need to get back when I can enjoy those but in December it is warm and inviting
I still think about a white lasagna we had. Delicious!
And just the bread with fresh olive oil.... Exquisite
We will be back !

Helpful?
Thank trudles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFontanellaAssisi, Owner at La Fontanella, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie mille
Franca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The exquisite taste in the secret garden!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

When I walking in the ancient town "Assisi" .Enjoy and feel the spiritual and tranquility here. I discovered this hidden restaurant in the small alleys.....First, I am obsessed with flowers and the garden. I set outside overlooking the landscape, very relaxed .The home made food is amazing ! The bread ,salad and pasta are fresh , simple but tasty! I would like to come everyday trying many different pastas during my vacation here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandraKao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“heavenly meal in a heavenly locale”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Sit out on in the garden under the large umbrellas and enjoy views of the valley as well as of the kitchen and the grill where Franca will prepare you a feast worthy of the gods. You can't beat this combination, and every time I am in Assisi, I bring as many people as I can find to not miss out on this gem. The food is fresh and absolutely beautifully prepared. Even just the toasted bread with olive oil makes me swoon with the memory. The grilled sausages and peppers we had took my breath away - seasoned beautifully and cooked to perfection!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katievln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFontanellaAssisi, Proprietario at La Fontanella, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie del commento squisito!!!!!!!! FRANCA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“this place defines assisi”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Sit in the garden and ask Franca to serve you. Everything is then prepared to her liking. The Assisi Music Festival musicians eat here several times while here in July. You know how singers and instrumentalists love to eat and just enjoy being in a great place! Franca never trails to make us feel at home, welcome and appreciated. And well fed. Her choices of olive oil and house wines are not to be taken lightly - each is an announcement that great things are coming! Grilled meat and vegetables are my favorite until the fresh fruit arrives! Forgot how wonderful fresh cut frit can taste - why can't we get this at home in the Garden State???!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpstrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFontanellaAssisi, Proprietario at La Fontanella, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Google Translation
GRAZIE, spero di rivedervi.... FRANCA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fontanella also viewed

Campello sul Clitunno, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to La Fontanella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing