We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alla Madonna del Piatto
Ranked #32 of 142 Assisi B&B and Inns
Vancouver
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights here in May and loved it. We also took Letizia's (a charming, smart woman, who speaks perfect English) cooking class which was one of the highlights of our 2 week tour of Italy.
There are lots of great sights nearby and a local restaurant 7 minutes away which had one of my all-time favourite dishes: a pasta with truffles. Stunning. I highly reccomend a few nights here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrMcKinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    20
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
88
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

I've just returned from my fourth stay at bed-and-breakfast "Alla Madonna del Piatto" which says something about its great beauty and charm.

Hosts Letizia and Ruurd have done all they can to make their rural home spotless, extremely comfortable, warm and utterly appealing. There is always plenty of hot water, firm beds, good lighting, perfectly fitted bathrooms, spectacular views, and the warmest hospitality. Homemade breads and jams, hot coffee, fresh yogurt, granola, and cheeses lure you down to breakfast every morning. And if you don't know anything about Umbria, Letizia has lots of good advice about walking paths, little hill towns to visit, the best local markets, and so on.

This year, Alla Madonna del Piatto, has become even more green, according to articles published by Italy's national news agency. By installing solar panels, the B+B is now energy self-sufficient, dramatically reducing its demands on the environment. With its own olive oil, gorgeous flower and herb gardens, and Letizia's charming cooking classes, it's no wonder guests never want to leave. (Or, like me, keep returning)

The cooking classes (I've attended six) are always great fun and educational. Letizia explains not only the origins of particular Italian recipes, but has devised some clever shortcuts for today's busy cooks who want delicious, authentic Italian meals without spending all day in the kitchen!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sancee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Located up a winding country road near Assisi, this was a treat! The rooms are clean and comfortable; ours had a view over the valley to Assisi's skyline in the distance, very evocative in the early-morning mist. Letizia gave us excellent directions and recommendations for dining and sightseeing in Assisi and nearby Perugia. I only wish we could have fit in a cooking class as well, as the enticing smells from the kitchen had my mouth watering!

Room Tip: Twin-bed room at the top of the stairs is a corner room with two large windows. One looks over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binjali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights and had a fabulous time. Letizia is what makes this place so wonderful. She is so warm and friendly and makes you feel like this is your house. The common areas of this farmhouse are very nice. We really enjoyed spending time with other travelers in the evenings either in the main room or out on the terrace or patio, sharing stories, wine, cheese and sausage. Breakfast in the mornings can be made as heavy or light as you want. We also totally enjoyed taking one of Letizia's cooking classes, learning how to make pasta, sauces and dessert. That entire day was magnificent and will reside in our memories forever. Don't let the first trip up the hill worry you. You get used to curvy, country road and will appreciate how remote it is once you see the view, and the sunsets every night are spectacular! If arriving just before dark on your first night, just be sure to bring a supply of wine, cheese, bread, sausages, whatever for eating should you decide not to go out for dinner. A refrigerator and pantry is provided in the main room for storing your foods. We actually only went out for dinner once the entire time were there, because once you get up there and have a few glasses of wine, it's easy to want to stay put! We think we had the best guest room - the one on the lower level to the right of the back door. It was spacious and clean and decorated with antiques. Get used to teeny tiny showers in Italy, though. That's just the way it is. Also, the bed was quite hard compared to what we sleep on at home, but that seemed to be the case with all beds during our stay elsewhere in Italy. There may also be mosquitos at night if you leave your windows open - we were bit a few times on our faces and arms (exposed parts) after an early evening rainfall. Just pack some bug spray or wipes and you'll be fine. There is also no wifi in the rooms. You have to be in the common room to use it, however, a 3G connection works just fine in your room (be sure to buy international coverage before you leave the States).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaGirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

A friend of mine recommended Alla Madonna del Piatto to me when I mentioned we wanted to explore the Italian countryside. No, she said, don't go to Tuscany, visit Umbria.This place was exactly what we wanted. Charming hotel with wonderful views of the countryside. But the cherry on top of the sundae is the staff. Letizia will feel like at home and share her knowledge of Italy and food! We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 581RedDeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We spent 5 days at Alla Madonna del Piatto and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was clean and comfortable with a big window view of Assisi. The two patios are both great for relaxing. Letizia and Ruurd are fantastic caring hosts and were of great help in planning daytrips, dining recommendations etc. We did the cooking class and loved it. It included olive oil, truffle, chocolate, salumi and cheese tastings at a local deli. We were amazed at how much practical information we got from the class and how much we have used that since back at home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrell h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Alla Madonna del Piatto for three nights and took a cooking class, too. This B&B is beautiful, and tastefully decorated with all the things Letizia and Ruurd have collected in their travels. Letizia is a wonderful hostess,attentive, generous, gracious and a passionate, informative teacher!
Her passion and love for all things Umbrian and cooking are so obvious when you talk with her. She is a wonderful cooking instructor, and I learned quite a bit. Whether you're a beginner cook or an expert, you'll enjoy these classes. We made two kinds of pasta, two sauces, and for dessert had fresh figs with a honey and fresh ricotta sauce. She took the class to a local shop to sample delicious olive oils, balsamic vinegars, cheeses, and wild boar salami and we had some of these for an antipasto.The food was amazing. The view from our room was of rolling hills and hayrolls, plus we got to see some hunters out with their dogs. We even saw a pheasant! Umbrian food rocks, so don't pass up this region of Italy! Alla Madonna del Piatto is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#4 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.4 mi away
Agriturismo Colle Pu
Agriturismo Colle Pu
#27 of 142 in Assisi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
B&b Colle San Francesco
B&b Colle San Francesco
#25 of 142 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.8 mi away
Vico Del Poeta
Vico Del Poeta
#10 of 142 in Assisi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
2.9 mi away
Case Brizi
Case Brizi
#14 of 142 in Assisi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Madonna del Piatto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Madonna del Piatto

Property: Alla Madonna del Piatto
Address: Via Petrata 37, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home, a renovated farmhouse, is a small eco-friendly B&B near Assisi, in Umbria. The centuries-old stone house overlooks the beautiful town of Assisi. All rooms have a magnificent view of Assisi's world famous basilica, dedicated to St. Francis and housing some of Italy's most important art treasures. Our agriturismo is a quiet oasis both day and night, an ideal spot to unwind. You will awake every morning to the sights of the rolling Umbrian hills and the medieval town of Assisi perched on the Subasio mountain. You can linger for hours watching the sheep graze in the fields, sunbathe on the terracotta-paved terrace or sip a glass of wine under the grapevine arbor. If, on the other hand, you can tear yourself away from the garden and its panorama, our bed and breakfast is conveniently located to explore Umbria's beautiful medieval hill towns. Assisi, Gubbio, Todi, Orvieto, Spoleto and Perugia, as well as Tuscany's splendid Renaissance city Siena, Cortona and the Chianti wine region are all within about an hour's drive. If you enjoy walking, the Subasio natural park and the Franciscan Path of Peace and woodllands are only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Alla Madonna del Piatto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing