We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castello di Petrata
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Depending on what is important to you this hotel is great or not so much. First the hotel is not in Assisi. It is about a 20 minute drive because of the small gravel road to get there and back. It made me very nervous going there - the road did not bother my husband at all. When we got there I was very happy to find out that while it was an old castel it had been completely renovated - so basically everything was brand new and spotless. Even the stuff that looked old. Our room was on the third floor - so if stairs are a problem for you ask for a lower floor. The room looked way better in real life then in the photos. Sheets were either brand new or starched. White and very clean. The view was wonderful though the window was small.

My first dissapointment was the internet - they had indicated that wifi was included. This was very important to me because I like to call my children back in the states via the computer. They offered to let me check my email on their computer - but this did not really solve the problem. There was no internet the entire weekend. This was one of the things that I require when I book a room. So if this is important to you beware. The next thing was my husband walked into the room and said - look there is a computer - no it was actually a tv that had a screen smaller then our home computer. It also had NO stations in English - not even CNN. We wanted to watch the news - considering the events in North Korea and were not able to do this. Now if you are looking for a quiet country escape you may consider these non-issues.

We ate the first evening in the dining room. We were not that hungry and I did not want to go down the hill again in the dark. This was one of the most expensive meals for our three weeks in Italy and we got way less. My husband only ordered an anti pasta of meats and cheese. I ordered one main course - that included a very small potato. Then we had one bottle of water and one glass of wine and it was 50 euro. I was also not impressed with the menu selection - quail and rabbit - which once again for some might be a plus - for us not so good.

We went to bed and the tempature was good and the room was quiet. The next morning when I got up to shower - the water was hot and the towels were big. They did not have cream rinse and I called down to ask and they did not offer any. I was brought an olive oil shampoo that actually worked well - but my hair is at my shoulders now - not sure how it would have worked if my hair was longer. Easy fix bring some from another hotel or from home.

Breakfast was served until 1030 - which for my husband was a challenge - but I went down at 10 and they left everything open for him. There was a nice selection as far as Italy goes. Ie ham, cheese, yogert, lots of breads, cakes, fruit, and juices. The woman worked very hard to make my coffee the way I am use to at home - though it took a little work to explain what nofat meant - we finally got and interpreter and got it worked out. The woman in the breakfast coffee area was very pleasant and helpful.

The grounds were beautiful and the parking was easy.

On Sunday when I went to check out they gave me a bill for the entire amount. I was frustrated because I thought I had prepaid for the room and had an email that said as much. After a number of phone calls and about 20 minutes they indicated that this had not been done even though the email said so. I called American Express and was able to verify this. Problem was it was time consuming and frustrating when we thought we were going to drop our key and be on our way.

Final answere good and bad - depending on what is important to you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppina35, Proprietario at Castello di Petrata, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Good morning,
Thanks for the review written and the beautiful words written on our Castle.

I reply to your review just to clarify some things that do not respond to reality. The castle is 6 km from Assisi (10 min) and the way you have done is wrong, you use Tripadvisor... just read the other reviews to understand that there are two roads, one wrong and correct.

- Your room is not on the third floor simply because the castle has only 1st and 2nd floor. You were made to see two rooms a 1st and a 2nd floor and you chose the one on the 2nd.

- The wi-fi in the hotel works correctly in all the rooms, it's your computer that had problems connecting, all of our clients in the hotel have quietly used the wi-fi. I do not understand why your problem has become our problem, the reception is not a shop that repairs computers and has proposed to use our computer!

- The television in the room has 5 foreign channels (CNN, BBC, ZDF, TV5, France 24) was enough to press on the control 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ..... do not stop at number 9. This fact was never communicated anything to the reception immediately explained that I would like to do!

- Regarding cream rides do not know what to say, a complimentary toiletes in the room is not a beauty salon that contains different products depending on the length or type of hair, they are dirty or clean! There are high-quality products that can accommodate the needs of most of our guests!

- Concerning dinner you consumed:

1 selection of meats and cheeses regional
1 pasta with truffles
1 braised veal with potatoes
2 dessert
water
wine

If this meal is not worth 25 euro per person ......

On our menu includes vegetarian dishes, gluten-free, there are quail and rabbits .... I do not know where to have seen them!

- With regard to the pre-payment of the room we have explained that your credit card AmericaExpress there has no authorized the payment. We sent you an email prior to your arrival and we were surprised when we on departure you remembered and did not understand. However, the AmericanExpress in 15 minutes you explained the reasons for not pre-payment.

I hope that reading this review I can understand the positive aspects and at the same time understand the confusion in some aspects of the story! However we need to improve our service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    115
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
81
326
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I spent the last leg of our honeymoon at the Castello di Petrata and it was perfect! After the hustle and bustle of several cities, the quiet surroundings of the Castello made it a great wind-down.
The Castello is about a 15 minute taxi ride from the center of Assisi but the staff called us a taxi driver (Gianpaolo) who gave us a realy good rate!
At the castello, we enjoyed wandering around the beautiful grounds and booked the "Spa Exclusive" which gave us 2 hours all to ourselves in the spa for just 50 euros apiece.
We also enjoyed the "Wine Dinner" offered at the hotel which served 4 delicious wines paired with 4 courses. I'd recommend the wine dinner, especially since it was actually a better deal than just a normal dinner at the castello.
All the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating and, if we ever travel to Assisi again, we will definitely be staying here!

Room Tip: We liked our room that had a window facing Assisi for beautiful sunrise/sunset views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you're looking for a place IN Assisi, then this is not for you. However, if you want a charming experience with impeccable service, then this is the perfect place to stay. The Castello is a beautifully restored 14th century castle situated on a hill with breathtaking views of Assisi, the sea, and surrounding country. The staff is incredibly friendly and attentive - we almost felt like we were taking advantage of their hospitality. Would we stay here again? Absolutely!!!!!!

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful with period furnishings and you can't go wrong with any room you choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seriphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We recently stayed for 2 days.A great place to relax and have some local wine.Beautiful plantings around property.Staff was friendly and helpful.Lovely breakfast provided.However we were disappointed in our dinner.Food quality could be improved on.Close to Spello and Assisi which we really enjoyed.Overall a very nice experience and would visit again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Castello di Petrata for two nights while visiting Assisi last week. We arrived late, (due to extending a day trip in Florence) but the staff was accomodating. We were given a quick tour of the hotel and decided to have dinner in the dinning rom. We started with a local wine which was excellent ($25 euro) and our dinners were great. Even though we were late and the only patrons in the dining room, our server didn't rush us and we enjoyed the peaceful nature of the setting.
Our room was located in the "Watch Tower" (room 105) and I don't know what other rooms have for a view but this one was spectacular. We had a view of Assisi and through the valley that was awesome in the morning.
The following morning, we had to leave early however they opened the breakfast to us early. The breakfast was diverse and offered local meats and cheese too. The pastry they bake with their marmalade I would highly recommend!
The road to get there is a lightly traveled country road with a fair increase in elevation. The signs are clear and lead you to the entrance. We couldn't locate the actual street address on the GPS but the web site map was good enough to get us to the turn from the major road. Returning to the Castello in the dark we even encountered a large boar crossing the road!
We used the Trip Advisor discount and saved 60 Euro. I have already recommended Castelllo di Petrata to some family members who are planning a trip next summer. If we have the opportunity to return to Assisi/Umbria, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 105 has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC1774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The history of the castle is very nice and the staff/family is so gentle!
We had a great experience there. Would stay again in this hotel absolutely.
If you are in doubt about where to stay, you can be here and have a great time.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This 14th century restored country house is stunning, the restaurant is very good, the sommelier incredibly knowledgeable, and the staff is welcoming and helpful. The grounds are beautiful as is the pool. We were able to find the hotel with no problem using maps on our phone. The 6 km drive to Assisi is beautiful, you can easily park in the underground parking lot, and then take escalators and an elevator to the center of town.

Room Tip: We had a jr. suite on the top floor that was spacious and beautiful. There is no AC but that was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
2.5 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
3.1 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
2.5 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#5 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Petrata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Petrata

Property: Castello di Petrata
Address: Via Petrata 25, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Petrata 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from it all, let yourself be carried away by the silence, colours and scents of the soft Umbrian hills, where what counts is the sunset, the perfume of the earth and flowers. A true oasis of peace where Aldo and Giuseppina's family and their staff welcome guests with courtesy and kindness into the warmth of a private residence,for a holiday in harmony with art and nature. Petrata Castle, an ancient 14th century fortress and its annexed chapel, nestles in the midst of gentle hills on a quiet and sunny plain, 600 metres above sea level and only 6 km from Assisi. Its position of dominance in the surrounding countryside, allows it an wide panoramic view of Assisi and the Umbrian valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Castello di Petrata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing