We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bella Brigolante” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brigolante Guest Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brigolante Guest Apartments
Ranked #28 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Assisi
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Bella Brigolante”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

We stayed at Brigolante for six days in October, in the middle of our three week vacation in Italy. Brigolante is in the Mount Subasio Regional Park, just outside the city of Assisi, with breathtaking views. We easily visited the Umbrian towns of Spello, Foligno, Gubbio and Deruta (the ceramic capital) and Montefalco. Our apartment was very comfortable and well equipped for preparing simple but delicious meals. Even though we were nearing the end of the vegetable garden season, we were still able to get some tomatoes, lettuce, peppers and beans for dinner. One evening Rebecca brought over some of her mother-in-law's homemade pesto sauce, it was divine! Rebecca is a wonderful host, informative and caring, "like an Italian mother". We were there for the grape harvest, and that evening Rebecca brought us a dish full of her mother-in-law's mostaccioli (a traditional sweet biscotti made with the fruit and juice from the freshly crushed grapes). We really enjoyed our stay here, and hope that we can someday return with our children and grandchildren.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nonnacas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

Our stay at Brigolante from mid-September to mid-October was absolutely delightful. To be on a real working farm only a short drive from Assisi put us in a perfect position to enjoy the endless hospitality of Rebecca and her family, while being free to visit and revisit the historic hilltop town of Assisi. Our quarters were spacious, modern and very clean, and allowed us to prepare delicious salads and other vegetables from the garden. We thoroughly appreciated being able to just go out into the sprawling gardens to pick our own tasty tomatoes, greenbeans, spinach, etc., as well as the figs and peaches. We were there during the harvest season, and were fortunate to be there the one day the grapes were harvested from the vineyard. We were allowed to join the family and neighbors in taking in the harvest, in the same manner it had been done by earlier generations. Most of all Rebecca was always available for advice, fresh eggs and as much olive oil as we needed. There was the ubiquitous basket on the community table next to the homemade liquors that was loaded almost daily with fresh fruit, vegetables, and occasionally local mushrooms picked and cleaned by Emma, the family matriarch. Overall we give Brigolante a five star rating.

Jim and Joey
Anacortes, Washington

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenValleyAnacortes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

We were looking for off- the-beaten track authentic Italy and boy, did we find it! Brigolante is situated in a peaceful valley with stunning views and a welcoming setting. From the home-made liqueurs to the basket of farm-fresh goodies, it was a treat from start to finish. It is ideally located to take advantage of the charming and historic hill towns of Umbria and Rebecca has assembled resources to help you find the hidden gems and make the most of your stay. We give this our 'memories of a lifetime' recommendation!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmlofgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

My week at Brigolante was an escape to nature and dreamy days of wine, farm grown food, leisurely walks through the foothills of Monte Subasio and visits to the the picturesque town of Assisi. My apartment was the right blend of modern comforts and medieval charm. Added to this Rebecca was a warm, inspiring and generous host and I immediately feel part of the daily rhythm of the farm. As a solo traveller this was an uplifting experience. I was able to genuinely relax and absorb the beautiful land, the fresh air, the vivacity of the locals and many of the cultural and culinary opportunities in and around Assisi. Oh, and wonderful provisions - all grown or made - on the farm just added to the charm. I can't wait to return and share my discovery with friends. Thank you so much Rebecca!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betta7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed at Brigolante for a little over a week. It turned out to be the perfect place for us to stay while we spent a week exploring the hill towns of Umbria. The apartments are on a working farm, and as it is off the main road, it is very quiet at night. Rebecca starts you off with fresh eggs and some produce from her garden and told us that we were welcome to take whatever we needed from the garden! Later in the week when we confessed that we'd bought some eggs, she quickly exchanged our store bought eggs for fresh farm eggs declaring the ones from the store were only good for baking. Anyway, the apartment was extremely clean and comfortable. The kitchen was adequately equipped to make breakfast and simple dinners which was all we needed. The big surprise for us Americans was to see that there were screens on the windows!
This is a working farm, so visitors need to realize that there are farm sounds and smells (we liked that part!). For the first few mornings we were woken up pretty early by a cow mooing followed by a rooster. We soon fell back to sleep though, as it really was very quiet. Rebecca provided great restaurant recommendations, and had put together a book with suggested activities, possible hikes and other information about the area. We took a wine tour with Gusto wine tours and also a cooking class with her friend Letizia of la Madonna del piatto, that were both really great. We were able to stay for a few extra days after the week was up as the apartment was free, and Rebecca also let us use her computer to look for a place to stay closer to Rome for our last night in Italy. Brigolante isn't super luxurious, but it is in a beautiful spot, well located for touring Umbria, welcoming, and very comfortable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Ca
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

Brigolante is an agritourismo about 6 km north of lovely Assisi. Our apartment was, I believe, one of four on the property. It was very clean, comfortable and attractive. Spring cut flowers in the room were a nice addition. The location is well suited to touring Umbria. We had a very pleasant week at Brigolante and would hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

This was our first trip to Brigolante and Umbria.....d hopefully the first of many. The accommodation was first class - clean, well maintained and with beautiful views over the surrounding hillside. Visiting Easter week, the accommodation was a convenient distance (5 mins by car) from Assisi to avoid the throngs of visitors.
Rebecca and her extended family were wonderful hosts. Our kids had lots of company and the freedom to enjoy it and as any travelling parent knows, if the kids are happy, we can relax and that makes a great holiday for everyone.
The rural location and the bustle of family life all around offer a great insight into the local way of life. The passion of the hosts for Umbria and determination to offer their guests a memorable Italian experience is obvious throughout the visit.
We had a wonderful time, genuinely hope to return soon and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone travelling to the area for a rural break with or without kids.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaneandCaitriona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
2.9 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
5.3 mi away
Hotel Vignola Assisi
Hotel Vignola Assisi
#14 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
6.4 mi away
Valle di Assisi
Valle di Assisi
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Cavalieri
Hotel Parco dei Cavalieri
#1 of 2 in Petrignano d'Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agriturismo Le Sorgenti
Agriturismo Le Sorgenti
#1 of 1 in Ponte Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Sorgente del Subasio
La Sorgente del Subasio
#1 of 6 in Rivotorto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brigolante Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigolante Guest Apartments

Property: Brigolante Guest Apartments
Address: Via Costa di Trex, 31 | Vicolo della Fortezza, 2A, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Brigolante apartments are located both in the center of Assisi, Umbria and on our family's Agriturismo just outside of town. Our town apartments are in a historic palazzo right on the main Piazza del Comune, overlooking the square and the valley below. Our country apartments are in a 16th century stone farmhouse just outside Assisi in the Mount Subasio Park. Each of our six vacation apartments in Umbria provide self catering accommodations for two to four guests, making them perfect for couples, families or small groups traveling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brigolante Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brigolante Guest Apartments Hotel Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing