We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Windsor Savoia
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Review”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I enjoyed and appreciated my stay at the Hotel Windsor Savoia. It is very centrally located in Assisi. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The morning buffet breakfasts were generous, varied and tasty. There was a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere in the hotel.

Room Tip: The bedroom and bathroom were really quite spacious (as far as hotels in Assisi go.) The balcony ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odonoghuea2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    91
    42
    8
    3
See reviews for
54
64
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I've traveled to many countries around the world, but none have the quaintness and tranquility of Assisi. The hotel is up on a hill with an incredible view of the mountains and valleys. The Stone hotel is quiet and charming, and the staff is very attentive. We had a wonderful family style dinner which was prepared with local ingredients and very delicious. The staff at the hotel is superb. I left a pair of shoes in my room, and they were able to locate them, and send them to me in the states. This is a fine place to stay in Assisi, and I would recommend it to others in their travels. Hope to return soon!

Room Tip: The rooms are large and quiet. The room and bathroom was impeccably clean. The staff is very attent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The accomodations were quaint wood througout, clean, crazy hall lights only on when someone is moving in the hall, view of the valley very picturesque, staff pleasant, AC just about non existant, thank goodness I brought a small desk fan along, first hotel at the beginning of the winding mountain.

Room Tip: Get a valley view it's worth the walking up the mountain all day to see stuff, but remember goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our hotel room was very clean and comfortable. We also had a beautiful view of the valley from the terrace. The service was friendly and professional. Good amenities with a restaurant, cafe/bar and a pleasant lobby.The hotel is situated near the bus stops and a short stroll to the Basilica. We were very pleased with the hotel and feel it offered good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Hotel Windsor Savoia has a very nice restaurant to eat and stay after a long walk around Assisi. The place offers a beautiful view of Assisi and the traditional pasta with the original taste of Italy.

The food is delicious and the service personnel is gentle and kind.

We could only stay for lunch during September 2013 but we really enjoy the place and its location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLENWOOD
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

When we stayed here there was a thunderstorm below us, it was fantastic. This hotel has character and charm. I read the other reviews and I wonder what some people expect, Assisi is an ancient town this is why we love it. The room was spotless and comfortable. we loved it. As with everywhere in Assisi "everywhere is up-hill"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom88039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in Assisi one night at the Windsor Savoia, and that was plenty. The view from the room was very impressive, but that was about all that was good. Our room was small, and the bathroom was about the size of that of a cruise ship. Our shower was so small, if you dropped soap during the wash, you had to turn of the water and open the door to retrieve it. Wifi was non-existent either in the room, or the lobby. We did eat a supper and breakfast at the hotel, and these meals were as disappointing as the room. I will review these later on in restaurants. The wake up call was on time, and the staff did seem friendly. If I were traveling through Italy again and needed to stay in Assisi, I would opt for another place.

Room Tip: Look at room prior to renting, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaklay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hws-assisi, Proprietario at Hotel Windsor Savoia, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Jaklay2,
we are really sorry if you didn't enjoy your stay at Hotel Windsor Savoia. I apologise for the problems you encountered with regard to the wifi, that wasn't available due to a temporary problem with the service provider. I also regret any inconvenience or disappointment caused.
About the size of the room, our hotel was built in 1908 and at that time it was usual to have small rooms with large walls in order to easily maintain the warm in winter and the cool in summer.
We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Hotel Windsor Savoia for your future travel needs.
Best regards

Hotel Windsor Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.1 mi away
Fontebella Hotel
Fontebella Hotel
#42 of 71 in Assisi
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#8 of 71 in Assisi
732 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Umbra
Hotel Umbra
#22 of 71 in Assisi
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Properzio
Hotel Properzio
#30 of 71 in Assisi
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#26 of 71 in Assisi
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor Savoia

Property: Hotel Windsor Savoia
Address: Viale Guglielmo Marconi 1, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Assisi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Windsor Savoia 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel in Assisi, opened in 1908 by the English lady Fanny Morgan, is now a modern three star hotel with all the comforts of the category, and is still run by his descendants. Located in the historic center of Assisi, the hotel enjoys a splendid location in the heart of the city, just 100 meters from St. Francis Church and it boasts about a a magnificent view view on the Basilica of St. Francis and the entire Umbrian valley. The unique location Hotel Windsor Savoia will allow you to discover Assisi walking, a center of peace, spirituality and art and it is the ideal place to stay while visiting the city in one of his many events. The hotel has 34 rooms with bath or shower, including 2 rooms that are specially designed to house disabled guests, air conditioning, WiFi internet connection, fridge, safe, color TV and direct dial telephone, elevator, bar, indoor restaurant for 250 people, panoramic terrace for 100 people, internet point with fast connection and parking. The hotel is 100% smoke-free and it's fully accessible to people with limited mobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Windsor Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Savoia Hotel
Windsor Savoia Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing