We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful, awful, awful.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Windsor Savoia
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful, awful, awful.”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I'm not sure how this place gets any good reviews. The only positive thing I can say about it is the location.

The bed isn't a bed, it's a cot - a double wide cot. Think pull out sofa bed. Terrible.

The breakfast was so sad looking - a few stale pastries and some week old lunch meat - we turned around and walked out.

We were in Italy for 10 nights, 6 different cities, 6 different hotels. Out of all that we saw, did and ate in our travels, this hotel was the worst experience of our entire trip.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miscleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    91
    42
    8
    3
See reviews for
54
64
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke NH
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Nice hotel very simple rooms. bathroom need a bit of upgrade Food was ok

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bedondaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

we only stayed one night but the hotel is in a great location and we loved the atmosphere of the place.. our room was clean and not a bad size.but next time i would get a room with a balcony as those rooms had good views. yes it is an ollder place but in good condition and it would not feel the same to stay in a modern place in Assisi. we loved the public telephone in the lobby which was in a cupboard..if you want all the comforts of home - stay home or just go to major cities. this is europe and part of the experience is staying and eating in different places that you are not use to. we had dinner and breakfast there and it was just ok. i have never been anywhere where they had chocolate cake for breakfast! but there are lots of little cafes nearby to go and eat. from the hotel it is easy to walk to everything and soak up the wonderful sights of Assisi.

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony to soak up the wonderful views especially at sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MDKbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, NJ, USA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed here with a Globus tour in October. The hotel looked beautiful when you pulled up. The elevator is small, no cocktail lounge, and the food well I don't want to discuss the food. But you are in Europe and this is part of its charm (not the food there was nothing charming about the food). The bed was like sleeping on a cot. However, Assissi is beautiful and seeing the beautiful sunrise in the morning was worth it all and the town itself is all I hoped and more that is why it gets four stars from me.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharon214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We onlt stayed one night on a Globus Tour, but I would recommend it to anyone visiting Assisi. We loved Assisi and wanted to stay longer, but had to move on with the tour. The hotel is older but very attractive and the views of the sunset from the terrace were priceless. The staff were all friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mack15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

It is the most perfectly located hotel for travelling by car or by bus to Assisi. Walking everywhere is as easy as it gets, great restaurants around the corner. All historic sites are in your window view. It is older building, but well maintained. For those who wants comfortable soft beds- stay at home, I am yet to find a comfortable bed in the hotel anywhere.
My only wish is that the breakfast was more Italian, then" American Continental"

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rtraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Unfortunately this hotel was not good, really not good. The mattress was about 3 inches think directly on the coils. The bed was really a cot with a headboard. The window opened over the very noisy kitchen area so our view was of the garbage cans. To top it off there was quite a bit of mold in the bathroom. I really wanted to love this place, but couldn't. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks over the valley not over the kitchen. Ask to see the room first and check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sastoneesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.1 mi away
Fontebella Hotel
Fontebella Hotel
#42 of 71 in Assisi
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#8 of 71 in Assisi
733 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Umbra
Hotel Umbra
#22 of 71 in Assisi
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Properzio
Hotel Properzio
#30 of 71 in Assisi
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#26 of 71 in Assisi
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor Savoia

Property: Hotel Windsor Savoia
Address: Viale Guglielmo Marconi 1, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Assisi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Windsor Savoia 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel in Assisi, opened in 1908 by the English lady Fanny Morgan, is now a modern three star hotel with all the comforts of the category, and is still run by his descendants. Located in the historic center of Assisi, the hotel enjoys a splendid location in the heart of the city, just 100 meters from St. Francis Church and it boasts about a a magnificent view view on the Basilica of St. Francis and the entire Umbrian valley. The unique location Hotel Windsor Savoia will allow you to discover Assisi walking, a center of peace, spirituality and art and it is the ideal place to stay while visiting the city in one of his many events. The hotel has 34 rooms with bath or shower, including 2 rooms that are specially designed to house disabled guests, air conditioning, WiFi internet connection, fridge, safe, color TV and direct dial telephone, elevator, bar, indoor restaurant for 250 people, panoramic terrace for 100 people, internet point with fast connection and parking. The hotel is 100% smoke-free and it's fully accessible to people with limited mobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Windsor Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Savoia Hotel
Windsor Savoia Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing